We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Borneo Novotel needs more than a renovation!”
Review of The Klagan Regency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Klagan Regency
Ranked #68 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 17 January 2011

What a mistake! We booked into this hotel because it is part of the ACCOR chain and we normally expect good quality from this standard of hotel. At the hotel is only 3 years old, we expected top quality fittings and finishes.

On arrival at the hotel - miles from the main city of Kota Kinabalu - we found that the pool was closed for renovation - a renovation that seems to be on the never never plan. We went for a look and the pokey pool area looked abandoned. The gym only had a couple of machines and was poorly maintained. The staff were most accommodating and managed a special pass for us to visit a pool in a complex around 500m away through the attached shopping mall.

Our room was on the 17th floor and the staff told us we may hear a little "tapping" as there were renovations above us - TAPPING?? there was a jack hammer slamming into our ceiling! The superior room was stark, with vinyl flooring and no artwork. The paint was peeling and the room smelled dank. After another complaint, the helpful staff upgraded us to a suite - lots of room but once again peeling paint and wallpaper.

The front of house staff were as helpful as they could be but the manager never actually spoke to us, leaving his staff to do the dirty work. I emailed the district manager about our concerns but as yet have had no response. My opinion of Novotel hotels has greatly diminished as a result of our unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaymondoPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

535 - 541 of 843 reviews

An Accor traveller
Brisbane
1
Reviewed 13 January 2011

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne
1
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Execellent location for shopping with 1 Broneo Mega Mall on your door step for the family with different needs, such as me relaxing in hotel, wife shopping and children reading in near by book stores. Plenty of eateries, of all sorts that will suit your eating/food needs.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charliewag66
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 January 2011

just simple words we have good time great staff .
Especialy Jecey front office very helpfull to guide you for kk night life

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harbou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Location wise, it's a little far from KK city centre or from the sea side. But with huge shopping mall adjascent to it, makes it really convenient. There are small flaws in the room which should be fixed. The housekeepers didn't clean the bathroom properly. But the service was good, room service's delivery time is immediate. Friendly staff too.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DitaGenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

My partner and I chose this hotel out of the array of hotels available KK (Kota Kinabalu). The price was moderate: taking into account that it was coming to New Year's and we had reserved several months in advance.

We stayed in Room 907 and found it a rather worrying experience to the start of our December holiday (knowing that we were going to be there for a week). In a mixed nutshell of quick anecdotes:

i) the in-room safe could not be set until we insisted for the duty officer to come up and check it himself (a low battery problem)
ii) the tub would not drain (enter the handyman too)
iii) the in-room refrigerator didn't work (enter handyman again).
iv) we noticed the duvet was not the newest or cleanest, with marks of previous use
v) the air-conditioning is great to return to after the humidity of the city
vi) the hotel was peaceful with only minimal street noise
vii) with the hotel's green policy, we were forced to finally corner housekeeping to ask for new towels - or they would probably never have been replaced!

The hotel is in 1Borneo so food options and shopping are never an issue, plus the in-room refrigerator will be purposely empty. The city is a 30-60 min bus ride, thanks to the complimentary shuttle provided by 1Borneo - easy to ride to the city but a little harder to return back due to inconsistent timings and limited seats.

Noticed also that the lifts are fast and the corridors unair-conditioned.

Good to know that service was friendly and accommodating; a special mention should be made of the bellboys and doormen whom were most greeting. The staff are the easiest to approach to ask any questions about KK.

Aside from the above, its a convenient choice to stay in and I hope they would just address those little problems mentioned.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zanlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#62 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
369 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
336 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#35 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Sabah Oriental Hotel
#43 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
308 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#15 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
480 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Klagan Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Klagan Regency

Address: Tb-00-01 | 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia (Formerly 1 Borneo Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £39 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Klagan Regency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 25-minute drive from the Kota Kinabalu International Airport, The Klagan Regency offers exceptional comfort and value in Kota Kinabalu. The hotel has direct access to 1Borneo Hypermall which houses a selection of over 300 shopping, leisure and dining outlets. The Klagan Regency is also an excellent venue for any events with the capacity to hold up to 1,800 persons. It's close proximity to many corporate and government offices as well as several tourist attractions in Kota Kinabalu, making this the preferred hotel for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Klagan Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Kota Kinabalu 1borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Accor Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing