We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly overpriced, nice ambience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Aussie Barbeque and Bar

The Aussie Barbeque and Bar
Ranked #64 of 555 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Australian, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, View, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Slightly overpriced, nice ambience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We chose to have lunch here because we wanted to enjoy the view. We ordered the roast pork belly, the pate, a pork hotdog and two Asahi Beer. The roast pork belly had two slabs of belly and a side of salad, priced at RM42.00 while the hotdog with fries is RM 28.00. Food was quite delicious though slightly overpriced in my opinion. Service was satisfactory.

Helpful?
1 Thank JVS06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    40
    15
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
421 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Good clean Aussie fare.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

This is a good place for western food. We had the seafood platter between us and a surf and turf each. The meals were well cooked, fresh and presented nicely, the menu said two tiger prawns but we got three big ones. My husband and I are kiwis who like our streaks, there was more than enough food for us, we could not finish the chips and salad. With a coffee, milk shake and iced coffee the bill was 356RM

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nglenjarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rostov-on-Don, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“european corner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

situated on the sea front, it has exciting views during the sunset! Strongly recommend to visit during 5.30 to 6 PM. You will have a plenty of time to make sunset photos. The food is good, prices are not so cheap, but worth it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yulia_Babicheva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“big buck no bang”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

expensive yet only average food, the 30.00 burger was a great disappointment, staff not ambitious to help, we were pretty much ignored.....not worth going back to

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank paradisicalmostly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doreen-Ann, Owner at The Aussie Barbeque and Bar, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
I am surprised that you say you ate a burger for Rm. 30, as our hamburger on the Budget Seekers Menu is Rm. 23.00 & The Aussie or Hawaii 5O is Rm. 37.00, all our burgers consist of 200grm Australian beef Pattie, 5inch bun, Salad, tomato salsa, with Egg, Bacon, Cheese & pineapple in the Aussie & Hawaii 5O Burger. We have never had anyone disappointed with the burgers. All things considered I wonder if you actually did eat at the Aussie BBQ as you can see that we don't have a Rm30 burger on our menu.
All previous reviewers have all commented on the friendly & excellent service provided, IF the staff were not extra attentive to you may be they were busy & under pressure.
Having also read your reviews on the other establishments some of which are in the top10 in KK, my advice to you would to focus on the positive rather than the negative & visit the more affordable ones for you if price is an issue. Wishing you a happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Loved the food especially the beer battered fish and the new addition to the menu of Borneo chicken. Other good dishes were the pate and the filet steak. Also we loved the spring rolls Good wines and friendly staff especially Doreen. Ate here three times and never disappointed.Nice change from Asian food in a 9 night stay

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wodonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Aussie Barbeque and Bar also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to The Aussie Barbeque and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing