We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for a brief stay”
Review of Jesselton Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jesselton Cabin
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stopped in KK for my first few nights, and checked into this hostel. There isn't much to stay other then, its cheap, and fairly comfortable. Good security (pin code to access the door). Lockers are outside of the room, which is annoying, and in the locker room is generally a mattress on the floor with some local woman sleeping on it. The cute Malay baby is also in a hammock beside her ... I believe she is the partner of the owner, who seems more content to okay computer games at the desk than anything else.
Breakfast - Toast as standard in most hostels.

Quite difficult to meet other Travellers here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Abbi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Jesselton Cabin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, we had a private room, which was clean and comfortable. We were woken at dawn by all the birds that nest in the trees outside, but there's not a lot that the hostel can do about that. The showers are clean and actually really quite good. Would definitely recommend this.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank timlindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The location is strategic as food stall and bank is just at the ground floor of the building. Sunday market on the street where the North Borneo Cabin located. Suria Sabah the shopping centre ,Atkinson Clock Tower and Waterfront KK also reachable by walking. It is located at a very busy street however we stayed at the second floor and we have no problem of noise. The whole hostel very clean and tidy. However my friends get disappointed of the breakfast as only breads provided. The strength of WiFi is also satisfactory. The staffs are very friendly especially the boss. If you have no idea what to do in sabah you can consult the boss as he also the agent for mountain climbing and water rafting. The price he offered is lower compared with other agents.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jjing K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Really enjoyed my stay here. The staff are great and the rooms are fairly comfortable. The beds are large so they would be accommodating even for those who are taller. The showers weren't the greatest as the water pressure was lacking but they did the job. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would recommend the rooms with A/C
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here two nights.The place is clean and comfortable. Wifi in the rooms, great common area on each floor. basic breakfast consisting of toast bread, butter, jam and tea/coffee. very friendly and helpful staff with a good local knowledge. Safety boxes is provided and no curfew. Good location. A great budget deal. i will not hesitate to come back and stay there Again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

NB Cabin is a great budget hostel. Night market, bus terminus, jetty to the islands, restaurants and banks all within walking distance. Rooms are basic but spacious and clean. Facilities are shared, but again always clean. They also serve coffee, tea and bread and jam/nutella for breakfast. Staff are very friendly and extremely helpful, they will give lots of advice and help you with your bookings for tours/ buses etc. I would definitely recommend this place :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanandmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Just stayed some days before. Feel like the review been over rated. Worst hostel i ever been. Old building including the room and design. One of worst is I saw a bed bug crawling over my pillow. And too i meet with cockroach every night at toilet. Wondering what is mean by the "perfect stay" by other traveler. Thumb down for this accommodation..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WAITIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#16 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#29 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lavender Lodge
Lavender Lodge
#9 of 105 in Kota Kinabalu
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#4 of 105 in Kota Kinabalu
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
#10 of 105 in Kota Kinabalu
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
#17 of 105 in Kota Kinabalu
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesselton Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesselton Cabin

Address: 1st and 2nd Floor, No.74, Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly North Borneo Cabin)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £8 - £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jesselton Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jesselton Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing