We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for Sunday Market.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
X-Plorer Backpackers
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I was here for second times. I came back with my family during second times visit.
It was under renovation. It was dusty anywhere.

Hope that it would be improved after the renovation.

the first time when I was here, there were friendly staffs, and the floor was clean everyday. This is why I bring my family to stay here during my second time vist.

Overalll it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcitymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

The hostel is situated in the heart of KK city, between Jesselton point and Wawasan Terminal. Walking distance to most of the eating outlet, shopping mall, and other hotspot. The room is clean with all the basic necessity and it's value for money. The staff is nice and friendly as well. It may be slightly noisy becos it's near to BB cafe with live music show at night.

Room Tip: Rooms near the main street will be more quite except on Sunday becos of the Gaya street market
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tieneit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

all is summarized in the title!
the location is difficult to find in jalan gaya but once found, it is not bad and convenient. Rooms are clean, bed linens are clean, showers are clean - quite rare in today's backpackers !
It was not a problem to book tours via the hostel. I highly recomment NOT to do the kinabalu park and hot springs, just a waste of time and money.
Staff are friendly but sometimes, they do not reply directly to your questions. They speak in Malay together (the white lady + other staff) and then reply to you. I found it so rude to exclude you from the conversation !!!
But overall it was positive

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kouala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

X-plorer Backpackers is easy to find in a central location. The reception is manned 24/7 and the reception staff were always on hand to open the door, as per their security policy (no hostel guest has key access to the front entry door). We got a free airport pick-up with a running commentary of the area by the driver, which was cool! Staff were always friendly and helpful, one staff member had no idea about local and longer distance buses which was annoying as we needed assistance getting to Sepilok.

Our room wasn't too bad, quite large with great A/C. I did however use my own sleeping bag liner as the sheets didn't look to appealing. Unfortunately our room didn't have a window and only had a fluorescent strip light for illumination (stumbling in the darkness to find the light switch in the morning!). The en-suite bathroom wasn't cleaned during our 3 night stay and the only ventilation it had was to the shared toilets adjacent.

The breakfast provided was rubbish, as is sadly common in Malaysia (we kept finding). White bread, plastic margarine, powdered 3 in 1 coffee and tea bags. The common area & breakfast room was good and bright with views over the square. The free Wifi is a welcomed bonus.

Overall this place is alright for a couple of nights - friendly but no frills. On our return visit to KK was were recommended to stay in Lavender Lodge which was more comfortable and a more pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mlinaqetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

this small hotel is not suitable for old people cause you need to climb steep staircases everywhere.

Room Tip: try to get rooms with attached bathroom-privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winter_Love520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stumbled here by chance an I'm glad we did! Extremely clean! Lovely room with large double bed, very comfy! Aircon and fan! Clean toilets and showers! Coffee availae all day. Lively communal area with tv and small library! Fast wifi and most of all genuinely nice and helpful staff! Was in a great location to explore kk, will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinkpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

The response by the hostel is very prompt. Information needed for my climb to Mount Kinabalu was provided quickly. I really appreciated that.

Upon arrival, Alban (the person in charge) came and fetched us as arranged.

The stay was good, the room for 3 is kinda unique as there's an attic where there are two more mattress. The only downside is after the climb, we do have a bit of problem of climbing up and that's what Alban has pre-empt us. But overall its good.

The room cleaniless was alright as we can see that the cleaner will clean it everyday (the common area)

Overall its a good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurposefulTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.6 mi away
Storytel Kota Kinabalu
Storytel Kota Kinabalu
#26 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
#8 of 128 in Kota Kinabalu
155 reviews
1.2 mi away
SKYPOD Hostel
SKYPOD Hostel
#1 of 128 in Kota Kinabalu
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to X-Plorer Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X-Plorer Backpackers

Address: Floor No 106 108 1st | Jalan Gaya,, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £10 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — X-Plorer Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our warm and friendly home-stay. “A HOME AWAY FROM HOME”. We are ideally in the heart of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah (popularly known as Borneo). Fifteen minutes ride from Kota Kinabalu International Airport. Come and experience with us, our very own comfortable and clean environmental lodging house complete with a living room, five common toilets cum hot/cold water shower rooms, a unique mini garden and a balcony area made cozy for your leisure that you well deserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your X-Plorer Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing