We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The good, the bad and .....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #20 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and .....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

The Cititel Express is well located and clean, you have shops all round and the Centre Point shopping complex is just a few minutes of walk.
The bedroom is super tiny for Malaysia standard. I have been to Malaysia before but I have never seen a so tiny bedroom. It is like a bed thrown in a corridor. If you push the bed towards the wall at the window side you have only one foot of clearance on the other side of the wall and roughly two feet at the foot of the bed in front of the TV. There is a space to put your suitcase, thank God, but be careful if you have one of those large suitcases, it will not fit in that space and I can’t see where you will lay down that suitcase; luckily I had a medium one. About 4 coat hangers to hang some stuff. Bathroom and toilet clean and of good size. The desk is very tiny; there is a wooden stool in front of it which looks more like a small round phone table. It is small and weak. I am only 79kg, if you are on the heavy side, that mini stool might break. Also the wooden legs on the hard floor are very noisy when anyone next-door move that stupid stool. That could easily be fixed by putting some rubber or felt stickers under the four legs. The bathroom door slams noisily against its frame when opened and that noise reverberates at night when any residents next-door open their bathroom door. Again that could easily be fixed by putting some rubber stoppers at the frame of the door. That hotel is ok for a short stay; I stayed only 3 nights, but would not want to be in that corridor bedroom for longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluering73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    238
    164
    30
    18
See reviews for
71
124
79
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
363 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

While the room was small, it was fine for one person. Had a nice view of the Islands off the shore. It is located in a good spot, easy walking to shopping centers, restaurants, Night Market. Its a bit far from the dock to the islands, but that area is pretty touristy, so it was nice to be out of that. I stayed there twice, and the rooms were clean, and a/c worked ok. There is a RM10 charge for internet, but from some rooms you can get the free local internet, but it only allows 1 hour/day of access. One time I had the breakfast, which was good, the other time I just went right outside for many good eating options.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HnLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

If you are looking for Budget but nice hotel, Cititel Express should be your choice!
Located just 10minute walking distance to KK town and surrounding with hocker & food stall.
Highlight:
1, Hotel was just newly renovate, very clean & tidy
2, Breakfast provided - local taste, nothing special in taste
Con:
1, The room was a bit small (advice upgrade to Deluxe room for better stay)
2, Air-cond is not powerful at all, take quite a long time to cool down the room
Will consider this hotel again for my next trip to KK

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keonglck79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

The staff in the reception was quite polite and efficient. But the room is really small. We have stayed in a room without window and the bed is really close to the bathroom and we almost need to jump over the corner of the bed to get to the bathroom. But room is quite clean and cozy. I like the shower, the bed and the pillow there.
The location is very convenient too. It takes about 5 min walk to the most famous seafood reataurant and 10 min walk to Waterfront.
I will stay there again if I am not going on a luxury holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaori_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

As stated above, 'smart, clean, simple' is their motto and they are true to their word! Although the rooms are quite small, it is still truly a comfortable place to get a good night's rest and the staff are wonderful and friendly! Plus its location is superb - located in central town a short walk away from one of the most popular malls in Kota Kinabalu, which is Centre Point. There're many eateries located right next to the hotel, along with a pharmacy and tons of other conveniences! Oh, and there's even a cafe situated in the hotel lobby itself :)

Room Tip: Just ask! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKgirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

My family stayed here in room 1212 on 11 June 2011, we booked via the hotel's website at RM172 for a triple room. The staff was fast in reply through emails for our reconfirmation. Check-in and check-out was fast too.

The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was ok with complimentary soaps & shampoo. Remember to bring your own toothbrush and toothpaste!

The location is quite convenient, very near the airport (one way taxi fare was RM30 booked at the airport transfer counter) and i think is walking distance to Centre Point shopping mall. Though the restaurant's food was delicious but quite expensive so just go outside next door for cheaper food!

We stayed here because we had to catch a very early flight, though overall the hotel is very basic but for the price, it was considered very good and value for money!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sc_myinitial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kl
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

im happy to star at this hotel. Reason:
1. near to the airport
2. Cheaper price if book online
3. Room clean and most important safe
4. Friendly staff is the most that i like
wish to come again here

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siva24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#9 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu

Property: Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Address: No. 1 Jalan Singgah Mata, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and LateRooms so you can book your Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing