We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Accommodation in KK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Promenade Hotel Apartments
Kuching, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Accommodation in KK”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This trip was the 2nd time I have chosen this service apartment and the service here never fails me. From the moment we were greeted with smiles and best hospitality the moment we arrived, during our stay, the rooms are always clean and towels and toiletries were refill daily and changed, plus the location was strategic and really is the best location to food and shopping malls.
With the nearest taxi stand just 5 minutes walk, it was just the convenience of the place makes us want to return to stay at this hotel for our next future trip to come. Worth the money and the quality of service are just superb!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyLynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    25
    37
    23
    35
See reviews for
40
22
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

These apartments are NOT in the Promenade Hotel complex. They are in the Api Api apartment complex next to the Promenade Hotel.
The room itself was a studio apartment. It was just OK. The bed was comfortable, and there was air conditioning, and hot water in the shower, and clean towels. There was NO toiletries, nothing in the kitchen, except some tea and coffee making facilities, and a fridge.
The main thing that I was disappointed with is that the location is in a dirty building, with dirty walls, lift, floors EVERYTHING. The room itself is also tired, and pretty dirty, certainly not worth the money, even though it is in the budget range. There are NO English channels on the TV , unless you pay extra to get the pay channel box, and there is no wifi unless you pay to hire a dongle.
I would not stay there as a single female, as the surroundings are dark, and just feel unsafe to walk to and from the apartment especially at night.
There is a McDonalds and lots of local food joints in the complex, and a 7/11 as well as other small grocery shops to buy water.
I would not recommend it, and will not return. There are much nicer apartments in KK in the 1Borneo complex, we have moved into one of these for the next 10 days rather stay in Promenade apartments.(See my review on their site).

Room Tip: If you can ignore the access to the apartment, inside the apartment is tolerable. We had a window, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Great location in middle of town, apartment is spread into 4 blocks which is jointly own by other owner/tenants. Room is big with sofa that can sleep additional person. Big fridge, kitchen utensil and cooking stove. Wet market ( cheap seafood to cook) bus station,food stalls and shopping mall is just around the corner. Downside is room is rundown need refurbishment badly. For the price paid (RM120nt) its worth for a family of four.Wont allowed to check in if you arrive early but they will call immediately when the room is ready before the check in time. Lastly do request to check the room stove is working before accepting the room if you would like to cook, some room stove is not working.

Room Tip: Request same block as reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyms43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Apartment located at middle of the city. Just less than 10 minutes from airport by car. Walking distance to mall. Studio suite was okay. Can cook but there are no plates/bowl provide. May stay here for those who are looking for budget and affordable accomodation.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tigerrr87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

If you're in town visiting people as I was, without a large budget for hotels, Promenade Service Apartments cannot be beaten. The rooms are nice, very clean; and the service is excellent. One downside: the walls are a little thin, so noise can be an issue for light sleepers. I've tried out a number of hotels in the area during my stays, and I think I will just use Promenade Service Apartments from now on.

As another added bonus that they really should advertise, there is an inexpensive laundry shop next door and many shop as well as eateries nearby!!

Happy and safe travels.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arakan_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here a few times, looks a bit run down but everything works. I like the fridge best because it has a separate freezer, ideal for freezing seafood to take back home to West Malaysia. Walking distance to the fish market, walking distance to seafood restaurants, malls, bus station. 10 minutes to airport by taxi. What more do you want?

Oh, if you hand wash your own laundry, you can hang the laundry on the clothesline at the balcony. So convenient!

Room Tip: Only the studio suite has a large fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KualaLumpurTerence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

it was a very pleasant stay. the apartment is clean with basic amenities. well located. walking distance to Philippine market ,shopping mall, night market etc. Plenty of food outlets nearby. definitely worth it. suitable for family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ash2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#17 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
599 reviews
1.8 mi away
Likas Square Apartment Hotel
Likas Square Apartment Hotel
#24 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
181 reviews
0.6 mi away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#29 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#27 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Court Resort Condominium
Marina Court Resort Condominium
#16 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Api-Api GuestHouse
Api-Api GuestHouse
#12 of 79 in Kota Kinabalu
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Hotel Apartments

Property: Promenade Hotel Apartments
Address: 3-G-17, Lorong Lorong Api-Api 2, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 99 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Promenade Hotel Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Promenade Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing