We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean rooms, so so internet, but!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borneo Gaya Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Borneo Gaya Lodge
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, so so internet, but!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

i stayed here for a few days, has no atmosphere, the girls working in the night are helpful, the rooms are spacious and safe and since there is hardly anyone here is good in a way..
i got kicked out because " A big group was coming" which sucks cause if you are staying for a few days is not fair..
good place to crash and move on..

Room Tip: next door cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egnogra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    15
    25
    8
    12
See reviews for
3
23
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

This Lodge offers a definitly good price-performance ratio. After checking out a lot of Lodges, which were unacceptable and more expensive, we were glad to find the Borneo Gaya Lodge. We had an double room with AC and privat bathroom and a window (which was rare in KK, even at the Best Western Hotel, we got a room without a window). The room was very clean and the wireless internetconnection workes very well.
The reception was open 24 hours and the Staff was absolutely courteous and helpful with organisation in any belongngs.
We enjoyed our stay in KK in the Borneo Gaya Lodge and we defenitely recommand it ti any other visitors of KK.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tisy_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We hunted high and low for accommodation in KK and this was the best of a bad bunch. Apart from the places that are quite far out (like Masadas and the Beach places) the standard in KK really isn't very high at these prices. We got frustrated with other people on tripadvisor saying you could get better elsewhere, as they never say where you can get these elusive places....and as plenty of worse places were full, which probably indicates that the accommodation owners in KK do not really need to make much effort.

BGL was not your typical backpackers, like a hotel/office/student house combination. It was clean, and we had the family room which was huge. The staff were friendly and keen to help, although not always very knowledgeable or able to help!

The common area is OK, and the internet access is cheap. Location is fabulous, the Gaya street market starts on your doorstep, and the chinese restaurants are great - try the steamed buns if you get bored of the BGL breakfast which is the same as the western breakfasts you always get in hostels in Malaysia.

My advice? If you want to find a great place to stay in KK, then arrive early and shop around and try to find it. But if you can't find somewhere really special, then BGL is a reliable option.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trurzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed here after a trip to Sepilok as the NBC next door was full.
the room was OK but there was no-where really to put my things. I had a private shower leaked on the floor but it worked OK and there was liquid soap in a dispenser. The shared shoewers are next to the kitchen and if you want to use a mirror, it's over the kitchen sink! The living room area is pretty small and when I was there it was taken over by 2 girls watching a DVD on their laptop (they just turned off the TV). there is no separate dining table so it feels pretty squashed in.
My room had a window to the carpark area behind Jalan Gaya and it was definitely noisier than the room I had at NBC which overlooked Jalan Gaya.
I stayed here for the 2 nights I had booked but will not come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed here for two nights, and I quite liked it. We stayed in the dorm which had 5 bunk beds (10 beds) in a room. It was a bit cramped but there was a/c and everyone was very helpful and accomodating. There is a small but functional hot water shower, and there is a basic breakfast of toast, jams, egg every day, as well as wifi, tv and a few pcs, as well as a lot of reading material of things to do in Kinabalu. The 'front desk' were friendly and helpful as well. All in all a good stay for a backpacker or the budget traveller.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorzow, Poland
Level Contributor
262 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Stayed for 3 days in KK, the hotel was clean, rooms big enough for relatively low price. The location is very good with local restaurants just at the doors, with 5 minutes walk to the seafood market on the sea boulevard.
The reception was keen to book without any costs bus tickets.
Quite resonable choice for backpackers and economy tourist, good value for money.
Chris, Poland

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyChris008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

We stayed here on the advice of the company we were diving with, and all I can say is I hope they got commission. The location is good, but the staff are terrible. One of them couldn't seem to communicate or understand any queries, such as trying to book an additional room for some friends, a task we only achieved when another member of staff relieved her. During a storm, the ceiling in our room started leaking, to which their response was to place flannels on the locker! My sandals were stolen from the front door area, and when we complained, they suggested we just steal someone else's! We've stayed in KK a number of times in different backpackers, and this was, without a doubt, the worst.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andykanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Jesselton Cabin
Jesselton Cabin
#21 of 96 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
#11 of 96 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#3 of 96 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Check Inn KK
Check Inn KK
#35 of 96 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tourist
Hotel Tourist
#29 of 78 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.5 mi away
Masada Backpacker
Masada Backpacker
#2 of 96 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Gaya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Gaya Lodge

Property: Borneo Gaya Lodge
Address: 1st Floor No 78, Jalan Gaya, P.O.BOX 10131, Sabah, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Borneo Gaya Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Borneo Gaya Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Gaya Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing