We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Perfect!

Open water course with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife. Jack was a super helpful and professional... read more

Reviewed 24 September 2020
JSJ0689
great vibe

We did our OWC here with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife at Gaya Island, and just a few weeks after, we... read more

Reviewed 23 September 2020
4T2GO
Read all 1,489 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kota Kinabalu
from US$53.16
More Info
from US$700.00
More Info
Reviews (1,489)
Filter reviews
1,489 results
Traveller rating
1,361
102
16
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,361
102
16
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gaya island dive center open water scuba diving these guys dive course fish fun dives whole team went smoothly kinabalu climb sea life great company booking process kinabalu park instructor kerry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 1,489 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2019

We booked the 3 day-2 night stay in the Tabin Wildlife Reserve and the 3 day-2 night snorkel safari stay at the Manukan Island Dive Resort this past Christmas. Both of those were excellent! The staff are all highly knowledgeable and friendly. The accommodations were excellent and we had an amazing trip. We are so glad we booked with "Down Below" and highly recommend them. Thank you for a fantastic experience!

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank Celeste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Owner at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2019

Hi Celeste M, how wonderful to hear your lovely feedback about your trip in Sabah, Borneo. The combination of island stay and snorkel as well as wildlife resort holiday was definitely the perfect Christmas getaway and we are glad that you have enjoyed it. Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back for your next Borneo Holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2019

I used Downbelow for a recent long trip to Malaysia; I did the PADI OW course on Gaya, 3 days of fun diving off both Gaya and Manukan, the multiactivity day on Gaya, Kinabalu park trip, and Mahua Waterfall day trip. The Downbelow team are all lovely people, who always greet you by name from the moment they pick you up from your accomodation, until drop off at the end. They have great attention to detail - when my sizes for scuba gear were established on Day 1 they would always ensure I had the right equipment waiting for me when I turned up. The beach house on Gaya island is idyllic, and the food/drink is a nice touch. A special mention to Matt who taught my OW course, Clarence my scuba guide, Kerry the day trip guide. I would also like to thank Phylicia who was immensely helpful, organised everything and helped me plan our trip by organising a personalised package for myself and my partner.

I would advise people to book Gaya island for diving etc over Manukan, as it's more private, the food is nicer (though you don't get a choice of food) and it feels much more relaxed.

Would highly recommend Downbelow to anyone looking for diving/snorkelling/trips in Kota Kinabalu, and I will definitely use them again in the future.

Date of experience: March 2019
3  Thank jeherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Owner at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2019

Hi Jeherd, we are happy to be able to provide you with a most enjoyable trip! Our experienced tour consultant strives to deliver a punctual service to all our clients, glad that you can feel our professionalism throughout your tour. Both Kerry and Phylicia are delighted to know you have commended them greatly for making your trip memorable. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2019

I have just come back from a 2 week trip to Borneo. A 3 day/2night Kinabatangan river cruise with Downbelow was a highlight of my trip. From my initial enquiry communication was great. Our guide Eddie looked after us very well. The time on the river was really relaxing and we were very lucky and got to see lots of wildlife including a pygmy elephant and wild orangutans . I stayed in the Myne resort which was beautiful, great location and lovely staff. I would happily recommend Downbelow as everything was really well-organised and the staff were really keen that people enjoyed their experience.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank amtob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Owner at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2019

Hi Amtob, thank you for your wonderful review. One of our objectives when creating a tailor made itinerary for our clients is making every destination a highlight and we are glad that this has shown through during your trip with us. We are able to deliver a delightful service for you thanks to our amazing and long term relationship with partner lodges in the east coast of Sabah. We are so happy that you enjoyed your whole trip and will definitely convey your thoughts to Eddie at Myne resort as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2019

What a truly amazing experience we had on our recent Borneo trip arranged through 'Down Below'. Thanks so much to all the team. We booked over six months before our trip and they made the whole process so easy. They tweaked the itinerary to suit everything we wanted to do in the time we had available. They were pleasant and helpful throughout and kept us informed of every detail. A real pleasure to do business with the team.
However, if we thought the booking experience was good...nothing could have prepared us for the trip itself! Every dream we ever had came true - and more!
We had a four day/three night trip visiting Sellingan Island, The Kinabatangan River & Gomatong Caves.
Our guide was amazing as were the other local guides & boatmen who joined us for various parts of our trip. We saw a huge amount of amazing flora & fauna - most of which we would have missed without the knowledge of our excellent guides.
The accommodation was all beautiful and the staff at the resorts so pleasant and helpful. Food and facilities were all great.
We can not praise and thank everyone enough for giving us the trip of a lifetime and we so hope we can one day return.
Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Manager at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2019

Andy L, wow what amazing words you have put out for us! Looks like you have said it all for us and all we can say is thank you, thank you and thank you too! It’s been such a pleasure planning your holiday and accommodating your stay. We look forward welcoming you again! Thank you so much for your time to review us and we wish you the best. Til we meet again, have a great one.

Best,
Natt & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2019

We had arranged 3 trips with Downbelow, prior to arriving in KK. The communication and organisation of these in advance were seamless and very professional.
1. Our first trip was the multi activity trip to Gaya Island. This included a non-guided trek, snorkelling and kayaking. However, we were able to change things up and we ended up snorkelling twice instead. Thanks to Rudolf for our transfers and Clarence for a great day of snorkeling.
2. Our second trip was a private tour with Rudolf our driver and Kerry our guide. We were picked up from our hotel and headed to Kinabalu Park. Stopped on the way for photos of Mt Kinabalu and great little market in Nabalu.Kinabalu Park and the Botanical Gardens were beautiful and we learnt so much from Kerry as we walked through the gardens. We enjoyed a local lunch and then went to the Poring Hot Springs. We didn't use the actual hot springs, but did the 40 metre high canopy walk! Then to finish off, walked to the beautiful and cooling waterfall. The highlight definitely was being fortunate to see the Rafflesia in full bloom on a property outside the Hot Springs. So many thanks for such a fun day with Kerry and Rudolf.
3. Third trip was a day out to Sandakan. On arrival, we met by Robert the guide and Moses our driver. Robert was fantastic and we really enjoyed our day with them. We went firstly to Sepilok to see the Orangutans and then headed out to see the Proboscis monkeys (which were my personal favourites!). Then after a nice lunch, went back to see the Sun Bears and Orangutans again at Sepilok.

Overall, the service was exceptional with everything on time and ran to schedule. A very professional company that made us not worry about a thing before or during our trips. Also a big thank you to Phylicia who arranged all three of our trips!

Highly recommended!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank DessieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Manager at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2019

Hi DessieMelbourne, thank you so much for your kind review. Your program has been tailored to suit your preference and budget and it’s a wholesome program covering the island, Kinabalu Park and the world renowned Sepilok Orang Utan Centre in Sandakan. It’s been such a pleasure planning your holiday and accommodating you here in Borneo. Everyone from the member of staff you have met throughout your program are trained and had the best interest in heart to help you make the most enjoyable and memorable holiday here in Borneo. We are very happy to read that resonated.

There is much more to explore in Borneo and we hope that it won’t be too long until we get to say hello again.

Best,
Natt & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews