We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location with breakfast included”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jesselton Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jesselton Cabin
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location with breakfast included”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hostel is basic but perfect. It has a great location with included breakfast. If you want to go to the islands in KK, ask in reception and they will provide you with a voucher of a 10 RYM discount on the fare. Rooms are basic but clean. Hot water in showers. Although there aren't lockers for your bags, they have little safes to put your personal belongings but bring a lock with you.

Great place to meet other travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    36
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
2
27
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here back in February 2013 whilst traveling around Asia for 6 months. We stayed here for 3 nights and then travelled the rest of Borneo - we loved it so much here we stayed again when we flew out of KK. We stayed in both the private rooms and dorms when private was unavailable. Both very basic, but you have everything you need here. The shared bathrooms are kept exceptionally clean - and never did I dread having to get up in the middle of the night or early morning to use them.

The breakfast was included in our stay and was sufficient for the beginning of the day :) Always bread and jam or marmite provided with butter! (very sweet butter of course!!) Tea and coffee available throughout the day with boiling water whenever you needed it too.

TV in the common room which made it very social, and a computer available to use if you wanted.

WiFi was great too - stronger downstairs near the reception of course.

Very safe - there was a code used to get in and out the gate - and the private rooms had additional locks too!

Overall really enjoyed our stay for the price we were paying. The staff are super friendly and helped us navigate our onward journey :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the floor above the reception are great! (but i have nothing to compare this too.. others m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subic, Philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I used this as my hop off point. My plane arrived at 1am, so i booked into the dorm to get some sleep before getting transportation to Mount Kinabalu. Also coming back I stayed two nights. The location is good and the dorms had enough space. the wash areas are well laid out around a balcony. everything is very basic but clean. will stay again when on a budget trip

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank sirchas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent one night here in a double room. The room was fairly large, with a high ceiling and large window and looked out onto Gaya, the main tourist street. There was a double bed and a bunk bed, as well as a chair and small stand, so space to spread out if there are only two people. The bed was okay, but it had a tiny, thin blanket which didn't begin to cover two people. Bathrooms were shared and the toilets usually declined to flush. Breakfast was white bread toast and tea or instant coffee. Staff were not especially friendly. Towels weren't offered, so I don't know if they were even available.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chixcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Bit of a prison cell. We had a double room with aircon: no paint on the walls, a bit dirty, but it served the purpose. Staff not particularly helpful or friendly. Wouldn't stay here again -- there are much better places in KK.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

When we arrived they were all full so we reserved two beds in the mixed dorm for the next 3 nights. We were a little confused when we arrived as to which beds were free in the dorm (probably due to arriving at the check in/ check out time of noon). Rooms are nice with about 8-12 beds per dorm. You have the choice of ac or just fan. They have a common area with tv and DVD player and wifi thru out the whole place, all 3 floors ( you don't loose the signal) The staff are very quiet, perhaps due to language barrier) but despite they have good information thru out hostel with activities that they offer in Borneo. We liked it and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gone_boarding_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontianak, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Simply nice and clean hostel. The staff are helpful and friendly. Hot shower provided. Tourist can look for useful information from information board. For breakfast, you may have toast with strawberry jam and butter. Tea and coffee are free to make. Remember you have to clean your dishes after use. The location is very strategic. Located at Gaya Street, you can find any restaurant, cafe, supermarket, plaza, and mall nearby. Only took less than 5 minutes to go to Suria Sabah Mall by walking. Free Wi-Fi provided, but since there's only 1 router, not all tenants can use it. A lot of tourist from around the world stay here, so you can make a lot of acquaintances. Overall, it's been a satisfying experience. No regret!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 mi away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#3 of 98 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lavender Lodge
Lavender Lodge
#8 of 98 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
#20 of 98 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
#10 of 98 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.3 mi away
D' Beach Street Lodge
D' Beach Street Lodge
#24 of 98 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Borneo Backpackers
Borneo Backpackers
#17 of 98 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesselton Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesselton Cabin

Property: Jesselton Cabin
Address: 1st and 2nd Floor, No.74, Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly North Borneo Cabin)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jesselton Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jesselton Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing