We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Restoran Sempelang

Restoran Sempelang
Ranked #363 of 563 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
346 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

I stumbled upon this restaurant at Asia City located at a corner a short a short distance from the main road. This ia a different one stated in the TripAdvisor site which I read ~ mentioned that it was situated in Sinsuran. Plenty of choices and easy to access. Prices are quite high eventhough it is more like a road side stall.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not as good as before”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Their food used to be really good and you won't mind paying more.
But their standard has dropped I guess.
I would rather go to other places that serve better food.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller_SimplyME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“valuable meals, chea, easy to reach, just good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

we love this restaurant, all meals all dine with buffet, we choose what we want to eat, all rice is pay in sum, not counted per each meals.
Example meals we eat, one chicken, 2 vegetable meals, is only RM 5,00. how cheap and the important things is the meals are great and healthy.
when to Kinabalu, should try this restaurant. try their seafood and sambal terasi.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrysutanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bad impression”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We were there for dinner around 9pm and I was shocked to see many uncleared tables. I guess they must be short staffed. Things looked really chaotic. We just sat at one of the tables and waited for the waitress to come and clear away the pile of plates. I wanted mango juice but they didn't have it. We ordered 'ikan bakar' which came to us rather fast, but the fish was cold... awful. After the meal, I noticed people waiting to be seated, but the tables were still left uncleared. What a bad impression this gave to people.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LLS0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not great, just ok”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The service is super slow. The food is not great, just ok.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank noy1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restoran Sempelang also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Restoran Sempelang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing