We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“交通不方便, 房间一般,服务较差 very bad hotel with bad service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Klagan Regency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Klagan Regency
Ranked #58 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    288
    207
    94
    60
See reviews for
205
193
55
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed here for twice and won't come back again for sure. It's the worst Accor hotel experience I have.

1) I was staying in 820 for 2 nights (2-4 oct) and somebody just came to my room. He left with any apologize.
2) the towers are smelly, especially the small ones
3 for second time we stay, just today, it took 45 mins to checkin. The checkin guy is Freddy. What an efficient service! Btw, the tower this time is smelly again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kotzekai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed two nights at the end of our Borneo trip and really enjoyed the hotel. The breakfast buffet was great. Lots of room for a family and good location as we had already stayed right in Kota Kinabalu at the start of our visit and were looking to relax. Friendly and professional staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were first give a spaces room however there were a couple of draw backs - it was next to air condition booster fan that was very noisy and unless you were deff you would not be able to get any rest at night, the sheets on the bed were old and covered with stains.
We requested to be moved and it did take them a couple of hours to give us another room, this room also had the old bed stained bed linen.
Other guest were also complaining about having to wait a long time for their rooms and the condition of of the linen.

Room Tip: If you want to get the free transport to town make sure you book your seat as it does fill up quickl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Booking for a standard room for 2 night with my husband and 2 kids but when we check-in they said our room is still not available. So they changed it and upgraded us to a inter-connected room. Room is nice and big but suffered because the next room peope was smoking affected our room also smelt. During check-in the receptionist did not informed us it is under a smoking floor. We have requested to change to non-smoking floor but they said all rooms are fully book. Room service is very bad, requested for bath towers for few times no respond until we need to get directly from the housekeeping staff. From the website we view their swimming pool is nice so we bring our children there and shock because the children's swimming pool is super dirty seems like long time never changed the water. I never seen a 4 star hotel like that!!! Terrible. When come to breakfast also disappointed no coffee pot provided and will only served when you requested but they called it buffer breakfast????. Not worth for breakfast value of RM56+ per person. I will not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ho L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

First thing to know is that this is not in Kota Kinabalu but at the One Borneo shopping centre waaaaay out of town. It takes about 30 minutes in a taxi if there's no traffic and quite a bit longer if there is. It is next to a very dull mall and a highway and nothing else. The hotel itself looks modern but is badly maintained. The air-con didn't work well in my room.There was a constant dripping noise and a bad smell. The staff were friendly enough but nothing can detract from the fact that this is in a hopeless location and isn't a very good hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#62 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#37 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#9 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Klagan Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Regency

Property: The Klagan Regency
Address: Tb-00-01 | 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia (Formerly 1 Borneo Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Klagan Regency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 25-minute drive from the Kota Kinabalu International Airport, The Klagan Regency offers exceptional comfort and value in Kota Kinabalu. The hotel has direct access to 1Borneo Hypermall which houses a selection of over 300 shopping, leisure and dining outlets. The Klagan Regency is also an excellent venue for any events with the capacity to hold up to 1,800 persons. It's close proximity to many corporate and government offices as well as several tourist attractions in Kota Kinabalu, making this the preferred hotel for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Klagan Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Accor Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing