We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible venue for conference” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Borneo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Borneo Hotel
Ranked #66 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible venue for conference”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Room are clean but space limited. Great for shopping.
Terrible experience of having conference at ball room, the rooms are not sound proof as we able to heard loud noise from other function carrying out next door. PA system really bad, some mic sounds robotic and keep having feedback to the sounds system.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RevoWithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    148
    91
    43
    24
See reviews for
58
68
17
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

This hotel became my business center for 2 weeks and surprisingly suit my utmost convenience. Along with its convenient location, the hotel also offers a wide range of services and facilities to the guests.

The hotel staff are by far the nicest I have encountered since I can remember.

I loved the room, the rooms are small but were perfect for what we were happy with.

Wide variety of local and western food. Buffet line was satisfying. Express lunch set was a nice touch.

A thoroughly enjoyable stay - the very warm, friendly and inviting service is definitely the most positive aspect of this hotel. It is not close to the city center, but is an interesting walk through the shopping mall to get and is very reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Deluxe room. Facing Mount Kinabalu. Also, glass wall separating bathroom and bedroom always classy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDullman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We booked the Gallery Room for 4 nights at S$59 per night through Agodo. When we checked in they upgraded us to a Superior room which was great. The room was clean and spacious. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Breakfast was not included but that was not a problem since there is a mall integrated with the hotel with plenty of restaurants to choose from.
The hotel is located far from the city which is the only drawback but there is a free shuttle to the city center running every 30 min which makes up for it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingislearning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

I wait so long for the check in procedure, there is only two customers check in.

The front desk staff not even let us know our rooms entitled to breakfast when we check in, until the next morning, we asking the staff personally.

The only things good about this hotel is the cleaniless and breakfast also nice.

My cousin held wedding dinner in this hotel and hotel's arrangement went very terrible. No knife prepared while marriage couple prepared for the cake cutting ceremony. Bride stand on the stage for more than 5 or 10 mins, just for waiting for the knife.

Quite number of us feel very walm during the wedding dinner and leakage for table 1. My cousin was very disappointed with the wedding dinner.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candle_haha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

I like coming over and over to this hotel because of its ambiance, not that up to 5 star but still worthy of money to pay. The food are nice and the waiter/waitress are friendly to me.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojimy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Recently i brought a crew of film shooting crew from Taiwan, as the first time user to KK hotel, i found the staffs in the East are very friendly, toward the check-in, the car park requests and all others misc requests are basically very accommodating, the room is cosy for the rate we paid..keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vtst67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

I love this hotel, Grand Borneo really grand hotel. All their staff are very friendly, and light hand to assist guests especially older guests.

Room Tip: All room are good actually.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
The Klagan Regency
The Klagan Regency
#58 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#48 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
#79 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
6.1 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#22 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Borneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Borneo Hotel

Property: Grand Borneo Hotel
Address: D'Borneo Hotel TA-00-01, 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Borneo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Borneo Hotel, a fast growing home-grown brand, makes its debut in the pulsating tropical wonders of Kota Kinabalu. This 325-room property of modern chic deluxe class forms an integral part of the largest mall in Sabah - 1Borneo Hypermall - an entertainment complex with over 400 stores of leisure, entertainment and culinary delights. This international class hotel caters to business travelers as well as holiday makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Grand Borneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing