We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to get to, perfect central location, great helpful staff and value for money.”
Review of Borneo Gaya Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borneo Gaya Lodge
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Arrived late at night and they provided help getting to the hostel even though I requested it quite late in the day. The 10 bed dorm was clean and all you need from a basic hostel. I would have no problem returning! Oh and 24 hour reception/person on duty is great too. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtur24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

It was nice and clean and the aircondition worked well. The shower was over the toilet so everything got wet when you showered but that's often the case in hostel so we were already used to that. The warm water always took long to get warm and then it was not much but that was okay - Malaysia is hot enough ;)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
1  Thank 249countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Our room smelled of mothballs. Ick. We found many and tossed them out the window. Toilet barely flushed. They never emptied our wastebasket nor replenished toilet paper in our three night stay. Noisy outside all Saturday night while Sunday Market was setting up. Always difficult to open door to second floor. Unfriendly staff. Expensive for what we got. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This place is peaceful and easy access to many roads. Bathrooms clean. There are are many places around this lodge to eat delicious food. At the evening the streets are full of people and colorful. However the quality of the rooms should be increased, but with the price it is worth. I can recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights and paid 60rm for a double with air con. The bed was amazing almost as good as mine back home. After staying in some pretty crap places we slept like babies. The only problem we had was the noise from the communal area outside our room. The management didn't tell people to turn the tv down and some American guy decided to call home on Skype at 3am in the morning. He wasn't talking he was shouting and I had to go out to tell him to keep the racket down. Other than that I would stay there again if we were ever in KK again. We ate at some great food at the night markets I would highly recommend the red and black snapper we had it was delicious. And we also went to the islands in the national park; our fave was Sape. The hostel give out vouchers for 10rm off the boat ticket which makes it a great deal.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, in a double room with aircon and private bathroom. Although the room was tiny, it was clean and very quiet at night. The bed was also okay. Staff was friendly after a while, they seem a bit distracted because of mobile phones etc.

We booked our trip to the kinabatangan river trough them (2 nights, 3 days) which we would really recommend! After taking a bus we were picked up at a restaurant stop. Form there it was about 1 hour to the river. We stayed at a nice little wooden house. Which was clean and comfortable. The owner were very very friendly and the food was absolutely great, all homemade and plenty. Cruises and tracking was also good, we saw some wild elephants! Would recommend booking trough them if you plan to go here!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jellybel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

i stayed here for a few days, has no atmosphere, the girls working in the night are helpful, the rooms are spacious and safe and since there is hardly anyone here is good in a way..
i got kicked out because " A big group was coming" which sucks cause if you are staying for a few days is not fair..
good place to crash and move on..

Room Tip: next door cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egnogra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.5 mi away
SKYPOD Hostel
SKYPOD Hostel
#1 of 109 in Kota Kinabalu
135 reviews
0.9 mi away
PODs The Backpackers Home
PODs The Backpackers Home
#6 of 109 in Kota Kinabalu
118 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Gaya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Gaya Lodge

Address: 1st Floor No 78, Jalan Gaya, P.O.BOX 10131, Sabah, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £8 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Borneo Gaya Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Borneo Gaya Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Gaya Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing