We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mount Kinabalu”
Review of Mountain Torq

Mountain Torq
Ranked #15 of 78 Tours in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Mountain Torq is the world's highest and Asia's first via ferrata located on Mt Kinabalu. We are the one and only operator of the via ferrata in Mt Kinabalu National Park. If you are an adrenaline junkie and want a lofty adventure that have you hanging around on a wire, this is should be on your to do list!
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Mount Kinabalu”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Very beautiful place.We went there around 10.30 am and it was very foggy and we waited till the sky is clear to see the fascinating work of nature. We did not climb as our main intentions there is to see the scenery first hand.We rented a car and we drove all the way from our hotel and enjoyed our road trips in between the mountains.
Recommended place for all nature lovers out there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Razak61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    17
    4
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Via ferrata- Low's Peak Circuit (4th April 2014)”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I climbed Mt Kinabalu on 3-4 April 2014 and booked the Via Ferrata (Low's Peak Circuit) through Amazing Borneo Tours. The overall service and experience was truly amazing. My friends and I all agreed that it was well worth every penny spent. We arrived at Pendant Hut at 1230hrs on 3rd April and found the hut warm and cosy, with a free flow of Sabah Tea and board games to keep ourselves entertained. The room was reasonably spacious and comfortable considering the location.The safety briefing was professionally conducted and we felt assured that we were in good hands the next day. The Via Ferrata descent itself was mind-blowing and thrilling, especially when we stepped off the cliff for the first time. The guide (Jon) was humourous and fun-loving, and we never once felt we were in any danger, despite the vertical drops, overhangs and swinging bridges that was challenging both physically and mentally. To those attempting this route, please be aware that a good level of fitness is required to complete all the activities (2 segments of climb, 5 hrs ferrata and descent) in 2 full days as it we found it rather exhausting despite my entire group being sportsmen or marathon runners. I would recommend this actvitiy for those who are fit and willing to challenge themselves a little more for one of the best experiences ever.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank yipjy1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1,471 reviews
563 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 723 helpful votes
“Only for the really FIT”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Book this only if you are really FIT. Of our group of eight, four never made it due to artiving too late back from the summit of Mount Kinabalu. Only four very trim Aussies in their late twenties managed to get it done - at the cost of seeing the glorious summit of Mount Kinabalu only in the dark due to time pressure to return.

These exercises are reputedly fun and despite being rather breathtaking, also quite safe. A good briefing on how to do it safely was given by the Mountain Torq crew at the pendant hut. The stay at pendant hut was also basic but pleasant with a bit of a summercamp feel.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Hermes_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent fun activity”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We have recently completed the Mountain Torq Low's Peak Circuit via ferrata (LPC VF) activity (May 2013).
We were fortunate that the heavy rain forecast didn't appear and we had a beautiful clear sunrise on the summit of Mt Kinabalu before spending 4 hrs completing the LPC via ferrata course in mild and sunny conditions.
Unlike other reviewers, we actually read the terms of the advertising and contract BEFORE we booked and paid for this activity and were prepared to forfeit our fees if the activity was cancelled due to safety reasons (eg wet weather).
I am an experienced outdoor activities instructor and I found the Mountain Torq trainers very focussed on being professional in their delivery of pre-activity briefings, safety instructions and the conduct of the activity. It was good to see and reassured all of us, including the inexperienced in our 5-person group.
The via ferrata itself was very well designed, making use of the natural landscape and highlighting the amazing vistas and backdrops that the summit peaks and formations provide.
An upcoming improvement to the LPC VF course will see the "Jungle Traverse" middle section being replaced by another VF section on rock.
Highlights included a great near vertical rock crack descent and three bridges (wood and cable).
All up, the LPC VF took us 4hrs at a nice easy, steady pace (that my nervous first-timer wife could handle). It was fatiguing both physically and through nervous energy and left us pretty empty after also climbing the hill and summiting that morning.
The Pendant Hut was ideal for the overnight stay - comfortable bunks with everything supplied - sleeping bags, liners, hut slippers, hot tea, magazines, toilets and showers. It was very close to Laban Rata Guesthouse (buffet dinner). Temperature in the hut was a near constant 15 degrees celcius.
Readers should remember that this activity is conducted around 3,776m and the Hut is at 3,289m up a big mountain. Everything is transported up and down by humans. You are in a mountain environment to do via ferrata, not laying next to a pool in a resort hotel, so expect things to be basic.
Travel light, dress with layers of technical clothing (eg not cotton) that will dry the sweat quickly, take a pair of gloves for the VF if you have soft hands and make sure you keep hydrated.
ENJOY!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Angus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Boycott Mountain Torq”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Four of us flew all the way from US, Hong Kong and China to Malaysia for our vacation.

When we made the reservation with Mountain Torq, nothing was said to us regarding the weather conditions in Mountain Kinabalu, there is a risk that we may not be able to do such activity if it rains, or no refund is given if the activity is canceled due to bad weather conditions.

Each of us paid 400+ USD upfront and here was what we paid for eventually: a buffet dinner, two breakfasts with only bread, butter/ham and tea/coffee, one-night stay in a four-bunker room, and an orientation.

When we find out our activity was canceled due to bad weather and no refund will be given, we tried to negotiate with Mountain Torq employees. However, they immediately asked us to contact our booking agents.

"We do not give any customer refunds under any conditions. You may ask your booking agent if they could give you refund"

-One Mountain Torq employee

We were shocked hearing this but immediately clarified that we booked directly through email listed on their website, not through an agent and showed them our email exchanges. Their explanation was then,

"Some of our agents use our email book_mt@mountaintorq.com to make the booking, they are actually not our employees."



Insisting on talking to their management, I was finally put on the line with their real sales representatives.

He uses the following example to educate us why they cannot give us a refund.

"It is like you are going for a safari tour. If you did not see any wild animals, can you ask for a refund?"

I was completely shocked by the example he used and refuted back.

"The safari company at least offer transportation and tour us around, while you guys offered us nothing. I have been traveling around the world, and have experience when a tour is canceled due to bad weather conditions and all offer refunds under such conditions.

For an airline company: if a flight is canceled due to bad weather, they will give the passengers a flight or arrange the next flight for them…"

He then said safari may not be a good example, but they just can't give us refund.

We said we were not asking for a full refund as we are willing to pay for the meal and the lodging incurred, and asked to speak to his management.

He asked me to hold and a few minutes later, he said his management decided to offer discount on our next booking.

We laughed and replied

"You know for most people this would be a once a lifetime experience. Are you expecting us to come back and do this again soon? And what if it rains again?"

He remained silent and then said again no refund.



We dropped by their HQ office in KK the next day and had a similar discussion with this guy on the phone. He showed us the terms that help them mitigate weather cancelation related risks.

"You agree and acknowledge that If the change or cancellation is due to force majeure events (including without limitation political unrest, war or threat of war, riots, civil strife, closure of airports or ports, industrial disputes, terrorist activity, natural and nuclear disasters, fire, epidemic or health risk, flood, Acts of God, adverse weather conditions or other similar events beyond MT’s control), no refund will be made by MT."

Basically they put adverse weather conditions in the same category as war, terrorist activity, natural and nuclear disasters.

When we asked if a customer would consider adverse weather condition as a low-probability event as war/riots/ natural and nuclear disaster.

He did not answer.

When we asked if they know that there is a very high probability that it will rain in Mountain Kinabalu. and how many days out of a year they could not perform their activity as scheduled.

He again remained silent.

If it is a high risk, why does Mountain Torq not warn its customers when they make the reservation or suggest them to buy insurance?

We asked him whether he thought we were treated fair if he was in our position, whether it is fair to pass such risk 100% to customer through such imparity clause.

He said he was not in the position to answer such question.



He tried to contact his boss but said could not reach him because he was on a business trip. He asked us to leave our contact information and said his boss will communicate with us when he is back.

Up to today (10 days after our visit), we have not received any phone calls or emails. And we are not expecting any either.

It is such a good business that it cost them very little to easily get 400+ USD from each of the customers like us. There were a total of 12 customers scheduled to do the same activity that same day. So that day alone they made almost 5000 USD by offering pretty much no services.

They must like the raining weather A LOT.

If you don't want to risk losing your money, do not choose Mountain Torq. There are many other interesting things you can explore in Mountain Kinabalu other than Mountain Torq

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
19 Thank Jao_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain Torq also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu District, West Coast Division
 

Been to Mountain Torq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing