We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cockroach nation”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Tang Dynasty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tang Dynasty Hotel
Ranked #82 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Labuan Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cockroach nation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Pros:
- Free overnight basement parking
- Attach to the shopping mall

Cons:
- See the title of this review
- The towels are dirty. Fresh clean towels are suppose to be white
- Carpet smells
- Poor helpdesk service. No point mentioning additional request to receptionist, they will mess it up

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    16
    9
    28
See reviews for
20
6
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Baru Bangi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

The only good thing is its spacious room

Other thing completely bad:

You've to pay RM15/day for wifi access.

Door access card given not functioning, only my 3rd call answered by receptionist whom promised will send a new one . Then have to wait 20 minutes for the replacement card.

Room carpet smelly.

Counter staff also rude, slow & don't have a human sense i think.

Compliment breakfast terrible & dirty..maybe they just ordered it at a road side.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank idx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

A terrible experience. We were placed here as an accomodation facility for the training that we we conducting in KK. The 2nd hotel in my life that we have to push the concierge trolley by ourselves to the room with the front desk not being bothered at all. The front desk was not helpful in any way. We have to arrange our own transport to the Airport. What Dynasty are they talking about, where service s concern, not fit to be called a hotel. Smelly towel... I wonder if the Management really understand what the word Hotel and Customer Service means. Actually I would rate this hotel as no star and no words to describe...

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank zainulmukhtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuidlaren, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Unfortunately i didn't check tripadvisor before we booked this hotel.
We asked for a non smoking room, but we got dirty and smelly rooms. First they said the non smoking floor was under construction. We didnot accept and at last we got 2 rooms in the non- smoking area.These rooms were sufficient. The other floors in the hotel looked dirty and poor.
The hotel staff is very slow in chech-in: we had a reservation, but it took 1/2 hour to check in.
They couldn't help us with ( touristic) information about Kota Kiabalu, despite this hotel is in central of the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cath1361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Please avoid at all costs.

Reasons:
1. The hotel is infested with cockroaches! Had to change my room 3 times before i got a decent one.... only to find cockroaches on the wall.
2. Food is both bland and horrible.
3. Staff are lacking in politeness and are slow in check-in, resulting in delays and queues
4. The towels smell
5. Didn't happen to me, but a friend of mine recently stayed here and was shocked to find the room had not been cleaned. Was given a new room but the impression stays.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thedarkhorse_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Even though the rates this hotel offering is much cheaper than any other 3/4 star hotel around KK, I truly not recommended anyone to stay at the super duper terrible hotel. Not only the hotel staff is rude but also no sense of professionalism at all. I've stayed at few budget hotel around kk before and even without any star rating they never fail to statist me with their honesty and warmth. We waited for 4hours just for the towel and that daughter of a b**** told me, is none of their problem if the housekeeping late and we (the guest) need to tolerate  everything..the bathroom? Was dirty, smelly and I'm sure they never bother to clean it properly (someone leftover is still floating when we check in) I'm about to leave the hotel but all hotel around kk is fully booked and lead us with no choice..let's banned this "s******hotel, not worth a penny at all. . I hope they go down soon, they ruining the image of good hotel practice.. Totally bad..nothing good come from this hotel..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AngryBird86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandakan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

booked this hotel through the hotel website with attractive rate and i paid it all during the booking.
we arrived at the before the check-in time and the hotel main door was undergone some renovation and the way blocked by the building materials so car cant drive up to main door.
bad thing is no one help us to carry the heavy luggage and we got to carry it all the way from the road side to the hotel lobby!

after we put down our luggage and came back few hours later. we able to check in smoothly i guess. but apprarently not!! once we opened the hotel room, it was still in mess. oh my god, we're suspecting ourselves enter people's room. but how come we can open up with the door key provided?

after long investigation, we came out with a conclusion that the hotel room not yet cleaned up after the previous guests checked out! omg, this is the first time i met this situation. then we quickly rushed to the lobby and told the staff. the staff just answered us that it was a mistake, he should have gave us other room key.
WHAT A BIG MISTAKE I EVER SEEN BEFORE!

If not i've paid all and the money is not refundable. i think i will leave the hotel as quickly as i can.
i promised myself that i won't return to this hotel anymore. the front desk staffs overall are very impolite and no manners!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ject83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
7.5 mi away
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
#36 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Street Inn
High Street Inn
#71 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#29 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mandarin Hotel
Mandarin Hotel
#15 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wah May Hotel
Wah May Hotel
#72 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#42 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tang Dynasty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tang Dynasty Hotel

Property: Tang Dynasty Hotel
Address: Lot 1-1, Tang Dynasty Hotel Lorong Plaza Wawasan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tang Dynasty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing