We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value for money”
Review of The Klagan Regency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Klagan Regency
Ranked #59 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location and value for money”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed here in a group after some of us climbed Mt Kinabalu. It was a great change from our earlier hotel at Perkasa and at check in we were very happy as by comparison it was a great improvement.

This hotel is conveniently located next to the One Borneo shopping mall which is one of the biggest malls in Borneo.

THe rooms were comfortable but the workmanship is not great. The shower stall in 2 of the 6 rooms we booked flooded because the floor traps were blocked and the water drainage was not good. The soap holder in the shower stall was not secure and could do a 360 degree turn which means you could put anything on it. There was no shelvin in the shower to put your shampoo, etc. The sink was the bowl shape type that tended to spill over when you wash your face.

The spa in the hotel was run independently and service was not very good. We booked our massages and yet when we turned up they did not have enough masseuse as they had committed them to other customers.

Otherwise the hotel was comforable, service was good and polite. Generally a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walk2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    288
    208
    94
    60
See reviews for
205
193
55
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed twice in June for a total of 7 days. I made the reservation through the Accor website and used Diners card. I was contacted by the reservation office of the hotel and asked to send them another credit card information by e-mail, despite the high risks of such operation for the customer. It is not the first time that in Malaysia my credit card information has been handled carelessly. The first hotel room (standard 711) was large and quite comfortable, despite a broken window handle and a VERY powerful and difficult to set air conditioning. During our second stay, the room we were given was old and in bad need of renovation and it was so little, that the extra bed didn't fit in. We were given another room (superior 1910), bigger and a little newer, but again, the air conditioning was so powerful and noisy that kept us awake all night. Also, the swimming pool could really benefit from a facelift. On the positive side, the friendly service at the reception, the free shuttle to the city and the hypermall right nextdoor. Keep in mind, that the hourly free ride to the city center takes 20-30 minutes and from KK you need to queue under the sun for 20 min. in order to secure your seat. The taxi ride is around 30 MYR (fixed prices according to the city area - just make sure you know the right fare) and worth every penny. If you find a very good offer, it could be a good alternative to the hotels in the city center. If you are addicted to shopping, then you are in heaven!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Massza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Location of hotel is a little far off from town, about 20 min by taxi but there is also an hourly shuttle bus that takes you into town. The hotel is modern and clean, rooms are pretty decent and there is a big shopping mall next door which compensates for its out-of-town location. The hotel restaurant itself offers a good buffet spread at an incredibly low price.

If you don't mind the shuttle to town, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catesoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This is my 3rd time staying at this hotel, with more days. Hence, I believed I have been upgrade to Premier room (with Permier service). I am excited with joy, incl my family members. A big thanks to Ms Jagoda for ths arrangement.

The only drawback is the breakfast service, on my 2nd day stay upon the request of omelette. The Cook is not friendly with sour face. I believed he must be over work due to short of staff. Otherwise, the rest of my days for the morning breakfast are excellent. Food quality is moderate only. This is still ok for me.

For my last day stay, Ms Jagoda greet me farewell and ask me to come again. I have replied her with confident, certainly I will come again next year.

Initially, I am planning to change my stay at 1Borneo as I am a bit upset on the reward points of AccorHotel with expiry date. If my reward points can be reinstate (extended), I will be very please to continue the membership and continue my stay at Novotel.

Thanks & Regards, ES Peng

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pesoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labuan Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

the best hotel for new couple to honeymoon,with nice room,and a nice toilet full with glass wall...don't ever miss its..

Room Tip: room that face to highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qisha11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Hotel away from main part of city, although you can catch a free shuttle bus back to the city at the other end of the mall.
The Hotel is attached to the 1Borneo Hypermall, which gives you easy access to various restuarants, shopping, cinema etc. Breakfast had adequate options with staff being polite & friendly.
Have stayed in KK previously & wold prefer being in the heart of the city, although there is fantastic silk shop across the road from the hotel & shopping centre.
We stayed here 2 separate times on one trip. The 2nd time we arrived for check in was approx 4.30pm we were required to wait which was disappointing as we were very tired after climbing the mountain, although when room was ready we received a larger room type than originally booked.They also allowed our group to leave our main bags at Hotel whilst we climbed the mountain at no cost, which was greatly appreciated.
Staff at front desk were pleasant & friendly.
Would rate hotel at 3.75 stars.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pejola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Was not being informed that the hotel is facing a water supply problem when I check in. Went in the room and released all the luggage and wanted to take a hot shower, only to notice that there is no water. Call the frontdesk, and was only told of the problem of no water supply now and they are fixing it. SO LOUSY service that did not even take the initiative to informed check in guest of the problem, and had to let me discovered on myself and hey, I'm not joining a discovery tour, you know. It make us very disappointed of the service and courtesy shown by the hotel itself.
This is the second time I stayed here. but I may need to reconsider looking at other hotel in the area next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kianern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#62 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#43 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Klagan Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Regency

Property: The Klagan Regency
Address: Tb-00-01 | 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia (Formerly 1 Borneo Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Klagan Regency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 25-minute drive from the Kota Kinabalu International Airport, The Klagan Regency offers exceptional comfort and value in Kota Kinabalu. The hotel has direct access to 1Borneo Hypermall which houses a selection of over 300 shopping, leisure and dining outlets. The Klagan Regency is also an excellent venue for any events with the capacity to hold up to 1,800 persons. It's close proximity to many corporate and government offices as well as several tourist attractions in Kota Kinabalu, making this the preferred hotel for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Klagan Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Accor Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing