We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional hotel”
Review of The Klagan Regency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Klagan Regency
Ranked #57 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Functional hotel”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Well presented hotel. Our room could have done with some tlc, it was beginning to look a bit tired, comfortable nonetheless. Location next to the mall is very useful for stocking up on products from the supermarket for a day trip, and has a good selection of reasonably priced restaurants there (note it opens at 1100!). Breakfast was busy but delightful, first time we got to try kaya (ended up buying jars at the supermarket to take home!), lots of fresh fruit, pastries and usual Eastern/Western fayre. A good base for exploring the surrounding areas.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MQAQVQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    289
    210
    94
    60
See reviews for
205
194
55
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Myself and my partner were recommended this hotel by Flight Centre when booking as were only staying one night before going to do a 3 day wildlife cruise. The hotel is very far out of the main town of KK and there is not much around the hotel itself. The hypermall was disappointing, the ones in KK centre like Centre Point are a LOT better! The staff were exceptional, they let us check in very early as our flight arrived at 6:30am and were very attentive and friendly. The rooms were basic although felt dated. The pool area was clean and quiet during the day. All in all it was an ok hotel for one night but we wouldn't stay again purely based on its location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose1763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labuan Island, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

For me Novotel is a big name in hotel industry but Iˊm quite frustratedwith it. First of all,there is no vallet parking in this hotel. I guess they hope people will park at 1B mall. Quite dissappointed.

After checked in,my husband and I decided to take our dinner buffet in this hotel. We assumed that the food will be much variety because the price is RM55 per head. Once more,we felt very disappointed because not much variety and most of the food is tasteless. Sorry to say this.

After dinner,we went to our room. Itˊs pool view. My daughter love it but quite dangerous because we can open the window. They should lock it up. Not safe with traveller with young children. Got some stain here and there. Nice bathroom because they have big see through glass but you can cover it up with silver curtain. The toiletries provided not really satisfied me.

Not many tv channels and itˊs blurry. Luckily we only checked in for 1 night. I guess the pros of this hotel is the location in 1B mall and so many cons that they need to improve because Novotel is a well known hotel. I hope the management will do something to improve their service. But,their staff very helpful and friendly. Thank you for that.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank VeeYHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I couldn't believe an international chain would failed its own standards so drastically. The room was so basic... so much space for furniture you could see they had intended to put in but didn't. Loose light-fittings, things falling apart without being fixed, poorly lit rooms, but most of all, absence of guest service and attentive-ness. Don't stay here if you've a choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BC-Travel-Bugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We arrived quite early (around noon) and unfortunately was not allowed to check in early. Since the hotel joints the mall, we walked around while waiting time for check in.
Restaurants are mere metres from the hotels' door, so food is easy to find.

The room was clean. Bathrooms are clean. Too bad the bathtub leaked.

Wifi is problematic, as mentioned by a previous reviewer. I had too call the room service, which supplied me with a long username (something like novasdi827) and weird password (it was 'nibucu').
The combination didn't work.
I called again, and was given another combination.
It only worked after the third time, and only on our phones but not on my tablets. Not sure if the problem was with android. I gave up.

The staffs meanwhile are extremely polite. It was my husband's birthday the next day and I asked secretly if they could send a slice of cake at midnight. They send a whole cake instead!
And it was also on the house.

Pros: Location near to mall, Friendly staff.
Cons: Wifi

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiambang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#65 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
362 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
321 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#36 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
456 reviews
4.2 mi away
Avangio Hotel Kota Kinabalu Managed by Accor
Avangio Hotel Kota Kinabalu Mana...
#20 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
85 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#15 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Klagan Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Regency

Property: The Klagan Regency
Address: Tb-00-01 | 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia (Formerly 1 Borneo Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Klagan Regency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 25-minute drive from the Kota Kinabalu International Airport, The Klagan Regency offers exceptional comfort and value in Kota Kinabalu. The hotel has direct access to 1Borneo Hypermall which houses a selection of over 300 shopping, leisure and dining outlets. The Klagan Regency is also an excellent venue for any events with the capacity to hold up to 1,800 persons. It's close proximity to many corporate and government offices as well as several tourist attractions in Kota Kinabalu, making this the preferred hotel for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Klagan Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Accor Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing