We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the center, good for backpackers.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge
Reviewed 9 April 2013

It is quite not bad hostel by Malaysian standard. Quite clean, but indeed very basic. Central location. The breakfast is limited to: water, tea(pre-made), coffee(brewed), white bread, margarine, sweat condensed milk, jam, peanut butter. You have toaster. 3 shared bathrooms, balcony, cord where you can had your clothes to dry. The price is:
60 for standard private double room
50 for basic private double room
45 for single room
20 for dormitory
Quite good, if for what ever reason you need to spend few couple days in the City itself.
Internet is good and included in the price.
Good for backpackers, but not for couples.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DmitryP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2013

KK backpackers lodge is everything you want in a simple hostel.
Fairly cheap beds (20r), basic breakfast included, warm showers, clean beds/rooms, air con included!. Staff were helpful if you needed anything, but if you didn't they pretty much left you alone. For longer stays, If you want linen changed, you will have to request it.

No real common room is the only downside, but they have wifi and 2 computers to use.

Can't complain about too much as it was good bang for the buck!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clamchowder16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The two girls were brilliant,lovely and very helpful.The place was spotless,clean and affordable.20ringit.Internet connection is great and location is super.the staff always smiling.
One thing if you stay ,just remind the girls to make sure the cleaning staff keep the door upstairs closed as they sometime open it and thats why it can be noisy.will stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay at the rooms at the back not next to the purple door on the second floor beside the open kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willimandala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Clean and comfortable, and the staff was very accommodating and helpful, particularly Sitti and Carrie. Even during the pre-check in/reservation period, they were very attentive to our queries via email. The place is near jesselton point (about a 5-minute walk), atkinson tower, and signal observatory hill (just right across the lodge). the wi-fi signal is so-so, but good enough to check mails. Downside --- the bed bunks were kind of old and the screechy noise it makes when moved is kinda disturbing. the shower's got low pressure, and it's not as huge as you would think. Overall, it's cheap, neat, and secure, good value for what we paid for. :) Checked in from August 8-10 with a friend, dorm type with 8 beds.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sendo_Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I have stayed in Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge five days. The place is clean, homely and very intimate. I stayed in a dorm and most of the time there were just two people there. The girls taking care of the place are amazing - very helpful, friendly, flexible. Real help to a person who stays just a few days and does not have so much time to investigate on options.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dagmara_poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This is indeed a great place, very quiet, but not so clean as it used to be last year, unfortunately. I've stayed there a few times. The last two times I stayed the bedsheets hadn't been changed, so I had to ask them to get me clean ones. I also told them if they keep like this they will lose customers. It's a pity, so I hope they get serious about this again, because clealiness was what made the place so great.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank carolaosol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and stayed in 2 different rooms. We moved because the first was quite small ( but would have been perfectly adequate if we weren't staying for so long). Clean, lots of toast for breakfast, computers and wifi, hot showers, sitcom and a lovely lady who works all hours and cleans the communal areas every day!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HatPat89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
3.2 mi away
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,546 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Crown Borneo Hotel
The Crown Borneo Hotel
#62 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge

Address: Lot 4 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £7 - £7 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Kinabalu Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing