We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check in always easy”
Review of New Sabah Hotel

New Sabah Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Sabah Hotel
Ranked #49 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This was my second time staying at the hotel. I am glad the checking in process was fast and easy as before. It was around 12.30 am when we arrived and the receptionist greeted us nicely. I was thankful when he said all other rooms are full. I booked 2 rooms through phone a week earlier and they reminded me to call them again the day before check in, just to confirm.The room was cheaper at RM2 in the last year for similar room though. Rooms was okay. Pillows are better than before. However, cleanliness just a little bit degraded (previously was very clean, now is okay) but still, a good deal. The cafe next to it open early morning until late night, at 1.00am we ordered some food and the dishes are always tasty. Been to KK many times and I will always choose this hotel, perfect for budget people

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DNurul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stay for only one night. rooms and facilities are well maintain.its value for money.closeby to find food and strategic location. Love the high pressure shower in the toilet. The best part of my stay is, they kept my charger that I've forgotten after checking out from the hotel.came back to the hotel few hours later and they returned it to me :) deserves a good rating. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aazhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Check in on 29 Oct 2013, given a room facing main road. No complaint about A/c or hot water.
No complaint about cleanliness, Reception staff , friendly and help full.Location near eating places and walking distant to shopping complexes and markets. But if ever stay there make sure u ask for room facing the back street. Its like F1 was in KK during the night, the noise from motorbikes and cars is very very loud and you could end up not sleeping at all.
BTW never never eat at Texas Grill and Uppstar which is near hotel , food service is down the drain

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nonofyrbuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

The rooms are clean but basic , the aircon works and there is a hot shower. At 78ringett it's the cheapest in the Area. 2 minute walk from the sea front . The staff are friendly and Efficient . If your a fast food fan there is a KFC and Burger King in walking distance if not there is a few nice restaurants a short walk away or china town for some cat or dog

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quins15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Get what you pay for, good central location, clean room. We had a good sized room overlooking the main road, which was a bit noisy but having the window was nice. WiFi access was temperamental to start but they soon fixed that for us. Don't expect clean linen/towels as housekeeping during the stay was non exsistant. We ended up staying for 5 nights so all in all was clean and cheap. Go to the cafe next door for Roti Canai it is amazing!!!!!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Vikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Located in the city centre, 5-7 minutes walk to Suria shopping mall, the room and bathroom are clean and tidy. There's basic items such as tv with HBO channel, clean towels, shampoos and soaps, nice curtain. I am truly satisfied with the price. The pillow might be quite thin but yeah it's a budget hotel. Somehow I think the toilet flush has little problem where we had to 'row' the handle like 7-10 times, to complete a flush. We checked out to go to Kundasang (overnight) and when we got back to KK, we stayed at other budget hotel which the rate is slightly more but I can't stand the room so we returned to this hotel for another night. Checking in to this hotel really made my day. The staircase also clean. I believe it had been renovated with modest materials few years ago. Definitely a great deal for budget people

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DNurul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wybierać należy pokoje z ładnym widokiem na miasto i górę Kota Kinabalu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrzej K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#27 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Street Inn
High Street Inn
#62 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Storytel Kota Kinabalu
Storytel Kota Kinabalu
#28 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#50 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hii-5 Hotel
Hii-5 Hotel
#52 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#37 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Sabah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Sabah Hotel

Address: Lot 3 & 4 Block A, Jalan Pedas, Segama Complex, Kota Kinabalu 88822, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £12 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Sabah Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New Sabah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing