We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Discounted Rate with discounted services” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Klagan Regency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Klagan Regency
Ranked #58 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Discounted Rate with discounted services”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We dont complain the misleading newspaper advertisment. We also dont complain the late check-in service. We also dont further mention the no water issue. But we have to remind that there is no guarantee parking for hotel guest. We paid our parking as per the front desk told us that it is per entery. The next day after check out, we have to pay again because it is a new day rate even your car is not moving in front of the hotel. Front desk remarks that it is the car owner and the parking management issue and has nothing to do with the hotel. To conclude, staff are not well trained to handle late check-in and parking issue. I am ROOM 724 guest on 29 May 2012.

Room Tip: Try other hotel @ 1 Borneo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    288
    207
    94
    60
See reviews for
205
193
55
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed here for one night. It's about 15min out from Kota Kinabalu city centre and I would've preferred to stay there. I originally booked it because it is located in 1 Borneo, which is a shopping centre. The shopping centre is average though, and after exploring the city centre - I would recommend being near there instead rather than having to cab in/out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

This Novotel Hotel at 1Borneo located on the outskirts of Kota Kinabalu is a very good hotel! The room assigned to me was very modern and all the amenities and facilities were just wonderful. It was very spacious! One of the biggest I have ever stayed in. The bathroom is also very spacious. Usually when the bedroom area is large the bathroom is smaller but not in this hotel!

The front desk staff was excellent. My booking was handled very promptly and in less than 10 minutes I was on my way up to my room. However, the concierge do need to keep a look out for arriving guests. My colleague and I arrived at around 11pm and no one was around to help us with our luggages. My colleague had to go into the hotel to look for someone to help. It's a good thing that the front desk staff handled our checking in very well.

This hotel is located beside a shopping mall that has some wonderful restaurants. Most offer western food so you may be disappointed if you are looking to try some local stuff. It is also located quite some distance from the town center. So do plan your itinerary well. The hotel is located in an area called 1Borneo and it has got some night life attractions of its own.

The lobby / reception area is not grand in any way but it is modern. As I was on a business trip I did not get the chance to sample their breakfast buffet in their coffeehouse that is located on the 5th floor. I got to try the local offerings in town.

You won't be disappointed if you picked to stay in this hotel in while in Kota Kinabalu. Only just be aware of the distance from town.

Room Tip: There was a carnival going on right opposite the hotel during my stay there so it was quite noisy at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ng_reggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Communication E, MARCOMM at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Mr/Ms,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.

We would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo as your accommodation choice and for taking the time to share with us your experience in our hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and particularly value our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo in the very near future and in the meantime, if we may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed here during the year end new year season where they have this count down party below organized by the Ice Bar.

The hotel is good, with this nice room and services where we called at the middle of the night for bed sheet change, and came with the 2 cleaner reached within 5 mins with that friendly smile. And they are all well trained for me. I asked for mineral water and coffee instant like few times a day and they just passed me without any unhappy manner.
And this is my careless of leaving my few hundred cash at purse in bag by not locking it in safe and was still all safely owned after I discovered.
#Great staff and great services!

It's a great experience staying there but would say that the location is quiet far for us. As whenever we went to the city or jetty it costs us this rm25 for one way taxi fare. But conveniences are whenever girls who feel bored when partner is still sleeping or wake up late for some brunch searching, One Borneo is the greatest place for that as I even tried their facial treatment from one of the saloon below.

A place for holiday enjoy, spending most of the time at this hotel area than walking around the town.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyJiUn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Communication E, MARCOMM at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Mr/Ms,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.

We would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo as your accommodation choice and for taking the time to share with us your experience in our hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and particularly value our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo in the very near future and in the meantime, if we may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

The staff at this hotel and the company AGODA who I booked through could not have been more helpful. An extra layer of curtain weight was installed in my room after I mentioned I hadn't felt safe elsewhere travelling alone.
The restaraunt staff were very helpful when I mentioned I couldn't eat gluten. I was shown around the buffet by the chef everytime I went there so I would know what to eat. There was always so much.
The front desk and office staff were also helpful in assisting me in the business centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewels_C_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Communication E, MARCOMM at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Mr/Ms,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.

We would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo as your accommodation choice and for taking the time to share with us your experience in our hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and particularly value our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo in the very near future and in the meantime, if we may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#66 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#48 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Klagan Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Regency

Property: The Klagan Regency
Address: Tb-00-01 | 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia (Formerly 1 Borneo Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Klagan Regency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 25-minute drive from the Kota Kinabalu International Airport, The Klagan Regency offers exceptional comfort and value in Kota Kinabalu. The hotel has direct access to 1Borneo Hypermall which houses a selection of over 300 shopping, leisure and dining outlets. The Klagan Regency is also an excellent venue for any events with the capacity to hold up to 1,800 persons. It's close proximity to many corporate and government offices as well as several tourist attractions in Kota Kinabalu, making this the preferred hotel for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Klagan Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Accor Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing