We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great central location”
Review of 1 City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1 City Hotel
Ranked #27 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great central location”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

In the center of the city, easy walking distance to Gaya Street, the waterfront, shopping and eating. Some maintenance work would make the appearance better; paint, resticking peeled wallpaper, reattach bathroom shelving that was falling off the wall, all minor things. The Queen room was pretty tight, we upgraded to a king and had space for our luggage. The price is definitely right. No mini fridge in the rooms, but the friendly staff stored our beer in theirs. Cleaning crew was a little spotty, our toilet remained unclean for several days, they did however change the linens regularly. More modern than other rooms we looked at other hotels in similar price range.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2trvlabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    54
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
29
34
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My husband booked this hotel for Feb 9th to Feb 13th this year but due to personal reasons, our trip was cancelled. When asked for refunds, there was none due to their policy. But it was fair enough that we were given a year of open voucher,which meant that we still could replan our holiday. And we thought it was great. Just by last week, we managed to spend a week in the hotel with great services. We were especially happy with the holiday spots which they had arranged for us. Wonderful trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaysavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Customer Service, specifically Diana is heartless and unsympathetic. I booked on December 20,2012 for a June 18,2013 booking. Unfortunately, Air Asia announced that effectively February 1,2013 they were cancelling the Clark-Kota Kinabalu (and vice versa) route. Meaning no more flights going there.
Now, I got this trip as this was in super promo and I don't have money. It is hard for me to fly with any other carrier to go there and pay the regular rate.
I emailed Diana numerously letter her know of the cancellation of the airline for the route as no more planes would fly there. I requested a refund for my booking as it's not like I intentionally and erroneously just changed my mind. I was actually very devastated and stressed with this situation.
Anyways, her reply was I cannot give you a refund as their hotel has a no refund policy. "we are giving an option to change the date check-in and check out for our valued guest, or changing the name of person staying in your reservation".
WTF! Change the date of my check in? I can't fly there anymore! Give the room to somebody else? I don't have money to just give away to somebody else. And come on, this was booked on December for June 18. Why can't they just cancel the booking and give the room to somebody else? Is business so bad that that they can't re-book that one room (in June)? Are they so uptight on that rule even though it was booked 6 months ago (not a week ago!) and be compassionate and understanding and just give the refund considering the situation that was forced upon us? HAVE SOME SYMPATHY!

Room Tip: Customer Service, specifically Diana is hearless and unsympathetic. I booked on December 20,2012...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank niteslyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights and found it to be an excellent budget hotel and a wonderful luxury after backpackers guesthouses! We booked a standard room with a king size bed and the room was a good size with a great bathroom.

The location was excellent with both Jessleton Pier and Centre Point within walking distance - no taxis needed at all! After reading some of the reviews on here I expected the hotel to be in a dark alley but it is nothing like that - it is not the cleanest street in KK but it is really not that bad and is completely safe.

The rooms themselves were immaculate and cleaned daily. Bathroom had a lovely powerful shower - unfortunately it ran cold a few times during our stay but it was so hot outside we did not complain. Safety deposit boxes were provided in the rooms. One negative point was that the walls are quite thin and other guests were not particularly considerate and made lots of noise in the corridors while entering and leaving their rooms - fault lies more with rude and inconsiderate guests rather than hotel owners.

Staff were very friendly and helped us with booking our bus to Sandakan and any other queries we had. We had a lovely stay and highly recommend it to anyone looking for budget accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank innocent26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This place is ideal for a first stop or final landing before flying out from Kota Kinabalu. The place is walking distance from some delicious night market food - lots of fresh seafood for you to pick. It is clean, modern, has free wi-fi and the staff were very friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We booked this hotel (standard room) after reading favourable comments from travelers here. It's with strategic location, within walking distance to Suria Sabah, Little Italy. We had morning walk to Jesselton Point to catch boat ride to Pulau Manukan too. Convenient area for food. Staff are friendly and helpful & professional. The room is clean. We have the room being tidy daily. No fridge in room. The room is not big. The rate is very good value of money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

After staying at another (unsatisfactory) hotel, we decided to check into 1 City Hotel. The room was small but good enough. It was a Superior King, with extra bed (since there were three of us and all the family rooms had been taken up). The extra bed was most satisfactory (new) and much, much better than the extra bed at Winner hotel. And the location is excellent - even my aged parents could walk to the waterfront/main market/handicraft market/salt fish market - no problems at all. Reception was always helpful and efficient. RM148, which is reasonable (as it was a Friday night). Very convenient location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophiaJohorBahru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#30 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
49 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eminent Hotel
Eminent Hotel
#26 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#32 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#47 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#16 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1 City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 City Hotel

Property: 1 City Hotel
Address: Lot 1 Block B, Ground Floor | Segama Complex, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1 City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your 1 City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing