We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For SMOKERS ONLY”
Review of 1 City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
1 City Hotel
Ranked #31 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“For SMOKERS ONLY”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is definitely a smoking-friendly hotel.
Being a non-smoker, staying at this hotel put me at the most disadvantaged position - thus my poor rating for the overall rating of this hotel.
In the evening (was mostly out during the day), I could smell smoke in the room. Had to open the window for fresh air to come in. But every night around 2-3 a.m. I was awaken by the loud sound and strong smell coming from a garbage truck just nearby the hotel. I was really pi**ed off.
I strongly DO NOT recommend this hotel to non-smokers. Will not be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller_SimplyME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    51
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
33
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I'm local but living elsewhere for quite awhile now. Anyway, I know this area, Segama, which still does not have good reputation amongst local. But based on reviews I've read here, I decided to book online. And it is everything reviewers have raved about. Clean, no funny smell, sheets are clean, decent size room and bath, and convenient location of course. The only problem with this area is safety of your vehicle. Even reception hinted to me not to leave valuables in car and to try park as close to hotel as possible (hotel doesn't provide parking). For myr380 for 3 nights stay, I say it is worth it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Flotintin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Booked here for 1 night online for a cheap rate. The room was small, as you would expect but was very clean, modern and stylish. Had all of the amenities you would expect from this sort of hotel, and the shower was strong and well sized.

WiFi signal and speed was good enough.

Storage space was non-existent but for our 1 night purposes this didn't matter.

Location was excellent, just 5 mins from the harbour.

Staff friendly and helpful, booked us an airport taxi and helped us find our way around.

Ideal for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I booked a standard double room for 1night
: )) good location wherever you wanna go and eat.
: )) cheap room rate
: )) nice staff
: ) room and bath room are big and clean
: | buildings view
: | located at localize living area/ buildings, it seems not like a hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdithLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Convenient place. It's located at Segama. You can walk 5 minutes to seafood stall, wisma merdeka, suria sabah and take 10 minutes to jeselton point. Great staff and comfortable room. Big room but there's no great view because it's like a half of shop lot they take and renovated it to hotel. Anyway all advisor travellers, I recommended this place.
Improvement: WiFi should be consider for guests priority, because it's too slow to use it. Sometimes the staff friendly and sometimes times they don't.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ArenAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

my partner and i stayed there for 2 days and 2 nights and we were welcomed by cheerful receptionists. they may not be fluent in English but the way they treated us was s overwhelming.
the room was clean and i love the location. close to the malls, restaurant and 10 min walk to jesselton point where we went to manukan island. i would really recommend this hotel. best customer service ever.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rc t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My friends and I spent 4 nights there. Due to the flight delay, we arrived at 3:00 am, what an odd time! But we were warmly welcomed by the front-desk receptionist. We had trouble with getting hot water for shower, but the mantainance-man was there to show us how to manipulate with the tap. We requested a double room and a twin-share room which were adjecent. The twin-share room was small but very clean and well kept. The shampoo and soap were supplied every day. Big TV set on the wall with several Chinese Phoenix Channel.
Gook Location! 5-min walk east to Jalan Gaya, 5-min west to the coast and central market, and 10-15 min walk to Jelseton Point Jetty.
Our flight was delayed and the trip to Pulau Tiga was cancelled due to the weather. The stay in 1 City was the only comforting thing in KK. Highly recommended. During Hazi Raya festival, it was full house every night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#44 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.2 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#29 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.3 mi away
D'Borneo Hotel
D'Borneo Hotel
#58 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#27 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Deleeton
Hotel Deleeton
#38 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1 City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 City Hotel

Property: 1 City Hotel
Address: Lot 1 Block B, Ground Floor | Segama Complex, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1 City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your 1 City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing