We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place so nice and staff so nice and cute.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge
Fiddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The place so nice and staff so nice and cute.”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I stayed here for 6 days and the place so nice, and here have one staff name siti.. she very good and kind.. the place so clean and easy we want go everywhere, becouse here near from city.. traffic light so noise, but i enjoy here. siti very kind and we always talk and she work here for 24 hours.. long time, but she say too me, she enjoy here and know many people.. i like to bring siti out for watch movies, but her friend not allow she go out, i don't why.. i don't like siti friend but i like siti. here have internet too, and benefit here.. so amazing i stayed here.. i will come here for next holiday..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azffie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    18
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
12
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

this B& B lodge is the one for backpackers touring sabah and wanting to climb mt kinabalu. the staffs are simply fabulous and they really make my day. i wonder whether people like hody, diana (ohh...i think i'm in love with her), hazam and roger are still around. thumbs up for the lodge and the staffs!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank handsome_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Phi Phi Le, Thailand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I stayed here for two nights as it looked clean and the dorms and bathroom etc were....the down side is its located on a main road and the traffic noise is bad...its worse when the nights staff open the front balcony doors and windows when they put breakfast out at 0630.They still did it when i pointed it out to them.....the night staff spoke reasonable English but the day staff was a struggle to get info....i had rinsed out my clothes and towel...the one that is lightweight absorbent and took 3 months to find before i left and it went missing....there was only a few in the hostel and i now know why....i am going back to town in 2 weeks but will not stay here

Room Tip: do not have a room near the road...???
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleysargeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siegburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We had a great time at the Lodge, we stayed there for about 6 or 7 nights before and after climbing Mount Kinabalu. The hostel is nicely decorated, staff is very friendly and helps you to find your way around town, when I could hardly walk after climbing mount Kinabalu, their staff helped me to carry my luggage up to the room etc.
We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the hostel, there was always someone cleaning the showers and toilets so that we didnt have any EEEK experience which are so common in other hostels...

It's easy walking distance to the jetty to get to Tunk Abdul National Park and it's about a 20 minute walk to the night market where you can eat amazingly fresh and yummie fish and where the locals help you to mix the sauce for the fish which is lots of fun.

We had a great time in Kota Kinabalu and stayed a little longer than we had planned to as we really enjoyed the hostel as well!

There is also a little area downstairs with two computers and a TV where you could order takeaway food to or just hang out and watch TV.

Can highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandS2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

It's a not a large hostel so it's easy to meet other travellers. The rooms are simple and the location isn't bad. You can walk to most places in the town from here.
The one negative thing I have to say is about the laundy service. The staff either lost or stole my only long sleeved top and denied washing it. Every time I asked where it was, I was told to come back later. They didn't appologize either. You know how cold airports and air conditioned buildings can be, so that was a pain.
Apart from that The other staff were nice!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russiancaravantea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Stayed here total of 4 nights at beginning and end of trip round Sabah. Warm, welcoming staff and clean hostel. Always happy to help with travel planning too.Though small it works well. Good breakfast included in price and high speed internet. Close to city - rooms facing back street rather than overlooking Gaya Street are quieter.Within easy walking distance of mini bus station ( to get to Mt Kinabalu).

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EttaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

This place is basic but very clean and in reasonably good location on the slightly quieter north east of city near restaurants, banks and tourist info.

Staff are very friendly, we stayed here three times and they remembered us each time.

There are shared showers and toilets but they are kept clean. Breakfast is included as well as free Wifi which has good signal strength. Double rooms have air con.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halesycrawf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#16 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jesselton Cabin
Jesselton Cabin
#23 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
#21 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B&B@21
B&B@21
#3 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
#11 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Refarer Hostel
Refarer Hostel
#12 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge

Property: Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge
Address: Lot 4 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 99 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinabalu Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing