We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location, Centre of City”
Review of D'Borneo Hotel

D'Borneo Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
D'Borneo Hotel
Ranked #61 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stay a night at this hotel. Location is very good, at the centre of the city. You can find food and fish market just a one mins walk from the hotel.
Selling point is conveniently located at the heart of the city.

Room is okie, toilet consider spacious and is clean. Bed is okie. No breakfast provided and no lift. You need to walk up stairs with your own luggage.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldenmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

We were reasonably happy with most aspects of the stay here except for the fact that our young adult daughter had a $50 note stolen from a closed wallet in the zipper-closed front pocket of her bag left in the room we were absent from for several hours. Ok - she should been a little less naive to not have realised that you don't leave cash in easy to find places even in locked hotel rooms as cleaners & other staff have key access to the rooms and temptation can be strong in some people who may not be that well paid. We didn't make a big fuss but did report it to the management and strongly suggested that the hotel install basic CCTV cameras to at least monitor hallways and stairs as well as entry & exits as a deterrent to petty theft like this and for increasing the sense of security of guests and management alike..The two other hotels / backpacker lodges we stayed at in the city DID have basic working & monitored CCTV setup.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We booked last minute so we weren't expecting much but were pleasantly surprised. A big room with really comfy beds, big bathroom and everything was clean. The hotel staff were lovely too. There is no breakfast which was a bit annoying as also not a lot of places nearby for breakfast.
However, the location in general is great. Just off the waterfront road.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Hot water is an on off affair here, depending on your room. It's a little tired but good value for money, we paid rm150 a night for their top room, this is what they offered on 2 separate occasions stating it was the only room available, in hindsight I'd say that was a ploy to get us to book the most expensive room, but never mind still good price.
The location is excellent just a short stroll to the night food Market and famous phillipino barbecue.
However, just a little further away and for less money is Hotel Eden54, which is much nicer with excellent staff and a great supermarket serving breakfast lunch and dinner next door!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benlamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Have a deluxe room and ask for discount! Room is huge (for backpacker standards) with comfy chair and good bed! Tv with moviechannel and fridge. Bathroom is big but shower was getting a bit old, still fine. Service is good, friendly staff and the make sure your have Everything you need. Breakfast included, standard but fine.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulcup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Stayed at this hotel conveniently located in town and easier for my mum & 10-yr old daughter to move around with nearby coffee shops & stores selling local food & souvenirs.

Close to wet market opposite and 5-10 mins walk to nearby shopping complexes too. There's a night market closeby and the hotel staff are equally courteous & helpful.

Room Tip: Quiet surroundings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chevysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Stayed here for one night on business in a deluxe room (not quite sure what the differences were, except that the bed looked bigger, perhaps). The room was clean, although there was a large puddle of water in the bathroom, and it was generally worn (stains on floors and carpet). No lift, but the staff carried my bag up for me. No internet in the rooms, although on the 2nd floor, I could pick up the wireless internet from the cafe downstairs intermittently. The location seemed good - close to the waterfront and plenty of shopping and restaurants. The staff were helpful in giving directions and arranging a very early morning taxi. In summary, I would stay here again if I needed a place to stay and couldn't find somewhere else. However, it is looking a little worn and missing those extra things that are helpful for business travellers (wireless internet - or any in-room internet, hairdryer). Felt safe here as solo female traveller. There is a restaurant downstairs, but it only does lunch/dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flight99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0 mi away
Celyn City Hotel
Celyn City Hotel
#54 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
65 reviews
0 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#34 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
49 reviews
0 mi away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#29 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Kooler Inn
Hotel Kooler Inn
#30 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
18 reviews
0 mi away
Eminent Hotel
Eminent Hotel
#32 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
44 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#64 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Borneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Borneo Hotel

Address: Lot 6, d'Borneo Hotel D'Borneo Hotel Block L, Sinsuran Complex, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £21 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — D'Borneo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your D'Borneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing