We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISAPPOINTED”
Review of The Klagan Regency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Klagan Regency
Ranked #61 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 28 April 2014

the room that i first checked into had a material burning smell that became a lot worst towards the evening.
it affected my throat and i have to visit a doctor after i came back to s'pore.
this is perhaps the first time i have to ask for a room-change after settling into a room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank DanielPoon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 840 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

When I made the reservation through hotel website, the room description is come with complimentary high speed internet with WiFi in the room but when I checked-in, the front desk said there is no WIFI in the room. We called to front desk few times to ask for password when our phone can get the wifi network but the answers given by them were still "NO". The next day we went down for breakfast around 9.30am, the hot dishes were cool. Egg and noodle station has no one chef standby there. The kitchen is open concept and we saw some chefs busy to prepare other meal. No one care to attend the gWe have to stand and wait there to get their attention. First round half boil egg was good guest. I ordered half boil egg and it came in nicely and well done. Then my friend ordered and waited for 20mins, it came after we chased but it was raw and not cooked at all. My friend want to order meehoon soup, the chef shouted far away "No soup, no soup". Then after a while, I managed to get 2 bowl of Meehoon soup with cabbage only but was so salty. I will say, the service is not up to 4* international brand. We were dissapointed and dissatisfied the service level.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasminelcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The staff of the hotel was one of the best. I got sprained and they immediately attended to my need by massaging and applying bandage to my leg. They were very helpful in directions to the tourist spots and all our needs were attended to quickly.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aivy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Kurichan49
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I found that the air conditioning was not working properly. On my first day it takes them about 2 hours to find the fault and to get it working. On the next 5 days my of stay , i had practically to need to set the aircon on for the whole day im out on business. On my return trip two days later , on different floor, the same problem. The air con was marginally better but it get worst on my last day where it fail to deliver any cool air. I had to change room at midnight .

The only saving grace of this hotel is it front office and maintenance guys. They are very polite and when it failed on the last day, they managed to located a room for me.

I will definitely ask my Kota Kinabalu staff to arrange other hotel for me on my return trip in June 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis_TG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The room 1120 is excellent and clean,service is good. The food was first class and breakfast good but no scramble egg. Flodina is the best bar girl in the world such fantastic service what a good girl. Gerry has travel all over the world,hotel service is second two nun. clement is such a nice guy and all the staff a very friendly. Thank you very much for everything. Love Gerry. X

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wardgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#64 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
365 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
332 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#39 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
704 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
472 reviews
5.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Klagan Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Regency

Address: Tb-00-01 | 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia (Formerly 1 Borneo Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £39 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Klagan Regency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 25-minute drive from the Kota Kinabalu International Airport, The Klagan Regency offers exceptional comfort and value in Kota Kinabalu. The hotel has direct access to 1Borneo Hypermall which houses a selection of over 300 shopping, leisure and dining outlets. The Klagan Regency is also an excellent venue for any events with the capacity to hold up to 1,800 persons. It's close proximity to many corporate and government offices as well as several tourist attractions in Kota Kinabalu, making this the preferred hotel for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Klagan Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Accor Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing