We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodation to expectation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of High Street Inn

High Street Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Street Inn
Ranked #71 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Oslo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Accomodation to expectation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Here you get exactly what you pay for. A clean room, serviceminded personnel and central location.

Reason i dont give higher score is the tired bathroom with no working hot shower and a terrible noise from the 80s Ac.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Johan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
7
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

It was a super budget stay at a centrally located 2star hotel. Very good location, i must say. Room (ours was on the 2nd floor) was very musty with damp smell from the bed. Bathroom smelled like urine (Very bad house keeping). Room was not airy and was humid. Hot water for shower was available. No wifi connection in the room, but available at lobby. Small TV with limited channels. Old aircon is powerful enough to cool the room quick. Limited walking space. Hot water for drinking available over counter. Pillow is thin and bed is just good to sleep.

Most of the time, we would spend the day out, so the room was pretty much just a place to go back to at night. It wasn't a comfortable stay, just good to go. Most importantly, cheap and convenient. Can't complain much for the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Walked in to the lobby with the service lady having no idea what was going on, get up to the room and it was even worse, window that didnt close, air conditioner taped to the wall and no place to lock belongings...

Fridge and tv in room. Fridge wouldn't turn on and smelt revolting and tv is 100% for display and doesn't even have a Malay plug..

Toilet is small and dirty!
We have stayed in 1 star places as we are on a budget but this place is by far the worst we have been at.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I went as a walk-in guest because other hotels were fully booked that night. I was impressed by the lobby entrance & was ok with the hotel rate. However, just when i was about to enter the room, there was an electricity trip. So i went all the went dowm from the 3rd flloor since there isn't any elevator in this hotel. As i was walking down, i met up with a guy staff so i asked what's wrong, he just walked past me while saying everything is fine. When arrived at the lobby, the receptionist said it's just faulty at the 3rd floor so she gave me another room on the 2nd floor. It was ok for the 1st 5 minutes,then the electricity trip again. So i went to the lobby and complaint if this goes on the whole night i might just need to stay for free or at least get a half price charge. The receptionist just kept quiet & gave me a mean glance. When everything went fine, i went back to the room. Then i realised that the room was not made up properly. There was a used sanitary pad in the toilet trash bin & there was hair on the bathroom floor. I also noticed the bed was undone as if someone has used the room before. I probably didn't notice all this the 1st time i went into the room since i didnt even had the chance to settle down before the electricity trip again. I was to tired to go down and ask for a different room again because the receptionist might exchange me into a worse room since she already gave me a mean glance. I'm disappointed because of the awful service & poor room clean up.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wy3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I love this hotel because of its location.it takes 15min walk to go to philiphine market,10 min walk to Suria Sabah shopping mall & jesselton point and really near to sunday market.it got taxi and restaurant like kfc & burger king nearby.polyclinic also 24 hour available for emergency. You can depart from jesselton point to go for island hopping,diving,snorkelling &lots of beach related activities.the sea is really beautiful & worth a try.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Whilst the High Street Inn is a good value, excellent location hotel, the WiFi is very erratic and unreliable. We complained about it and we were told, yes it is not very good. The hotel is in a very central position in the old part of town, close to many restaurants and shops. Just so frustrating that their WiFi is so bad.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

My expectations of this budget hotel in Kota Kinabalu were pretty low, but it still failed to meet them.

I paid 65 Ringgit + tax for a single room. It was passably clean, but the main issue was that so many things did not work - I couldn't control the temperature on the air-conditioning (the knobs were broken), the hot water kept getting cut off, and the WiFi signal barely reached the 3rd floor.

On the positives, the staff were friendly and the location is very central. But I think there are better places to stay, even on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idreamofdurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#42 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#56 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hii-5 Hotel
Hii-5 Hotel
#66 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wah May Hotel
Wah May Hotel
#72 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.7 mi away
Story Tel
Story Tel
#40 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lucky 11 Hotel
Lucky 11 Hotel
#50 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Street Inn

Property: High Street Inn
Address: High Street Inn 38 Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — High Street Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Street Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing