We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel at a very affordable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge
Metro Manila
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great hostel at a very affordable price”
Reviewed 10 March 2010

My friends and I stayed there from Mar. 6-9, 2010. We took a room with queen-sized bed and an additional bed. The room was clean and the rest rooms were clean as well. There was one shower room and two toilets (also with shower). Also available are daily breakfast (bread and jams, tea or coffee). There was a toaster available for your bread if you want it toasted. There were also two computers available downstairs for internet and also the whole hostel was wifi-enabled. The staffers were friendly. Overall, this is a really great hostel and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesslei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    18
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
12
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

I took a tour of the guesthouse in KK. I arrived int he early afternoon so I must have went to at least 15 hostels and guesthouses. As soon as I found Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge I stopped looking. The rooms are spotlessly clean. There is free internet (wi-fi and computers), brekkie, and AC. It is a small hostel with only 2 dorms and a couple double rooms. There was never a wait for the bathrooms. Location was close to the town center with all the rest of them but just off the side so it is nice and quite. The selling point however is the owners and staff. They must have made at least 50 phone calls trying to help me organize the rest of my time in Borneo. Most of the calls were to get the permit to dive Sipadan. For those of you who don't know it is the ungettable get. If it wasn't for the owners I would have never got my permit! and it is SOOOO worth it. I would recommend any traveler to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 07Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Spotlessly clean rooms and bathrooms. Helpful husband and wife managers. Small place with only 4 double rooms and two small dorms. A bit crampled feeling, no real lounging area. Breakfast is toast and jam plus coffee-------around the corner is terrific Chinese food for breakfast-------worth the extra.

Hotel across the street has competative prices--------worht checking out.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kutuhbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
screeny1
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Sweet place! Nothing more to say (you can find the facts in other reviews and sites)!
BJ and Yuen are more than nice and we had a lot of fun together :)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screeny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

The staff here were hospitable and really made me feel welcome. I had no idea about the sights of KK and they were helpful in explaining to me the best way to spend the limited time that I had here. The double room that I had was clean and good-sized, the breakfast was basic but fine, and there are loads of restaurants surrounding the hotel. They also have free internet and wi-fi as an added perk.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheepless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Stay there for 2 nights before going for the mountain hiking. Fantastic people!! Owner of Lodge is friendly and helpful. Clean and comfy place for a good rest. Just a street away from the Sunday Market. Food and Drinks are all within walking distance.
A worth of money stay, for young travellers.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Jesselton Cabin
Jesselton Cabin
#22 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B@21
B&B@21
#3 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#4 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Refarer Hostel
Refarer Hostel
#12 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bunk Gaya Street
The Bunk Gaya Street
#13 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lodge 58
Lodge 58
#5 of 79 in Kota Kinabalu
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge

Property: Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge
Address: Lot 4 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 99 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinabalu Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing