We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never coming back” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manja Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manja Hotel
Ranked #26 of 78 Kota Kinabalu B&B and Inns
Kampong Jerudong, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never coming back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

Not highly suggested, I was making my booking through Agoda and was told by the hotel that they do not have our booking as well the room was fully booked. After a long trip from mount Kinabalu and what we have is no rooms without any solution. We have booked a family room with 2 queens bed and after more than an hour they manage to get a Deluxe room to change our original room which not sure how they get it. The room was not great (gloomy) and looks like they did not change the linen.

will not recommend or coming back again for this one.

Dini

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    17
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
9
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Located at new business square , surrounded with restaurant, 24 hours convenient stores and nightclubs. Clean, cozy, low price and suit the tight budget of certain group travellers. Note that a missing link between the business park and the main bus station shall make you walk longer towards the city center.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fadli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davao City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

The first thing I look for in hotels are functional phones in my room. Unfortunately, the hotel room phones are not set-up that will allow hotel guests to make outside local calls. The only number you can call from this hotel's phone is front desk. Nevertheless, the room is very descent. The hotel's location is convenient. If you like to jog, the hotel's compound and its surrounding area are good areas for jogging. Front desk officers are friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanlovesnorkeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

I liked the hotel nice and clean.Nearby the clubs and restaurant.Have a good time.

Room Tip: Just grab whats available for its so convenient to go everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bezko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

I travelled with a group of 11 students and we stayed on a Saturday and Sunday night. We did not experience any noise from the clubs in the area. There was the ocassional song that played a little louder, but I actually thought this hotel was quieter than staying in the city as there was no traffic noise.

It is only a short walk into town - it took us about 15 mins to reach the Centre Point shopping centre. There are a few cafes around for breakfast, but the Manja cafe beside the hotel has some cheap eats (most things under RM15) and they do an Asian breakfast. There are the only place open early. There is also a convience store open 24hrs beside the hotel.

Rooms were nice and new and a bargain price. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 08132010b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed 3 nights.The room was lovely and very contemporary. We had TV,A/C and fridge.The bathroom was spacious with plenty of hot water.The only downside was the noise outside from the bars and clubs.It is only 10 mins walk to the town,just ask for directions as a bit tricky to find - look for some steps leading down - otherwise you'll be walking round in circles!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enrique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

Basic hotel and very clean....BUT so much noise.The club next door playing all night and also you can hear the plans take off and landing all the time....Very nice people but we end up checking out 2 days before planned because of the noise.....

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dk-trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
0.1 mi away
KK Times Square Hotel
KK Times Square Hotel
#42 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.8 mi away
Asiana Hotel
Asiana Hotel
#40 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
#18 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Putatan Platinum Hotel
Putatan Platinum Hotel
#2 of 2 in Putatan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.9 mi away
Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel
Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel
#31 of 78 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manja Hotel

Property: Manja Hotel
Address: 26 Block E, KK Times Square | Off Coastal Highway,, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manja Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Manja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing