We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendley ambiance great food”

Jothy's Fish Head Curry and Banana Leaf Restaurant
Ranked #314 of 586 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: Indian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“friendley ambiance great food”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

if you enjoy indian food dont miss this restaurant, the owners are really nice people, food is great, beer is also served at a good price with the meal if required, we went twice, could have gone to have more meals but we were constantley on tour, will definately go again to this restaurant

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susielyly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    33
    27
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
728 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
“Fish head curry”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Fish head curry good but pricey...rm35 for half a fish head....but fresh...

Overall food was good....

Went for lunch but place was quite empty

Banana leaf plate was good..

Helpful?
2 Thank Julian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice..=).”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

What i like most about this restaurant is the nice ambience that helps me to relax as i enjoy the meal. Eventhough it is located just across the busy main road, the noise outside did not bother me as it is a closed premise. Minimal noise although it was around lunch time. This restorant is also very clean. Try its signature drink : manggo or banana lassi. I ordered banana leaf set and it does not upset me. Their banana leaf is so shining clean. Try this restaurant if you love or want to try an indian concept meal in Kota Kinavalu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Errinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food was good, atmosphere is lacking”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We went here on a recommendation from our hotel. The place is spotless and incredibly clean. The food was some of the better food we had on the trip, however the atmosphere was nonexistent. It was a very simple layout. A place to go in, eat quickly and leave again. The food was worth while to go as we both enjoyed the dishes.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MrFoodieHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best in town”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Simple great, great food quality, excellent service, chilly chicken, chicken biryani, the fish head curry is a must try...must try for everyone who visits KK.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FHM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jothy's Fish Head Curry and Banana Leaf Restaurant also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Jothy's Fish Head Curry and Banana Leaf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing