We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Klagan Regency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Klagan Regency
Ranked #54 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    287
    206
    94
    59
See reviews for
205
193
55
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We checked in at dinner time on New Year's day and the concierge seemed to be on holiday. Porter service was absent.

Front office staff were pleasant enough but impersonal. Same goes for service throughout the hotel, from housekeeping to concierge.

Our room was large with an adjoining door which made the room feel sparsely furnished. Curtains were worn and torn. Furniture had seen its better days. Chair fabric was stained and soiled. Floor laminates were warped and popping up in many places. The loose cable for LAN connection was faulty so internet connection in the room was random. Wifi was available only in the hotel lobby.

The best thing about this hotel is having 1Borneo mega mall at your doorstep. Very convenient. Apart from the mall, there is nothing much to explore in the area. It is a good 20 minutes from the seafront and city; which we were to find out later, is far more interesting. The highway leading to 1Borneo tends to be congested at rush hour. We got stuck for a half hour on our way back from Mari Mari Cultural village.

Overall, the experience failed to meet expectations of a Novotel branded hotel. If all you want is a reasonably clean place to rest your head and do not mind being a faceless guest, this hotel will do.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Annie1013,

First and foremost thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback.

We sincerely apologise that our service team appeared to be not customer friendly. I have briefed the relevant departments to avoid such shortcomings in our customer approach. Nevertheless we are happy to know that you appreciated the hotel being located next to a shopping mall.

However I assure our utmost attention to these details and hope that you will consider coming back to stay at Novotel. Again, thank you for your constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

A bit far away from the KK city, you can take free shuttle provided by the 1Borneo Mall, but need advance booking as the bus is always full. Breakfast is okay but coffee is bad. No wifi at room and the cable internet sucks...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ricky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Ricky T

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback.

First and foremost thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to bring this issues to our attention. Your comments are very constructive and we will surely work on areas that needs immediate improvement.

Again we truly appreciate your feedback and we do hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
126 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and here are my main concerns regarding this place : location is not good, it s located 20 minutes from the city center next to a big shopping mall Borneo1. The rooms are small, not perfectly clean and our bed was not well done. The room was old and the bed linen were poor quality (you sweat at night) not to mention that the bed itself was not comfortable. The breakfast is not good and for those who want to enjoy the fitness center you have to go to a gym club in the mall, that can be used from 10 am ... as an accor club member, i was very disapointed and if i was from accor hq, i would close it or at least make some seriou renovations. Last but not least,the swimming pool is just a hole in a rooftop, they could at least paint the floor in white to make it look better...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyCParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear BabyCParis,

First and foremost thank you for staying with us recently.

Thank you for taking the time to bring this issues to our attention. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve the quality of our products and services to better meet the needs of our guests.

Again we truly appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We are a family of 4, kids age 5 & 8, Americans who live in KK. We wanted something nice for Christmas Eve and found this buffet info online. It was lovely. The decorations glowed, the staff were friendly & attentive, and the food was great. Variety, quality, presentation, all were lovely.

We have also stayed at this hotel, and enjoyed it a lot. The rooftop pool, while chilly, is designed to be both chic and fun. The staff are great, and the rooms are fine-to-above-average for a luxury type of hotel. The rooms vary greatly in size.

The one issue is that the "free" parking they offer is nearly impossible to use, and parking overnight gets costly. To use the parking, you have to park illegally to go get the parking pass, convince a staff member to ride with you (going the wrong way down a ramp) to get to the right area, and then do it again to return the parking pass after check-out. And they only have a few passes anyways. It's crazy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Communication D, Manager at The Klagan Regency, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Greetings Wendofish!

Thank you very much for the high rating of the hotel and wonderful compliments, happy to know that you've enjoyed our Christmas Eve Buffet Dinner and the swimming pool at our rooftop. It is always encouraging as our guests’ satisfaction is our primary concern.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1Borneo in the very near future and in the meantime, if we may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#59 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#24 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
5.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Klagan Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Regency

Property: The Klagan Regency
Address: Tb-00-01 | 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia (Formerly 1 Borneo Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Klagan Regency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 25-minute drive from the Kota Kinabalu International Airport, The Klagan Regency offers exceptional comfort and value in Kota Kinabalu. The hotel has direct access to 1Borneo Hypermall which houses a selection of over 300 shopping, leisure and dining outlets. The Klagan Regency is also an excellent venue for any events with the capacity to hold up to 1,800 persons. It's close proximity to many corporate and government offices as well as several tourist attractions in Kota Kinabalu, making this the preferred hotel for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Klagan Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Accor Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing