We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Jesselton Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jesselton Cabin
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Very unhelpful staff with limited information. Crammed dorms with bedbugs and cockroach and found that although they advertise a laundry service, this is not the case. We instead were (poorly) directed to a local one which stained our clothes. Good location

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizziex1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    37
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
2
27
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights in a private room. The room was big and had a window onto Jalan Gaya but it was quiet enough and I slept well. (compared to a room I had in the BGL next door with a window facing the car park area behind).
The staff were really helpful especially when they helped me receive and send a fax to book a tour. I would have stayed here longer but they were unfortunately full after my tour so I had to move on. I would definitely stay here again if I could.

Room Tip: rooms facing Jalan Gaya are quieter but not on a Sunday when the market will wake you up early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JennyLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Located in the middle of KK's financial spot. Almost everything is within walking distance. The rooms are clean, the living area is clean and comfortable, the wash rooms are clean and well take cared of. More importantly, the staffs are friendly and very very helpful, to say the least.

I've arrived in KK for the first time, alone and with no ideas of what to do and what to see in KK. Thankfully the staffs were there to give me suggestions on what to do while on my 6 day stay.

Will definitely stay here on my next trip to KK =D

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdamsFBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Getting to this place was really easy. From the airport (main terminal), you can take a taxi for RM25.00 . Alternatively, you can also take a mini bus (red/white) and the city bus for only RM1.50 . For the cheap alternative, walk out from the airport. Flag down any minivan or public bus which goes to the city center direction. The vehicle stops at the Bus Station. Hop on to the city bus (yellow/blue air conditioned) which is parked at the side of the station.

Located at the famous Gaya Street but not so noisy. This place is pretty run down but it is quite clean,homely and cozy. The air condition is switched on from 7pm to 7am only. There is a ceiling fan if you are feeling hot. The dorm beds were pretty shaky and the mattress were thin but its still ok for me. Bathrooms were aplenty. There is an outdoor market about 3 minutes walk from the hostel. The living area is good place to meet other travelers. The staff are really friendly especially Joy. No wireless but the free internet on the desktop worked fine but I think they need to upgrade their computer (coming from someone like me who is not really a tech fan).

Jesselton Point which is the ferry terminal for Tunku Abdul Rahman is about 7 minutes walk, depending on how fast you walk. Ask for a speed boat coupon at the hostel counter before you set off to the 5 islands for snorkeling or other acitvities. There will be a discount of RM5.00 . Be sure to rent a set of snorkeling gear (RM10) at Jesselton Point itself before you get on the boat as the islands charges more for the gear. Don't bring too much cash or valuables when you go the islands as they don't provide lockers. For cameras, try to get a waterproof cover so you can bring it everywhere with you even when you snorkel as placing your camera by the beach is not advisable especially when you are a solo traveler.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHAIFULLAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Can't really complain about this place. The rooms are clean , beds comfortable, staff helpful and everything's well-kept. Also the wifi works great. No a/c in the common area, which is unfortunate, but it's cheap and a hostel.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slakjaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2009

It's really a small, cosy and friendly place for backpackers. I love the window where i can look down the street and the yealow leaf trees. Staffs are hospitality and cool.

Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Grass83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We booked online to stay in this hotel 2nights ago,they had advertised having a double room available+took a deposit off us through the website we booked on.We later received an email to confirm they received our deposit but regretted to inform us that they were fully booked+suggested we stay in a different hotel. We read some bad reviews online about the suggested hotel so did not want to stay there....after all if we did we would have booked that hotel in the 1st place!! We went to North Borneo Cabin to get our deposit back but they were very unhelpful.+refused to give it. We at this stage had made other accommodation arrangements+when they learnt of this they were suddenly offering to give us a double room some other person had booked but that they hadnt taken a deposit off! Everything screamed unprofessional+unreliable so id advise any1 thinking of booking this hotel to think again!!

Stayed August 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank andaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#16 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lavender Lodge
Lavender Lodge
#9 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
#10 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
#20 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#3 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B@21
B&B@21
#4 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesselton Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesselton Cabin

Property: Jesselton Cabin
Address: 1st and 2nd Floor, No.74, Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly North Borneo Cabin)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 99 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jesselton Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jesselton Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing