We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but in middle of nowhere”
Review of The Klagan Regency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Klagan Regency
Ranked #59 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but in middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Stayed for 3 nights with my husband and my son who had his own room.
There are good points and bad.Firstly the staff are excellent and the rooms are pleasant.
The hotel is a long way from anywhere except the huge shopping mall that is attached.
So be prepared to pay for taxis if you want to go anywhere.
The pool area is excellent and the restaurant is not bad.
I must say that the worst parts for us all were the beds being extremely hard-like concrete.I didnt complain so dont know if anything could be done about it.I resorted to sleeping on pillows to get any sleep. Also the bathrooms could be quite dangerous especially for the elderly with steps etc. Probably wouldn't stay here again even though it was a good price-there are better places.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazzy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    288
    208
    94
    60
See reviews for
205
193
55
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We booked about 10 rooms last January 2010 in Novotel 1Borneo and everyone in our group agreed that the hotel was excellent. Very good breakfast, really nice big rooms with big bathrooms, and the location was excellent. No need to go anywhere to eat or shop. Everything is connected to the hotel.

Try this hotel. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadview, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

I arrived at this hotel on January 31st, 2010. The front desk check-in was fast and efficent. A very helpful bell staff took my luggage up to my room. I booked directly with Novotel over the intetrnet, before departing the Philippines, and, I got a nightly rate of 220 Malaysian Ringgets, or, $ 66 USD per night. My initial stay was for 5 nights, thru February 5th. I stayed in room # 919. This room was big, clean and quite. The bathroom had a big picture window that divided it from the bedroom. The bathtub was big, and, it had a big rain forest shower head installed up in the ceiling. This hotel is located at one of the biggest and newest mall's in Malaysia: Borneo 1. The room also had a security safe. I just re-read my bills, and, I do not see that I was charged for in-room internet service. So, I believe it was free. I used room service about once a day, and, all the meals were delicious and perfect and fast service. One of the bell boys was very helpful, his name was: Rasidy. The General Manager: Jacques Leizerovici, was very helpful also, he even paid for my taxi fare to the airport. Thank You again Jacques. And, the very beautiful Sarah, at the front desk, you just can't but, be stunned by her beauty. I will definately stay at the Novotel again whenever I return to K.K. I rate this hotel as 3 1/2 to 4 stars.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gone~Walkabout~Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

If one is expecting Shangri La services, go there otherwise enjoy the pleasant stay at this modern and comfortable hotel. Staffs are friendly and helpful. The rooms are very good, I prefer the wooden flooring than carpet..but you can hear people walking next room :((
The bathroom is great. Good flat screen TV (no ESPN though..sigh). I was hoping the rooms or at least each floor would have WiFi connection, but there's 2 iMac in the lobby for those who can't live away from FaceBooking.. Depends on your stay - shop or sightseeing. Shopping for us this time, very very convenient. If you're the late night clubber, the hotels in town is better.
Our last night stay was a bit annoying though, we have to endure the slamming of doors and loud chattering...was told later, guests from Taiwan:)). The swimming pool is a bit of a downer though...half covered but...its ok. No sight of a Duty Manager desk..I'm a bit of an old fashion tourist..I like to feel the warmth of a greeting at any entrance, but no welcoming staff at the hotel entrance..(i supposed sliding doors don't need one..)
I wanted to sign on as a member, but there seems to be no 'encouragement' from the front desk. My family enjoyed the stay. Nothing extraordinary but pleasant enough for the price.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Arrive in the hotel at almost midnight so I order room service. Food is really good and price is reasonable. Staff is nice and helpful and you can choose to have meal in the shopping mall next to the hotel. Money exchange in the shopping mall is convenience as well.

Only the location of this hotel is far away from the city center so the taxi fare is quite high.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyCheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

This hotel is the same location as Tune Hotel (refer my other review for details). I stayed in a Superior Room on the 15th Floor. Standard & Superior are almost the same size & outlooks. The advantage of Superior rooms are located from above 10th floors with free minibar usage consist of 6 can drinks (Cola,Orange Juice & Soya Milk) & toiletries. Room comes with a LCD TV, safe box, iron/board, kettle for tea/coffee, 2 bottle water, bath ropes, weight scale, slippers & internet cable. The rooms does not have Wifi but internet cable in the rooms. Hotel & rooms only about 1 yr old + but showing some creak walls & bad workmanship around the edges. A good place to stay a night or two with a higher budget about RM250+

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Due to the vouchers from A-Club, I booked this hotel. This Novotel is new and modern. But comparing to any other Accor's hotels I stay in China, service of this one is not good enough.

Firstly, the staff don't read my request on my booking mail carefully before I arrived. Therefore they gave me a room under my requirement.

Next day the housekeeping didn't change dirty cups, bath foam and shampoo until my hubby complained them.

Breakfast is soso.

Sometimes in midnight, housekeeping is no one to answer the call. It's not acceptable in an international hotel group.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynetteShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#62 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#43 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Klagan Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Regency

Property: The Klagan Regency
Address: Tb-00-01 | 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia (Formerly 1 Borneo Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Klagan Regency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 25-minute drive from the Kota Kinabalu International Airport, The Klagan Regency offers exceptional comfort and value in Kota Kinabalu. The hotel has direct access to 1Borneo Hypermall which houses a selection of over 300 shopping, leisure and dining outlets. The Klagan Regency is also an excellent venue for any events with the capacity to hold up to 1,800 persons. It's close proximity to many corporate and government offices as well as several tourist attractions in Kota Kinabalu, making this the preferred hotel for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Klagan Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Accor Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing