We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Backpacker's facility”
Review of Summer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summer Lodge
Ranked #86 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Basic Backpacker's facility”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Found this place quite by accident while unexpectedly stuck in KK for one nite.

Security gate with a camera up front was locked and only unlocked by the reception two flights of stairs up. As I didn't want to stay in a dorm after having been in a long rainy trip down from Kota Kinabalu, I asked for and got a private room with an attached bathroom, but no windows.

Check in was pretty straight forward and prompt. Rate was just RM69, including breakfast. The communcal hall was cosy with a television, couches & computers with free internet usage. The entire facility was also provided with free wi-fi which works just fine even in the room. No footwear was allowed which is fine as the place seems pretty well-kept. Smoking is only allowed either on the open rooftop or downstairs.

Room is basic, with a double bed (clean white sheets!) and a side-table, full air-con which you can leave on after leaving. Attached bathroom is of a substantial size with hot/cold shower and the water volume is fantastic. Breakfast is basic, with juice & bread with some jam but its a free-for-all, eat however much you want.

The vibe of this place is pretty laid-back, typical of a backpackers' lodge. A variety of travellers on the way to somewhere. Most of them keep to themselves, with a majority of lone travellers who use the free internet to book connecting trips. A tour desk in the lodge is also open in the day, with pretty reasonable prices.

Good place to start off your tour of Borneo, splurge abit for a private room as I heard the common baths & dorms are not as comfy.

Room Tip: Call ahead to check for rooms availability as the location is a pretty good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    1
    13
    8
    16
See reviews for
4
13
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

the lady giving advice here, Betty, was wonderful and friendly. Full of knowledge and real help not just pushing you onto tours. The place was generally unclean and the lodge staff were lazy. the staff responsible for providing service just didn't. You have to ask for clean sheets, towels and don't bother with floor cleaner, bleach or disinfectant buy a bottle of your own if you're staying awhile. IT IS CHEAP! the staff often had friends in who used spare rooms and made noise. But a quick complaint would sort this the next day. They need a good manager here and it could be great!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed here on our World Challenge trip. It is a nice, simple place to stay. The bathrooms and rooms are moderately clean but we didn't really mind as we never spent a lot of time in our rooms. The communal lounge is a nice place to hang out. We talked a lot down there and it had a nice atmosphere. The breakfast was really good; it was mainly just toast but we also got fresh fruit which was tasty! There's a TV and free internet there too which we used a lot of. However, we booked into the Rainforest Lodge after a few nights here and realised that the Rainforest Lodge is a lot nicer for a cheaper price. Between the two lodges, a highly reccomend staying at the Rainforest Lodge! It's about a 10 second walk from Summer Lodge :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilyindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasay, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The accommodation was part of our tour itinerary and there's no way to transfer to another lodge.
Location is good but the service and rooms were not. I got a chance to look inside the other rooms and all were the same -- dirty. The bed sheets and linens are all gray and look really unclean. Well, A/C is ok and you can leave it open while your out. Worst was our last night that the water run out on the whole lodge that we didn't got a chance to clean ourselves before we left for the airport the next day. Imagine the toilet full of ****. I blame the tour agency for choosing this lodge, and i would not recommend this to any backpackers out there. I strolled around the area and there a better lodge nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuloAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

quezon city
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Three things I liked about this hostel: the location, affordability and free wi-fi access. Aside from those I can honestly say that the service and rooms are bad. The staffs are not mindful of the guest nor helpful (save for one girl) and they usually spend their time in front of the telly. And don't be too expectant of the rooms either: the sheets are dirty and one cannot help but doubt if there are other living creatures on the mattress. The bathroom in our room could use some cleaning and bleaching but I think the maintenance did not bother with that part. If you're planning to stay in the Jalan Gaya area (since it's accessible to most parts of the city), you might want to scout other hostels in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Don't trust their offical website photos! This hostel is very dirty and old . When I come up to the hostel , I saw the windows of the stairway were broken. After checked in & go to my room. I saw the rubbish was in the wash basin, all the bed sheets were in grey color, Stains throughout the walls, the toilet flushing and hot shower were out of order. I will not stay in this terrible hostel anymore....... Terrible!Terrible!Terrible!
Finally I changed to stay in ONE CITY HOTEL!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Checked in as I had booked from lonely planet recommendation. Room was dirty and door wouldn't open and close properly. Indifferent attitude by staff so left found somewhere else and returned to claim back my money! They refunded without question. Full of cats wandering around .

Room Tip: Find somewhere cleaner
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JC39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#31 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Street Inn
High Street Inn
#60 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wah May Hotel
Wah May Hotel
#73 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#48 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lucky 11 Hotel
Lucky 11 Hotel
#47 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Lodge

Property: Summer Lodge
Address: 4th Floor Lot 120 2nd, 3rd, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Class:2 star — Summer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Summer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing