We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for meeting other backpackers!”
Review of Jesselton Cabin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jesselton Cabin
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Getting to this place was really easy. From the airport (main terminal), you can take a taxi for RM25.00 . Alternatively, you can also take a mini bus (red/white) and the city bus for only RM1.50 . For the cheap alternative, walk out from the airport. Flag down any minivan or public bus which goes to the city center direction. The vehicle stops at the Bus Station. Hop on to the city bus (yellow/blue air conditioned) which is parked at the side of the station.

Located at the famous Gaya Street but not so noisy. This place is pretty run down but it is quite clean,homely and cozy. The air condition is switched on from 7pm to 7am only. There is a ceiling fan if you are feeling hot. The dorm beds were pretty shaky and the mattress were thin but its still ok for me. Bathrooms were aplenty. There is an outdoor market about 3 minutes walk from the hostel. The living area is good place to meet other travelers. The staff are really friendly especially Joy. No wireless but the free internet on the desktop worked fine but I think they need to upgrade their computer (coming from someone like me who is not really a tech fan).

Jesselton Point which is the ferry terminal for Tunku Abdul Rahman is about 7 minutes walk, depending on how fast you walk. Ask for a speed boat coupon at the hostel counter before you set off to the 5 islands for snorkeling or other acitvities. There will be a discount of RM5.00 . Be sure to rent a set of snorkeling gear (RM10) at Jesselton Point itself before you get on the boat as the islands charges more for the gear. Don't bring too much cash or valuables when you go the islands as they don't provide lockers. For cameras, try to get a waterproof cover so you can bring it everywhere with you even when you snorkel as placing your camera by the beach is not advisable especially when you are a solo traveler.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHAIFULLAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2010

Can't really complain about this place. The rooms are clean , beds comfortable, staff helpful and everything's well-kept. Also the wifi works great. No a/c in the common area, which is unfortunate, but it's cheap and a hostel.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slakjaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

It's really a small, cosy and friendly place for backpackers. I love the window where i can look down the street and the yealow leaf trees. Staffs are hospitality and cool.

Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
Thank Grass83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We booked online to stay in this hotel 2nights ago,they had advertised having a double room available+took a deposit off us through the website we booked on.We later received an email to confirm they received our deposit but regretted to inform us that they were fully booked+suggested we stay in a different hotel. We read some bad reviews online about the suggested hotel so did not want to stay there....after all if we did we would have booked that hotel in the 1st place!! We went to North Borneo Cabin to get our deposit back but they were very unhelpful.+refused to give it. We at this stage had made other accommodation arrangements+when they learnt of this they were suddenly offering to give us a double room some other person had booked but that they hadnt taken a deposit off! Everything screamed unprofessional+unreliable so id advise any1 thinking of booking this hotel to think again!!

Stayed: August 2009
1  Thank andaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We got into Kota Kinabalu late in the evening without reservations. We didn't want to walk around too much by that time so we stayed in a 6-bed dorm - 46 ringgits for the two of us. It's a very typical hostel and you only get a/c for 12 hours so it turned off sometime around 6 or 7am and the room got hot pretty quickly. The common area was not air-conditioned and it was not comfortable to hang out in with that heat. The showers were pretty bad and the water pressure was the worst.

The staff were good and there's free internet. The "breakfast" is just toast like everywhere else. The beds were ok and there were a few little shelves in the dorm room. It worked for one night but we didn't want to pay more to move to a private room and still only have partial access to a/c. This place was in our Lonely Planet and it seemed like any hostels in KK mentioned in the book had increased the prices drastically and they were definitely overpriced compared to all the other options in town.

We came back to Kota Kinabalu twice while we in Borneo and we did not stay here again because there's a ton of backpacker hostels and low-range hotels to choose from. We did enjoy the Blue Ocean Lodge over this place.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamBCtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

This place is great. Knowledgable, helpful, and friendly staff !!! I stayed in one of the dorm rooms which was very clean. Also great restrooms and shower facilities. Free internet available right outside of the dorm rooms and also in the dayroom. BTW the dayroom downstairs is a great place to meet with other backpackers from around the world or to just relax, watch tv, or read. Just in my dorm room alone we had people from France, Ireland, USA, and the Philippines ! KK is a great town for walking around in and this hostel is only a few blocks from the main road and close to all the amenities you could want (KFC, Burger King, ocean front, and Centre Point Mall).

. Fare from the airport (Terminal 2) to here was 20 RM. I loved the place so much I am already planning a trip back here. A friend and I both stayed here and he is spending a year backpacking in Asia. He said this was one of the better places he's stayed at in his travels and he should know I guess.

If you stop by be sure to say "hi" to Arney who is one of the front desk people. She was very friendly and helpful to me, plus she is great to look at too. LOL

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank catmonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 30 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
10.3 mi away
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
0.2 mi away
Gaya Centre Hotel
Gaya Centre Hotel
#22 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#7 of 109 in Kota Kinabalu
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Masada Backpacker
Masada Backpacker
#2 of 109 in Kota Kinabalu
332 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lavender Lodge
Lavender Lodge
#10 of 109 in Kota Kinabalu
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
#9 of 109 in Kota Kinabalu
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesselton Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesselton Cabin

Address: 1st and 2nd Floor, No.74, Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly North Borneo Cabin)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £8 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jesselton Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Jesselton Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing