We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really a budget hostel at a very strategic place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
X-Plorer Backpackers
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really a budget hostel at a very strategic place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

The room rate is extremely cheap for a private aircon room with shared bathroom. Less than rm70 a day, even for four pax. Totally worth it.

Remember to wear ur shoes or Slippers when u come out from the room else your feet gets dirty quite easily. Our room is only on first floor, so no need to climb many staircases.

Remember to bring toiletries and bring a bag when you are going to bath to keep your clothes as there is only one or two hanger in the toilet. There are four shared bathrooms so no need to wait long for a shower.

Taxi fare from airport is rm30, up to four passenger. Remember to get a KK street map from Sabah tourism board opposite hotel sixty3. Very useful.

Locate at gaya street, easy access to some nice local food.

Recommend the old cafe beside gaya street zenQ dessert. The siew pau, egg tart, polo bun, big pau, etc thr are very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YeongSPing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    17
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
1
14
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We did stay here two separate nights. We did make a reservation by mail without down payment.

The room did had a second floor but we did not use that. The best thing about the hostel is the en-suited room for only 80RM (20euro) a night.
The air-condition had only two settings: on or off, a little too cold to sleep or far too hot to sleep.
The reception was not always open.
The shower was placed partly above the toilet. The room did not had windows.
The breakfast was poor. Only white bread with jam and instant café (3in1). The first morning we could take the breakfast on same floor as the room. The second time they did open their brand new restaurant next door at the main street. Still white bread with jam and instant café but we could buy more if we wanted to. And we did not need to do the dishes anymore.
The location of the hostel is in the city center, But the down pit of this, and the main minus of the hostel, is the (open air) karaoke bar close by. This means we did hear till midnight bad singers.

Tip: bring a map for the taxi-drivers because they did not knew the place. GPS: 5.983431 / 116.076828

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Xplorer Backpackers is conveniently located at Jalan Gaya and we stayed there 2 days after descending Mount Kinabalu.

Pros:-
1. Super friendly staff especially the receptionist. Great hospitality and eager to help or arrange matters. I had pre-booked a rafting expedition to RiverBug before arriving at KK but had some information mix-up and they called up RiverBug to assist.
2. Breakfast is provided at super early 5am upon request. It may be toast and coffee but it's wonderful to have this service before the rafting expedition later in the day.
3. Convenient location at Jalan Gaya. Around this street is the weekend market, the pier with the night seafood stalls, many shopping malls and many local eateries, convenience shops and bakeries all within walking distance of 5 to 10 minutes.
4. Clean and comfortable room (had a double bed with a bunk bed) with ceiling fan and air conditioning for an affordable price. Space for packing and unpacking a little bit cramped.

Cons:-
1. Euro 2012 was being held while we were staying at the hotel. The footballs fans at the local 24 hour eatery (nasi kandar) nearby was cheering occasionally throughout the night. Quite unfortunate so stay away during football season or if you are a light sleeper
2. Lack of soap at the wash basin. Totally understand that toiletries are not provided but definitely not liquid soap.
3. Insufficient amount of communal toilets (with shower). I count about 3 on one side of the building only.

Overall it was a great place to stay and I would gladly be here again (non-footie season)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Screw_Loose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I was here for second times. I came back with my family during second times visit.
It was under renovation. It was dusty anywhere.

Hope that it would be improved after the renovation.

the first time when I was here, there were friendly staffs, and the floor was clean everyday. This is why I bring my family to stay here during my second time vist.

Overalll it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcitymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, MY
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

The hostel is situated in the heart of KK city, between Jesselton point and Wawasan Terminal. Walking distance to most of the eating outlet, shopping mall, and other hotspot. The room is clean with all the basic necessity and it's value for money. The staff is nice and friendly as well. It may be slightly noisy becos it's near to BB cafe with live music show at night.

Room Tip: Rooms near the main street will be more quite except on Sunday becos of the Gaya street market
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tieneit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

all is summarized in the title!
the location is difficult to find in jalan gaya but once found, it is not bad and convenient. Rooms are clean, bed linens are clean, showers are clean - quite rare in today's backpackers !
It was not a problem to book tours via the hostel. I highly recomment NOT to do the kinabalu park and hot springs, just a waste of time and money.
Staff are friendly but sometimes, they do not reply directly to your questions. They speak in Malay together (the white lady + other staff) and then reply to you. I found it so rude to exclude you from the conversation !!!
But overall it was positive

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kouala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

X-plorer Backpackers is easy to find in a central location. The reception is manned 24/7 and the reception staff were always on hand to open the door, as per their security policy (no hostel guest has key access to the front entry door). We got a free airport pick-up with a running commentary of the area by the driver, which was cool! Staff were always friendly and helpful, one staff member had no idea about local and longer distance buses which was annoying as we needed assistance getting to Sepilok.

Our room wasn't too bad, quite large with great A/C. I did however use my own sleeping bag liner as the sheets didn't look to appealing. Unfortunately our room didn't have a window and only had a fluorescent strip light for illumination (stumbling in the darkness to find the light switch in the morning!). The en-suite bathroom wasn't cleaned during our 3 night stay and the only ventilation it had was to the shared toilets adjacent.

The breakfast provided was rubbish, as is sadly common in Malaysia (we kept finding). White bread, plastic margarine, powdered 3 in 1 coffee and tea bags. The common area & breakfast room was good and bright with views over the square. The free Wifi is a welcomed bonus.

Overall this place is alright for a couple of nights - friendly but no frills. On our return visit to KK was were recommended to stay in Lavender Lodge which was more comfortable and a more pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mlinaqetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bunk Gaya Street
The Bunk Gaya Street
#16 of 98 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jesselton Cabin
Jesselton Cabin
#21 of 98 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asia Adventure Lodge
Asia Adventure Lodge
#59 of 98 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
#11 of 98 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balada
Balada
#32 of 98 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#3 of 98 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to X-Plorer Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X-Plorer Backpackers

Property: X-Plorer Backpackers
Address: Floor No 106 108 1st | Jalan Gaya,, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — X-Plorer Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our warm and friendly home-stay. “A HOME AWAY FROM HOME”. We are ideally in the heart of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah (popularly known as Borneo). Fifteen minutes ride from Kota Kinabalu International Airport. Come and experience with us, our very own comfortable and clean environmental lodging house complete with a living room, five common toilets cum hot/cold water shower rooms, a unique mini garden and a balcony area made cozy for your leisure that you well deserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your X-Plorer Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing