We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tuaran Beach Resort
Ranked #63 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Like others, having read earlier reviews, we were hesitant about the hotel, but in the event our concerns were unfounded.

We travelled with SAGA and found the organisation very good. The journey to/from Kota Kinabalu is long and tiring, but the provision of a day room at the Sheraton in Brunei was most welcome. The local representatives Melanie and Gilbert were both knowledgeable and very helpful. In the two weeks we were there we don't recall them not being around if we needed them (which we didn't!).

The hotel will not win any awards for its food, but having said that there was plenty of choice and what we had was good; a mixture of Malay and western food. The pizza's in the pool bar at lunchtime were great. The hotel's biggest asset was the staff; always smiling. always friendly, always very attentive. It is the only hotel we have stayed at where, when we were leaving, all the staff gathered in reception to say goodbye. You could tell this was genuine sentiment and not a management directive.

Our room was very comfortable with excellent air conditioning. We had a TV with BBC World, a fridge and tea making facilities - fresh milk was available from the main restaurant. Every morning we were left two bottles of water, which were replenished as necessary when housekeeping came back in the evening to turn down the beds.

We tended to sit on the beach where we had the benefit of a cool breeze, but the pool area was also nice to sit around. We walked down the beach in both directions - an hour out and back each time -other than other guests doing the same walk we saw no-one apart from a couple of lads fishing in the sea and some horses.

The hotel is quite remote and this makes it a great place to relax; there is certainly no heavy night life, just a duo singing most nights who were very nice to listen to. The hotel provides a shuttle bus into Kota Kinabalu several times a day, another into Tuaran Village and one on Sundays to the local horse racing course. With the included SAGA tours there were only five days out of the two weeks that we did not have something planned for at least part of the day. If you are a bird watcher then remember to take some binoculars.

The hotel has no money changing facilities to change some at the airport on the way in. It does have free WIFI in reception which we used to talk to our family over the internet regularly.

We didn't make the trip to Sepilok to see the Orang-utans as it would have been a very long day and quite expensive. Instead Melanie organised for us to go a neighbouring hotel, the Rasa Ria, which has its own small Oran tang sanctuary attached to Sepilok. It was brilliant; we saw more Oran-utans than those that actually made the long trip to Sepilok!

In summary we had a great time. The hotel is quiet and basic; more three star than five star. The food will not get any Michelin stars, but is more than adequate with lots of choice. There is plenty to see and do from the hotel if you are prepared to make the effort. The staff are fantastic. We would (and probably will) go again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue_Paul_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2010

was a little worried by some poor reviews before we left but had a wonderful holiday. The staff were all friendly and helpful, within a couple of days they had memorised our room numbers and drinks preferences and loved to chat and joke with us. The food was delicious there were 3 separate menus but you could mix and match by taking any course from any of the 3 menus not a facility I have been offered anywhere else. The girls in the animation team were always around but never pushy, happy to just chat or to teach you local games such as mah jong.A few insect bites but no more than in any other exotic resort. all in all highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adnilSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Having read the reviews just before leaving for our trip to tuaran beach resort was a bit dubious as to what we would find, but need'nt of worried we had a brilliant time. This was our first trip with Saga and our first visit to Borneo. Saga was well organised from meeting us at the airport in u.k. and throughout our trip. The stop over in bruni was well organised, giving you chance to have a shower, lunch and look around the area and it also broke up the journey. Bruni airlines were also very good, always coming round with cold drinks and the food was good to. The hotel is slightly old, but was kept very clean and tidy. Staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. Melanie Fred and George (Saga reps) were always around and very helpfull .with local knowledge. All saga trips included in the price were again all very good. Try the horse racing on sunday afternoon at the nearby local race course, its good for a laugh. Food at the hotel again we found very good, plenty to choose from and always hot. The only advice I would give is to change your money before you go or at the airport, as the hotel does'nt change money, so we had to go into town which takes about 45 minutes in a taxi (cost about £20 return). All in all we had a brillant holiday and would go back again and would recommend you give it a try. Happy holidays.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
Thank froglincolnuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Prepare for a bumpy ride as the road leading to this resort is full of potholes. This is not your typical fun-filled resort. But it has its own strong points and they are tranquility, serenity and peace.

The first thing that struck us as we stepped out of the car at the hotel's porch is its hospitality. We were greeted with friendly handshakes and warm smiles - a good start. These simple gestures speak volumes about East Malaysia. Try as we might, we couldn’t recall receiving such treatment from the hotels in West Malaysia that we've been to.

Checking-in was a breeze. The grounds are big and it was quite a walk to our room but we were escorted all the way there by a cheerful and lovely customer services staff. We were given a big room with balcony facing the sea, a field and the swimming pool. What a lovely view!

There may not be much activity within the resort, but a counter at the lobby will happily make arrangements for guided tours to tourist spots like Kinabalu Park, Poring Hot Spring, Klias Firefly River Cruise, etc. We found this convenient. There's also a stable in the resort for those who are game for horseback riding on the beach. The beach in front of the hotel is long and stretches as far as the eyes could see.

After the day's outing at the mountains, we came back at night to the hotel for a massage. Unfortunately, the Lemongras Spa was already closed and was told that they would remain open if we've had make prior arrangements. Anyway, the next morning's 1½ hour massage we got at the beach hut was worth it.

We have no complaints about the food in the restaurant. We like the local Sabah Tea, which tastes naturally great by itself without milk and sugar.

If you want a nice, quiet and peaceful place away from the bustling city, then this may just be the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ufonious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

we checked out the brochure online and read the reviews. Decided to give the place the benefit of the doubt..... I won't call this place a resort but a retirement holiday camp for elderly people. Free the horses for heaven sake or do something about the place. If you have teenage kids and looking for lively and entertainment activities, go to Rasa Ria..otherwise best stay away!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Sorry - this is quite a long review!!! Forget all the rubbish reviews that I have just read. Go on and enjoy a fabulous holiday. Everyone's experiences are different and everyones expectations of holidays are different. Some people will never be happy.! We saw only one dog, and walking on the beach was fine and safer than anywhere we have ever been. If you got lucky you could see monkeys on the beach. (as a hint - go about 10.30 a.m.) Swimming in the sea is glorious. I didn't actually see any jelly-fish, but its just common sense to look out for them and get on with swimming. We were there for three weeks and I went swimming twice a day and never saw one. Its not the end of the world if you get stung anyway - the pool bar has a vinegar solution at the read in case of any accidents. If you can ride horses the experience of riding along the long beach must be wonderful. We wanted to do it but in three weeks did not simply ran out of time because we needed a relaxing break and did just that. We will ride next time. Yes there will be a next time. Quite apart from anything else the staff made the holiday perfect. We wanted to bring them all home with us. The food was the best we have ever had in any resort ever. Value for money was extraordinarily brilliant. We went for three weeks. Next year we want to return to do the rain forest tour and then go back to Tuaran Beach resort to rest and relax for another two weeks, and to enjoy their exquisite cuisine. Yes we did get bitten by loads of mosquitoes, but thats because we chose to sit under a tree in the dappled light so as not to get too burnt in the very fierce sunshine. We also probably stupidly did not cover ourselves in the awful smelling mosquito protection spray. Now that we are home the mosquito bites are settling down and I suppose that the mosquito bites were the ONLY negative thing. Next time we go we will buy one of those bracelets that prevent mosquitoes from even trying to bite, so that would be a recommendation to anyone. They sell them in the shop at the resort, but it might be better to get one before you leave home. I didn't find out about his possibility until the last few days. Everywhere was clean, and there WERE notices to say that you should shower before jumping in the pool. I admit that if I had just had a shower in my room or a swim in the sea I did not shower before going into the pool, but we witnessed the pool being cleaned regularly in the evenings. There is a changing room by the pool where there were four showers and lots of people would prefer to use those privately rather than shower by the pool. I admit that some people would simply get up and jump in the pool without regard for the pool/shower etiquette, but who cares in a pool full of water that there might be some sweat amongs the water. It makes me cross to see so many bad reviews for a place that clearly deserves more praise. The Rasa Ria in the next bay is stunning, and of course if you can afford it would probably offer far more. One of the things that was very refreshing at the Tuaran Beach was that there is absolutely no hastle from people on the beach. Nobody lined up in front of the perimiter wall trying to sell you saris, cigarettes or get you to photograph their monkeys or simply claim poverty and ask for money or sweets. I have never slept in a more comfortable bed, never enjoyed such good food on a holiday, but wherever we go the east we always have staff that are friendly. Its great, and if you want any more feedback I would be glad to give it. Another thing that was great was that there is a box for tips in the pool bar, in the restaurant and in the pantile bar, so you can put your tips in them and know that they are being divided fairly between all the staff and the "backstage" staff. You can't tip everyone individually, so this is the most fair way of doing it. In other resorts that we have been to you notice that on the last two days of your holiday there is much "fawning" going on as the staff try to be in your favour for tips, which somewhat spoils the relationship you have built up over the weeeks on holiday, but the way it is done in the Tuaran Beach resort is fair to everyone. The staff all line up to say farewell to those who are leaving and I cried when I left because they were all so special. I believe that we will be booking up again quite soon for next year. I need to lose some of the weight I put on during the holiday though because of such an excellent choice of food. We went with SAGA (send a granny away) and think they are brilliant. We went to the Tangerine Beach resort in Sri Lanka last year (also with SAGA) and had a similarly lovely experience with all the staff especially the saga rep - Adrian. The Saga rep this time was Melanie and she was brilliant too. I would thoroughly recommend this resort for people who just want to "chill out". There is no "animation team" in your faces all the time, but things to do are available if you want to join in. You just have to look. We were unhasstled and relaxed for three straight weeks of glorious food and sunshine and simply relaxing. I''m sorry, I haven't any photos to share. but could sort some out if you want to see them. We decided to not go to Sepilok to see the Orang Utans becsuse it was a long dayand very expensive, and there was not a guarantee that you would actually see them. (Having said that - everyone we knew who went had a brilliant time and saw loads. As an alterniative we paid just 65 ringets to go by taxi (100 ringets) to the Rasa Ria hotel where they have a nature reserve and where you can go and see the documentary film about the work being done to save the orang utans and then you climb up a boardwalk to a feeding platform and we saw three of them playing right in friont of our eyes. They are so special. I recommend going to the zoo at Lockowee if possible because iot is great, and there you will also see some fairly laid back orang utans who are obviously happy. The hotel has a shop where there are two half an hour. This was great and a good link to home if you need one.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TakeiteasyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

The public areas were infested with flesh eating insects. The food, especially the meat, of very poor quality.

The location is very isolated, although there is a good stretch of beach.

Unless you intend to spend your vacation around the pool and walking the beach, could not recommend this facility.

Whilst there was a shower at the poolside, but there was no sign encouraging people to shower before using the pool, consequently very few did. The result was that sweaty bodies, with 100s of open insect bite wounds were using the pool all day.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lackery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.1 mi away
Likas Square Apartment Hotel
Likas Square Apartment Hotel
#24 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
188 reviews
9.2 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,404 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#61 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#21 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
190 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
1.1 mi away
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Sabah Oriental Hotel
#42 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuaran Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuaran Beach Resort

Address: Off Jln Pantai Dalit, Jalan Sabandar | PO Box 242,Tuaran, Kota Kinabalu 89208, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tuaran Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Tuaran Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuaran Beach Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing