We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the only good thing”
Review of Grand Borneo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Borneo Hotel
Ranked #62 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I spent one night here due to business meetings. Location is good, easy access to food and shops since it's connected to shopping mall. When I checked in, service at the counter was super slow. Despite all pre arrangements made, I have to wait for about 30 min before I get my key card. There's no wifi in the room, only at public area which I find quite strange when current trend in Malaysia, hotels provide this service complimentary. Only stay here if you have to, otherwise, please find a better option

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizaMSahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Location of the hotel is very strategic, convenient and easy access to nearly everything I needed. Lots of food choices, from fast food to local delights at 1 Borneo Hypermall, which is where Grand Borneo Hotel is situated IN. I did not have time to shop for souvenirs (as it was a really short business trip) yet I did not have to worry because 1 Borneo Hypermall had lots of it! It was a pleasant stay and I wouldn't think twice about booking it again the next time I go to Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Faezah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The staff were relatively friendly but the rooms were awful, and when I asked to change I was offered a worse one. It was ages away from the centre of KK and to be honest I tried to spend as much of my time away from the hotel as possible.

Room Tip: Don't choose one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twiggypip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Convenient location as it is just next to a mall (have access doors straight into the mall). Plenty of taxis waiting as well. Good for travellers that is concentrating in One Borneo area, as travelling from KK city centre to One Borneo is long and tedious, especially in mornings and evening where jams are unavoidable.

Rooms, staff service and breakfast are adequate, not much complaints there. However, the menu selection for breakfast is almost the same every morning, so if staying for few more days, it might get boring. The amenities will not get refilled if they are half-full, but staff are generally helpful and willing to assist at anytime.

One thing to comment is the security and safety measures in the hotel. I dropped off the room card for my roommate at the counter, as she is arriving later than me. There is no verification done or any safety measures done when she pick up the card, she just need to mention the room number. This could be a loophole that can be exploited by others and make me feel a bit uneasy about safety concerns while staying at this hotel. To be fair, I haven't try this out in other hotels, so I don't really know what is the usual practice though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yean88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Probably the worst front office service I ever experienced. Requested to check in early and willing to pay for the upgrade and was told that there is no room available. One quick check with their website indicates that there are rooms available. Shows much on their integrity and business sense.

Anyway, only managed to check in after they called around 2pm-ish. During the queue to check in, they don't even have the courtesy to adhere to the first come first serve basis and let another person to cut queue. Imagine the frustration after waiting so long. When it is finally my turn, the girl checked me in at lower floor instead of the earlier promised higher floors for better view. At that point, I don't even bother to argue as long as I get my room due to the fatigue from the journey and waiting.

Thinking it is finally done but they managed to add to my frustration when I asked to get my luggage from the concierge. The font office girl showed a very reluctant face and lingered around before dragging her feet much reluctantly to open the storage room to retrieve my luggage. What is this? There is a reason why the industry is called hospitality but surely they don't know the meaning.

On a brighter note, the hotel is just next to the 1Borneo Shopping Mall and is very convenient if you just want to go to the mall your entire trip. The room was ok with intermittent air conditioning problem.

For breakfast you have no choice but to eat at the hotel restaurant which offers mediocre buffet selections because the mall only opens at 10AM. No option for ala carte.

Conclusion?
If your trip to KK is just to stay at one place and visit 1Borneo Shopping Mall and eating mediocre breakfast at the hotel then this Grand Borneo Hotel is the perfect choice.

If not then you would fare better with hotels nearer to the center of city.

And no, I definitely would not go back again even if it is complimentary.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chenzhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Had a chance to stay 2D1N. Good and very convenient hotel at fair price. Strategic location, friendly staff, good room condition. Overall is very good and I have a pleasant stay there. Worth of 4 star and recommended for family vacation and business trip. Might stay again in the future in trip to KK.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Mohd Farhan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Just completed the few nights stay in this hotel. Immediate access to the mall, room is very welcoming - clean and comfortable, so does the bathroom. Staff is helpful and friendly. Nothing much to complain about except that finding a parking space is kinda hard especially during weekends, but that's not much of a problem for us. Will pick this hotel to stay again in future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngeL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
The Klagan Regency
The Klagan Regency
#68 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
843 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#35 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
247 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
336 reviews
0 mi away
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
#78 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
100 reviews
6 mi away
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Sabah Oriental Hotel
#43 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Borneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Borneo Hotel

Address: D'Borneo Hotel TA-00-01, 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £22 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Borneo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Borneo Hotel, a fast growing home-grown brand, makes its debut in the pulsating tropical wonders of Kota Kinabalu. This 325-room property of modern chic deluxe class forms an integral part of the largest mall in Sabah - 1Borneo Hypermall - an entertainment complex with over 400 stores of leisure, entertainment and culinary delights. This international class hotel caters to business travelers as well as holiday makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Borneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing