We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNSYMPATHETIC, INSENSITIVE,DREADFUL!!!”
Review of 1 City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
1 City Hotel
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“UNSYMPATHETIC, INSENSITIVE,DREADFUL!!!”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Customer Service, specifically Diana is heartless and unsympathetic. I booked on December 20,2012 for a June 18,2013 booking. Unfortunately, Air Asia announced that effectively February 1,2013 they were cancelling the Clark-Kota Kinabalu (and vice versa) route. Meaning no more flights going there.
Now, I got this trip as this was in super promo and I don't have money. It is hard for me to fly with any other carrier to go there and pay the regular rate.
I emailed Diana numerously letter her know of the cancellation of the airline for the route as no more planes would fly there. I requested a refund for my booking as it's not like I intentionally and erroneously just changed my mind. I was actually very devastated and stressed with this situation.
Anyways, her reply was I cannot give you a refund as their hotel has a no refund policy. "we are giving an option to change the date check-in and check out for our valued guest, or changing the name of person staying in your reservation".
WTF! Change the date of my check in? I can't fly there anymore! Give the room to somebody else? I don't have money to just give away to somebody else. And come on, this was booked on December for June 18. Why can't they just cancel the booking and give the room to somebody else? Is business so bad that that they can't re-book that one room (in June)? Are they so uptight on that rule even though it was booked 6 months ago (not a week ago!) and be compassionate and understanding and just give the refund considering the situation that was forced upon us? HAVE SOME SYMPATHY!

Room Tip: Customer Service, specifically Diana is hearless and unsympathetic. I booked on December 20,2012...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank niteslyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    52
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
34
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights and found it to be an excellent budget hotel and a wonderful luxury after backpackers guesthouses! We booked a standard room with a king size bed and the room was a good size with a great bathroom.

The location was excellent with both Jessleton Pier and Centre Point within walking distance - no taxis needed at all! After reading some of the reviews on here I expected the hotel to be in a dark alley but it is nothing like that - it is not the cleanest street in KK but it is really not that bad and is completely safe.

The rooms themselves were immaculate and cleaned daily. Bathroom had a lovely powerful shower - unfortunately it ran cold a few times during our stay but it was so hot outside we did not complain. Safety deposit boxes were provided in the rooms. One negative point was that the walls are quite thin and other guests were not particularly considerate and made lots of noise in the corridors while entering and leaving their rooms - fault lies more with rude and inconsiderate guests rather than hotel owners.

Staff were very friendly and helped us with booking our bus to Sandakan and any other queries we had. We had a lovely stay and highly recommend it to anyone looking for budget accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank innocent26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This place is ideal for a first stop or final landing before flying out from Kota Kinabalu. The place is walking distance from some delicious night market food - lots of fresh seafood for you to pick. It is clean, modern, has free wi-fi and the staff were very friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We booked this hotel (standard room) after reading favourable comments from travelers here. It's with strategic location, within walking distance to Suria Sabah, Little Italy. We had morning walk to Jesselton Point to catch boat ride to Pulau Manukan too. Convenient area for food. Staff are friendly and helpful & professional. The room is clean. We have the room being tidy daily. No fridge in room. The room is not big. The rate is very good value of money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

After staying at another (unsatisfactory) hotel, we decided to check into 1 City Hotel. The room was small but good enough. It was a Superior King, with extra bed (since there were three of us and all the family rooms had been taken up). The extra bed was most satisfactory (new) and much, much better than the extra bed at Winner hotel. And the location is excellent - even my aged parents could walk to the waterfront/main market/handicraft market/salt fish market - no problems at all. Reception was always helpful and efficient. RM148, which is reasonable (as it was a Friday night). Very convenient location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophiaJohorBahru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, BC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Booked this hotel based on the reviews, location, and budget. Front desk very efficient and helpful. Always a smile when we walked into the hotel. On our first night we were unfamiliar with the area and asked the front desk to call us a cab as we wanted to visit a restaurant that seemed a bit far. The front desk called the cab and it arrived within a couple minutes. The next morning when we left on foot we noticed a taxi stand one minute away. It would have been very easy for the hotel to point us in the direction of the taxi stand and I appreciated their service. The next morning my wife could not find a hair dryer. I called reception to enquire if there were hair dryers available and one was delivered to our room within two minutes.

Basic 3 star accommodations, 5 star service, super clean rooms cleaned every day. Tv, aircon, fresh bottle of water every day that you can refill downstairs at the free water cooler.

Great location, street not as nice as the hotel but don't let that detract you. Location wise it is half a block from the Hyatt.

Room Tip: We chose a standard room, and were perfectly happy. If you want a bit more space you can pay a few R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barkes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Turned up late from the airport had not booked in anywhere and ended up at the 1 City hotel. Staff at the desk were ultra efficient after 5 minutes of walking through the door, we were booked in and in our room. 108MYR gets you a “business hotel” type room complete with TV with cable channels, free wifi and drinking water, a kettle, all spotlessly clean. KFC and Burger King are at the end of the road. A 7-11 a 3 minute walk. Shopping mall, water front and local market 2 minutes away. Lots of local restaurants around this area. The nearest ATM 3 minutes away. A 5 minute walk to Mereka bus station and buses going to Kudat. City hall round the corner, where the buses to Brunei leave.
Staff really friendly and helpful with information on buses and directions and made a few phone calls from the front desk for me. This is a good budget choice if you want your own bathroom and a bit of comfort with everything on your doorstep.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#31 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
126 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eminent Hotel
Eminent Hotel
#29 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#46 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#27 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,179 reviews
0.3 mi away
D'Borneo Hotel
D'Borneo Hotel
#57 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1 City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 City Hotel

Property: 1 City Hotel
Address: Lot 1 Block B, Ground Floor | Segama Complex, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1 City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your 1 City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing