We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value”
Review of 1 City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1 City Hotel
Ranked #27 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Prices for hotels in this area (centre KK, near Gaya street) ranged from 140-180 for the more budget concerned hotels. To have got this place for only 100 per night was great for light travelers. Location is great, just next to Hyatt Regency, and 1 minute from Burger King and 24 hour KFC. in between Jesselton Point (for those interested in the island visits) and waterfront (for a chilling night out), and 5 minutes from Gaya.

I highly recommend this place to those would be travellers, for those wanting something slightly more than a lodge/hostel. It is quiet, clean, and the receptionists are reliable.

HOWEVER, No breakfast though not a problem, better to try out KK food nearby at jalan gaya. Also rooms are pretty small (as expected of a boutique hotel), but we managed 4 persons in their smallest room for 5 days. Great for couples who are searching with tight budgets and want great value.

Room Tip: it is quiet from any floor, there is an elevator. i stayed on 2nd and 3rd floors and found no proble...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martintan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for 1 City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed for one night in July 2011. The room is surprisingly big with proper facilities and it is clean. The location is "good" as it is close to many amenities, water front and shopping malls. However, it is "bad" for us as we don't feel comfortable as it is situation amongst shoplots. For the price we paid, we would rather stay in Cititel Express.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goh_Seng_Hong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I stay there with my wife for 6D 5N, for me its was a great place to stay, affordable & yet its offer a great service. The staff was very helpful, very nice & clean room, great shower, free Wifi & the most important its located in the heart of the city. Even though breakfast not provided, there was a 24 hr restaurant, BK & KFC in the corner, 3-4 minute walking distance to waterfront, wisma merdeka, k.k plaza (a great place for shopping)...

Room Tip: book earlier...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RadziYaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Don't be put off by the street, it's a great location rates are good, service friendly,you may have to sit on the stairs to get good reception or your toilet depending what floor your on other wise cannot fault it. We also had problems with people smoking in their room and the smoke drifting through just advise reception. In time people will take note that no smoking does mean that.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank timetotravel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

My staying period was from 22 April 2011 until 25 April 2011.
The location is extremely strategic. Staff are really helpful anf friendly.
I stayed in a king sized bed room and the amenities are exactly as shown from its website. I managed to find parking easily around the area too.
It is only a walking distance to the wet market, handicraft market, and gaya street!

Room Tip: Make sure you book it early!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TryMyBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Good points: excellent service! Booking easy, sandra was very helpful and considerate, would even inquire price of taxis going to mt kinabalu. Even reception is always ready to help, they called for taxi at needed time at no xtra cost. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, easy to relax after a long hot day outside. I especially liked the bathroom w/c matters a lot to me when travelling. It's clean, right size and has everything i need.

Down side: room a bit small but no complaints since we booked standard only.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purpletoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We needed to find a place in KK that had good Wi-Fi and comfortable rooms so that we could get some work done for a couple of weeks in between travel adventures. We checked in at the 1 City Hotel and were amazed by the modern furnishings and bathroom fixtures. The service was some of the best we've received in months of traveling - the rooms were made up promptly and consistently with ample amenities and the front desk helped us out with any concerns we had during our stay. The rate was fantastic for what we received.

Just a couple of things worth noting:
- Inconsiderate smokers caused our room to frequently smell of smoke and it was not possible to open the windows. The only solution was to turn on the bathroom fan and close the door, and to call the front desk to have them hunt down the person ignoring the no smoking signs. If you are very sensitive to smoke, you may wish to avoid the hotel.
- Our bum hose had a life of its own and would frequently wriggle around like a possessed snake, eventually pulling the hose holder out of the wall entirely.

Other than that we loved the hotel. Great staff, great rooms, great location.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elle13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#33 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#29 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#49 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#16 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,197 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eminent Hotel
Eminent Hotel
#26 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1 City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 City Hotel

Address: Lot 1 Block B, Ground Floor | Segama Complex, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £20 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1 City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 1 City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing