We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & friendly staff”
Review of Celyn City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Celyn City Hotel
Ranked #54 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Great location – City area, all are within 3 – 10minutes walking distance to shopping mall, food, taxi stand, bank, massage, 7 eleven, bar, market etc. 15minutes from airport by taxi (RM30/ taxi).

Twin Bedroom – room size just right for 2 people, beds are clean. The room is equipped with a flat screen tv, personal safe, kettle , coffee and tea, 2 complimentary drinks, cupboard with hanger, pen & paper, tissue paper, news paper and iron & iron board upon request. Security is good, each level have a main door; you need the hotel access cards to enter into level main door before you can access to your hotel room. Lift access to each level except ground floor, but there is a escalator from lobby to ground floor.

Bathroom – clean, water heater with power shower jet, Shampoo, Body wash, soaps, shower cap, sanity bag, hair dryer & toilet paper. Bath towel, hand towel are provided. There were no tooth brush and cotton butt, but you can buy one from ‘7eleven just down stair.

Staff – friendly and helpful. Check-in and checkout are fast.

Overall, we are very satisfied with Myne Hotel and will definitely going back to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liawht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2011

An okay hotel - fine for a few nights. Small rooms, fairly clean. Great location! The staircase/lift leading up there was very nasty.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nilledk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Hotel is very central, rooms are what you pay for but slightly damp and a tad small. If you are booking over the next few weeks check with hotel reception as the shop below the hotel was being renovated and every morning we were woken up to the sound of drilling and banging. Not the hotels fault but it did spoil our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asia2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We enjoyed staying here. The room was good, well decorated and comfortable if a little small, and the service was excellent. Desk staff well trained and keen to be helpful. Well positioned in centre of town, no sea views but otherwise fine.

Room Tip: head for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beesueKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Myne hotel is strategically located in KK city centre, whereby Myne Hotel itself is located in Warisan Square shopping mall~ shoplots-type). Nearby Myne Hotel is another old shopping mall in KK, namely Centre Point. If you're into nightlifes, this is definitely the place to stay! In addition, there are restuarants nearby which are well-known for their seafoods. One can even take free-shuttle from Warisan Square to the new shopping mall in KK, One Borneo shopping mall.

The lobby of Myne hotel is located at 1st floor (not ground floor), but it wouldnt be too difficult to look for the hotel. Smooth in checking-in & out of the hotel, satisfied with the room provided. Tight secutiry whereby only in-house guests with the room keycard can only access to the rooms area. I liked the room design, as well as the comfortable beds & flat-screen TV equipped in the room.

Another advantage of Myne Hotel is it offers free internet access for the guests. The merely problem I encountered was the staffs were unable to speak English fluently & lack of product knowledge. Be reminded there's no free parking even to in-house guests! You have to bear your own parking feees but it wouldn't be too costly though.

FYI- nearby Myne Hotel, there is this another great hotel - *Imperial International Hotel* is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reviewer-Starry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

Good services especially on the front desk male.Very good,An imformation about room is Clearly.I think the services here like a 5 star hotel indeed.Veru fast Service by the
front desk and i havnt got this service anywhere hotel,friendly and keep me warmly staying At myne Hotel.Keep on the good job.thank you for your services

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joepairin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

My water stopped running the morning I was checking out. I called the desk, asked about the water and they said that there was no problem with the water. I asked to speak to the Manager and the desk clerk told me that the Manager was talking to the people working on the water problem!

I then called my agent and asked that they find me a hotel with water. They called the Myne and the staff told my agent that there was no problem with the water. My agent called back wanting to know why I needed a new room since there was no problem with the water!

I had the manager come to my room and showed her that the water didn't work in my room. I asked for an explanation on why her staff told my agent that there was not a water problem. I am still waiting for a reply or explanation.

The previous day I had expected the room to be made up at 2:30. At 3:30 I called down and asked that the room be made up - no one showed. At 4:30 I went down to the desk and was told that someone would be there ASAP. At 5:30 I went back down and then finally they send someone to make up the room. All I really wanted was towels and coffee.

They were very hard to deal with and it was hard to get a straight answer.

I will not stay there again. If you stay there, and want to use the phone, I recommend that they demonstrate that your phone works for outside calls before you check in. But that's another story.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jon123406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kooler Inn
Hotel Kooler Inn
#30 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
18 reviews
0 mi away
D'Borneo Hotel
D'Borneo Hotel
#61 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#34 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#20 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
543 reviews
2.7 mi away
Celyn Hotel City Mall
Celyn Hotel City Mall
#80 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celyn City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celyn City Hotel

Address: Lot 30 Block A, Ground Floor, Warisan Square | Jalan Tun Fuad Stephen, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly Myne Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £19 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Celyn City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Stayforlong S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Celyn City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing