We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nothing to do nearby” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuaran Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tuaran Beach Resort
Ranked #59 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nothing to do nearby”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

Before we booked the trip we noted on the hotel website that the resort was 45 mins from Kota Kinabalu.
It was actually 1hr 15 mins away so travelling this distance with young children after a flight of two hours was not ideal.
There is nothing to do at the hotel and only country roads if you step outside. The road leading to the resort was full of potholes so every journey that you ventured out on meant a nice bumpy ride back.
The chalet was clean but there were no cooking facilities save a kettle for making tea and coffee. The staff at the restaurant were helpful and did make some dishes that we requested.
In the evenings there is a pub on site however there was nobody in there, as the resort was really quiet.
We did do a horse ride which was pleasant however the beach is not very clean and there were a few stray dogs around.
We were out most days doing day trips so we didn't feel too lonely but there is nothing for children to do apart from the swimming pool.
The return trip to the airport was interesting- we organised transfers via the hotel. they advised us to leave at a certain time.We weren't told of a pick up on the way (which lasted around 30 mins) and we arrived at the airport around one hour before take off. This was a very stressful end to our holiday and I would not recommend booking transfers with the hotel or even the hotel itself.
Luckily we did not miss our flight but no thanks to the hotel transfer!
The decking on the pool was also being changed when we were there so the noise was very loud!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharmaji66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    11
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
5
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
nature lovers
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

We are a mature couple from Perth, Western Australia ,and had booked the trip on the spur of the moment as a 13-day-package tour through goseetouring in Queensland. It was our first package tour ever (we hate being locked into a pile of other tourists) and crossed our fingers that all would be well. The resort shuttle bus (small) picked us up from the airport in Kota Kinabalu on time. The reception was very pleasant - like meeting an old friend; the room spacious, clean, comfortable with a complimentary basket of exotic fruit. The servicing of the room was daily, non intrusive and efficient. The service in the diningroom excellent and the meals were good and affordable. The beach is ok (nothing like Westaustralien beaches); the pool a good swimming size and always clean and well looked after. Cosy happy hour at the pool bar. Our prebooked touring was marvellous, worked like clockwork , pick up and drop off again at the resort and most of the time it was just us and a driver and / or guide who was knowledgible about culture ,flora and fauna and was very accomodating in respect of our interests. Watch the most stunning sunsets from the comfort of your own balcony.
We had a great time and feel that this resort has a very comfortable and cosy ambience. To us it felt like a home away from home .

Stayed August 2009
Helpful?
3 Thank ceria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

Such a shame. We chose this place for our last couple of days for the horse riding on the beach (which was great by the way. They really looked after me although I'm still a bit saddle sore!)

The resort itself was a bit of a disappointment .. it needed a good spruce up and it looked like the staff and given up, although they we very helpful.

The rooms we good and the pool was nice but they we re-doing the pool decking so there were power tools going all day .. also the were re-varnishing the reception floor!

All this was bearable .. but .. as night came, so did the big flying bugs! Now, I know this is Borneo and I expect a few bugs .. but 2" by 1" dive bombers that kept ricochetting off the ceiling fans was not fun. If anyone knows what they are .. please let me know!!

The place was very quiet and we really felt sorry for the couples that had booked 2 weeks ... I wish I could say it was better ..

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2008

my family and i stayed in one of the 3 bedroom chalets at Tuaran Beach Resort last month and had a terrific time. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The pool area is nice and the whole vibe at the hotel is very relaxing and low key.
We took the all inclusive package which was great value and included all our meals and drinks! I have included a couple of photos of the hotel too.
We popped our heads into the normal hotel wing and the rooms in there looked very comfy too, lots of space.

  • Liked — the laid back atmosphere and the friendly staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank havetotravelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
0.0 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Klagan Regency
The Klagan Regency
#58 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beringgis Beach Resort
Beringgis Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Kinarut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sabah Beach Villas & Suites
Sabah Beach Villas & Suites
#30 of 96 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuaran Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuaran Beach Resort

Property: Tuaran Beach Resort
Address: Off Jln Pantai Dalit, Jalan Sabandar | PO Box 242,Tuaran, Kota Kinabalu 89208, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tuaran Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Also Known As:
Tuaran Beach Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing