We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but not the best in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
X-Plorer Backpackers
Reviewed 13 June 2011

X-plorer Backpackers is easy to find in a central location. The reception is manned 24/7 and the reception staff were always on hand to open the door, as per their security policy (no hostel guest has key access to the front entry door). We got a free airport pick-up with a running commentary of the area by the driver, which was cool! Staff were always friendly and helpful, one staff member had no idea about local and longer distance buses which was annoying as we needed assistance getting to Sepilok.

Our room wasn't too bad, quite large with great A/C. I did however use my own sleeping bag liner as the sheets didn't look to appealing. Unfortunately our room didn't have a window and only had a fluorescent strip light for illumination (stumbling in the darkness to find the light switch in the morning!). The en-suite bathroom wasn't cleaned during our 3 night stay and the only ventilation it had was to the shared toilets adjacent.

The breakfast provided was rubbish, as is sadly common in Malaysia (we kept finding). White bread, plastic margarine, powdered 3 in 1 coffee and tea bags. The common area & breakfast room was good and bright with views over the square. The free Wifi is a welcomed bonus.

Overall this place is alright for a couple of nights - friendly but no frills. On our return visit to KK was were recommended to stay in Lavender Lodge which was more comfortable and a more pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mlinaqetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2011

this small hotel is not suitable for old people cause you need to climb steep staircases everywhere.

Room Tip: try to get rooms with attached bathroom-privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winter_Love520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stumbled here by chance an I'm glad we did! Extremely clean! Lovely room with large double bed, very comfy! Aircon and fan! Clean toilets and showers! Coffee availae all day. Lively communal area with tv and small library! Fast wifi and most of all genuinely nice and helpful staff! Was in a great location to explore kk, will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinkpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

The response by the hostel is very prompt. Information needed for my climb to Mount Kinabalu was provided quickly. I really appreciated that.

Upon arrival, Alban (the person in charge) came and fetched us as arranged.

The stay was good, the room for 3 is kinda unique as there's an attic where there are two more mattress. The only downside is after the climb, we do have a bit of problem of climbing up and that's what Alban has pre-empt us. But overall its good.

The room cleaniless was alright as we can see that the cleaner will clean it everyday (the common area)

Overall its a good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurposefulTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

All the staff are helpful on whatever you ask them, be it directions for good food around the hostel or reliable dried seafood shop. They will try their best to help you and give you a very homely feeling. It just makes me feel like returning to Sabah again and without any hesistation, i will stay at X-plorer again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RainL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

For the money, this was a good place to stay. We had a private room with own bathroom - and the whole thing was TINY! Apart from that, no complaints. Our A/C and hot water worked and that's all we wanted, in addition to a bed to sleep in. The hostel is in a good location with helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veedub72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2008

X-plorer hostel is in a central location just off the main street in Kota Kinabalu. The rooms are basic with aircon and fan, have comfortable beds. The shared bathrooms were clean, communal area had a small tv and dvd player but no internet.

The hostel serves basic breakfast of toast with tea and coffee. Staff are helpful and will locate trips information and have a small collection of books to borrow.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.2 mi away
SKYPOD Hostel
SKYPOD Hostel
#1 of 112 in Kota Kinabalu
135 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to X-Plorer Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X-Plorer Backpackers

Address: Floor No 106 108 1st | Jalan Gaya,, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £10 - £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — X-Plorer Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our warm and friendly home-stay. “A HOME AWAY FROM HOME”. We are ideally in the heart of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah (popularly known as Borneo). Fifteen minutes ride from Kota Kinabalu International Airport. Come and experience with us, our very own comfortable and clean environmental lodging house complete with a living room, five common toilets cum hot/cold water shower rooms, a unique mini garden and a balcony area made cozy for your leisure that you well deserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your X-Plorer Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing