We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service...”
Review of The Klagan Regency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Klagan Regency
Ranked #56 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
brunei
1 review
“Good service...”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Nice hotel in the middle of the big shopping mall..what can i say, from the moment we got to the hotel we're speechless. Nothing was too impossible to ask for. The staff are very friendly and helpful from the front desk to housekeeping. Keep it up you all good work and im looking forward for my next visit to borneo soon...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank since89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear since89,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for sharing your review on our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff and enjoyed your visit to our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    289
    209
    94
    60
See reviews for
205
194
55
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2013

we stayed here for 3days 2nights last month.First, we received a room with bathtub, but we not really satisfy with the condition of the room bathtub. We met the Duty Manager and he gave us changed to a room that without bathtub. But we prefer our room is with bathtub, however the duty manager very helpful and get a better condition of the bathtub for us. But it still bit peeling off of the paint.
Our room package was included dinner, the food at the restaurant is good but
The food not really hot.
The housekeeper made our room very clean. But suggest if can give more mineral water in room. My
room's mini bar has few soft drinks inside(is free) but the fridge was not cold, called to check it but take more than 30min to change it.
The staff at reception was very helpful, name Stephanie. She can speak very well Chinese and help us more during our stay in here.
The manager also can speak very well cantonese, she really help us many about the information of the tour. She bring us to their tour counter (just beside the hotel) for our local tour trip.
The hotel just attache together with a shopping mall, very convenience but you can only order room service for your supper after 10pm because all around the shops are close.
very enjoy in here and hope management can get more chinese speaking staffs.
will introduce to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenie_11708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Queenie_11708,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for sharing your review on our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and particularly value our service and location. We appreciate your compliments on our Front Office Associate - Ms Stephanie Lau and Front Office Manager - Ms Michelle Tsen, your compliments are most gratifying and will be shared with the team.

Your remark on the bathtub and mini bar fridge has been carefully noted. It is feedback such as yours that enables us to adjust and better serve our guests and meet their satisfaction.

Thank you again for your patronage and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I am happy with the environment of hotel. The staffs are friendly and helpful. Food is good and the room is very clean and i satisfied with it. Amenities all are perfect.However, the parking is very limited and hotel should have more parking. Besides, the staff needs groom up because they were seen very sick and pale. Anyway being is Sabah for 4 days were so exciting!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinaeusoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear dinaeusoff,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for sharing your review on our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and particularly value our service, food and amenities. It is always a pleasure to have you with us.

Your remark on the parking space and staff grooming has been carefully noted. It is feedback such as yours that enables us to adjust and better serve our guests and meet their satisfaction.

Thank you again for your patronage and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the Novotel just before the Harvest Festival.

Check-in was slow, even though it was just my colleague and I checking in. I had asked for a non-smoking room, but upon stepping into my room, the smell of cigarette smoke was very noticeable. To their credit, reception called to let me know a mistake had been made and gave me a different room (their explanation: "We didn't know." Didn't know what exactly? That the room was a smoking room?).

My rate included a buffet breakfast, which was more than adequate even if the restaurant did resemble a feeding frenzy at times. Unfortunately, staff were not clearing tables or laying out new settings after guests left.

Rooms were clean and comfortable, but the finish in my room was noticeably poor, with a large chip in the paneling above the TV that looked like it had been glued back in place, and another on the floorboards by my bed.

There is free wifi in public areas of the hotel, and free wired Internet access in the rooms.

As others have noted, the hotel is a distance from the city center. However, it seemed shuttle buses were available for a small fee. Otherwise, it's probably better to rent a car to get around. There is also an adjacent mall with a variety of restaurants and shops, as well as a gym which is made available to hotel guests.

Bottom line: this hotel proves the maxim "you get what you pay for." Good price, but location a bit far from the city. Rooms were OK. Staff are friendly and seem to try hard, but service was extremely slow and inefficient whether at reception, the 1/F bar or the restaurant. I would choose to stay elsewhere on my next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klavier_mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear klavier_mann ,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for sharing your insights from your stay at Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo earlier this month, we always appreciate receiving feedback from guests.

We are glad that you are comfortable in our guestroom and enjoyed the breakfast spread. The team has noted your comments regarding staff service and room finishing, the team extends their apologies.

We hope to extend our hospitality to you again and in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us should you require any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Hong Kong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Enjoyed our stay with Novotel. However, some towels are not very clean and have some stains. Service is excellent, friendly, and able to response to our need.
We also enjoyed the mocktails from the premium lounge

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank maggieg2_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear maggieg2_trip ,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for sharing your review on our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and particularly value our service and location. It is feedback such as yours that enables us to adjust and better serve our guests and meet their satisfaction.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandurah wa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed at this venue early in May 2013.Very pleasantly suprised by the staff.Room on the 18th floor with views of surrounding countryside. The sun rose from behind the mountain range and brightened our room from early morn and through the day. Breakfast was included in our deal as was early check in on arrival and late checkout on the last day. Without these extras I have doubts about my surrvival as I had no sleep from the previous morning as the plane left Perth at 1am arriving at KK at 6.30am. Other meals were good at the dining room too. Oddles of choice for meals also at the HUGE shopping complex. A holiday enjoyed because of excellent service given by ALL staff. My wife has said she would like to return which is a BIG plus.

Room Tip: Try to get room on the east to view the sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rawperthite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear rawperthite,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for sharing your review on our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff and enjoyed your visit to our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The brand of the hotel is good with clean and comfort room. The bath facilities is good. The staff is nice and can rental towels to us if go out island.

They provide free ice cube. Very good that can have a cool drinks.

But really abit far from city (drive 25 mins) if no rental car must feel very inconvenience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank sdu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear sdu01,

Greetings from Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo!

Thank you for sharing your review on our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and particularly value our hotel. It is feedback such as yours that enables us to adjust and better serve our guests and meet their satisfaction.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
5.5 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#65 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
360 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#42 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
#18 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
430 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
435 reviews
4.0 mi away
Likas Square Apartment Hotel
Likas Square Apartment Hotel
#25 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Klagan Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Regency

Property: The Klagan Regency
Address: Tb-00-01 | 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia (Formerly 1 Borneo Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Klagan Regency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 25-minute drive from the Kota Kinabalu International Airport, The Klagan Regency offers exceptional comfort and value in Kota Kinabalu. The hotel has direct access to 1Borneo Hypermall which houses a selection of over 300 shopping, leisure and dining outlets. The Klagan Regency is also an excellent venue for any events with the capacity to hold up to 1,800 persons. It's close proximity to many corporate and government offices as well as several tourist attractions in Kota Kinabalu, making this the preferred hotel for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Klagan Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Accor Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing