We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near to Airport”
Review of Megah D'Aru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Megah D'Aru Hotel
Ranked #33 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Near to Airport”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I arrived quite late in the evening (~8pm) and proceed to check in. Check in was hassle free and fast. The receptionist even asked whether we need an airport shuttle for the next day which I politely declined as I have my own transport. But I do request for a take away breakfast. Normal breakfast time is 7am. If you have to checkout earlier, you may request for it. The breakfast was an egg sandwich, banana and a cup of mineral water. Not sure if they have other varities but I take this as a kind gesture from the hotel to take the extra effort to give you a breakfast :)

Room is clean with hair dryer, sandals, tea making facilities. The room is without carpet and this is where the sandals plays a role. The bed is comfortable. Not too hard or soft. Maybe it just suits me best :)

The next morning, I checkout and breakfast was prepared. I will definitely stay in this hotel should I need a nearby hotel to airport

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y_Kit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    23
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
12
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I myself is in the service industry. The way they start centainly need some improvement and the management need to check and get the staff serious in the work.

The pick-up were not in time and the staff did not offer any explaination nor apology for the delay.

Upon check-in there were no greeting from the front office staff which is quite weird (maybe due to i'm a local the courtesy does not apply, hmmmmmmm). The staff just point on the registration form to sign and give me the key and no explaination in what included, facilities or whatsoever.

The room is clean and everything else works.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pangait2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Good place to stay if you have an early am flight to catch since it's so close to the airport and offers a free airport shuttle.
Room was clean and pretty spacious.
Staff was friendly and helpful.
It's close to some hawker stands that sell pretty cheap local eats.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0n_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
165 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I booked a hotel room here as an event was taking place in the same hotel the very next morning. To my surprise, the room was super duper clean and the free airport shuttle was waiting when we arrived, about 30 minutes later than scheduled at the airport. The local breakfast looked greasy and unappetizing however. Nevertheless there were many restaurants around the hotel if you want to grab a bite, as well as convenience stores, mobile phone stores etc etc. For an airport stayover, I'd definitely stay here again.

For the price paid, this is a good deal.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lavy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This hotel is ideal if you have an early flight since it is super close to the airport. The hotel is not located in the city center of Kota Kinabalu but in an area a little outside but it is entirely possible to walk from the hotel to the city if you want. However, if you don't want to walk, taxis are easily found in this area and are relatively cheap.

The rooms are a nice size, clean, and I personally the beds to be extremely comfortable. Overall, a good place with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Traveling_Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kulim, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel offers free shuttle bus to and from the airport.
However, no transport is provided to the city center. One can hail a cab to the city center point - a shopping mall in town for the price of rm15-20.
As for the free breakfast provided by the hotel, no refill/top up was done. So, go early to fill your stomach. Nothibg's fancy is in the menu though..fried noodles, fried eggs and baked red beans. Additionally, there is white bread loaf for toast.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eemee131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I stayed at Megah D'Aru Hotel recently for one night between flights. I contacted them last minute in hopes of getting airport pickup and immediately I received a warm reply from Felix, the hotel manager.
As a long-term traveler staying frequently in basic guesthouses, my room was great. Great English cable t.v. channels (BBC), a large bathroom, good Air-Con and big window with an ocean view. The airport shuttle is wonderful, a big relief when arriving solo to a new city.

Front-desk staff very professional and attentive to a picky traveler like myself.

Free breakfast, wifi in the lobby, newspapers, strong coffee :)
Exceeded expectations for an 'airport' hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the higher floors have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
0.0 mi away
The Crown Borneo Hotel
The Crown Borneo Hotel
#71 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Asiana Hotel
Asiana Hotel
#44 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zara's Boutique Hotel
Zara's Boutique Hotel
#49 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel No 5
Hotel No 5
#22 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eminent Hotel
Eminent Hotel
#30 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
4.1 mi away
Putatan Platinum Hotel
Putatan Platinum Hotel
#2 of 2 in Putatan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Megah D'Aru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Megah D'Aru Hotel

Property: Megah D'Aru Hotel
Address: 2 Jalan Kinabalu | Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Megah D'Aru Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Megah D'Aru Hotel is budget boutique hotel with 72 elegantly appointed rooms fitted with modern conveniences located nearby the city centre and Kota Kinabalu International Airports. Free scheduled shuttle service is provided for all guests staying in this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Megah D'Aru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing