We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Macau
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Value for money!”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Spent 2 nights in this hotel. The room is small, as other reviews mention, yet it's quite new and clean. The location is good, only 10-15 min. away from the airport and 5 min. walk to the famous seafood restaurant, didn't try the breakfast as there is a great coffee and toast place in 100m away.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinnieMacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    251
    167
    30
    18
See reviews for
74
131
80
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed here for two nights. I choose this hotel because of its location and it offers the best value for money for a big hotel in downtown KK that has the closest proximity to the waterfront, Kampung Air night market, The dried seafood market and the awesome Sinsuran night market (next to the waterfront). It is located right next to Asia City Mall, and only a walking distance to Centerpoint and Warisan Square shopping mall. The staffs are nice and friendly.

First impression of the room is, it is too damn small. But, it is ingeniously designed to utilize every available space, sort of a Japanese style room arrangement. It is interesting that the back of the wardrobe is a frosted glass window of the bathroom, so you can have sort of an ambient light when you sleep. The room is clean, cozy and comfortable. The bathroom is very nicely designed, with a lockable sliding door/mirror, but the water pressure is not that great and the toilet was dirty when I get in. My main complaint is that the table is only a 1 x 2 foot fixed table attached to the wall. It barely fit my notebook when I want to do some work (I prefer using a table than the bed).

Wifi is available, but you have to get the username and password form the front desk. The breakfast is quite nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megat I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

conveniently located at the city center, cute clean room, helpful and friendly staff, really nice services...stayed here twice already n will definitely stay here again whenever i have business in KK..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MunaZaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Spent 2D1N in Cititel Express KK. The hotel was very new, and was located at a new good location. Just next door got quite a nice bak kut teh (I think so, it smells good) and a nice coffee shop with very fresh young coconut.

Like the security system in other cititel group, only the hotel guest can access to the room. Most of the hotel will only give one access card, but they gv us two... which is very convenient to the guest...

We booked the standard double... the room is kinda small... as we only brought along a backpack.. we didnt occupy any space on the floor, so moving around is not a problem for both my husband and I. As a room of Rm118 per night, we were not expecting a big room, so i felt it is value for money.

The bathroom is big and well cleaned..
Even if the hotel does not provide complimentary mineral water, at least there is a water dispenser placed next to the lift so that we can have fill our mug (provided in the room) with hot/code water...

another plus point, guardian pharmacy is just next door.. in the event u forgot ur toiletries... u can get immediate supplies there... =)

Am happy with the hotel, and am planning to stay there again in my next raya trip...

Room Tip: Was staying in room 808... can see the car park view to see if my parents' car are downstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joebaby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2012

really worth it money staying there...room n toilet are clean...location in the heart of city n walking distances to attractive places in KK...mostly the hotel security is excellence...only guest room can accest to the room...they event give extra room card to their guest...well done Cititel hope yoy will get better n better..

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pismit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We recently stay there for 2 nights (new year eve & on new year day). We booked 1 standard double & 1 superior triple. I must say its really clean & new, but the room are little small for standard double, I find it difficult to move round. We booked the room online, they charge us average RM117/n for STD Double & RM194/n for SPR Triple which we think its fair enough for the peak season and with clean bed sheet, bath room.

They provide hot water dispenser & iron facility near by the lift which we think the management are very thoughtful. Hair dryer are provided in room which is very convenient, that’s not the mold on dryer at toilet wall, it’s a Panasonic potable hair dryer that can control on heat & speed :). Plus point!

The Guardian pharmacy just next to our hotel. It’s convenient to get drinking water, toiletries, tidbits or some medic if you don’t have car. Nearby also have many food stall or restaurants. We also walk to the sea side on new year eve to avoid the jam (walk through center point, warisan square) there have plenty of pubs & restaurants, we have good time party at shamrock Irish bar to welcome year 2012. We went there 2 nights :)

In term of service – slow. That’s their culture there, we respect them & bear with it. 1st day check in- Level 11, I left my luggage at lobby & we out for tour, when we come back at 3pm they said my room not yet cleans & we need to change to another room, so we return our room card & change to level 6. Reason? -the cleansing staff when out for lunch! Ha, its 1 time I heard such funny excuses. Interesting! We don’t mind, as long they provide us clean room :)

Overall, convenient & worth staying! Will come back again.

If you love fresh deep sea fish like I do, you can wake up early & go to the main market nearby (abt 5 min drive). Plenty of fresh fish at super value price, you can’t get it in west Malaysia with such price & quality of freshness. Bring some home (not more than 7kg, hand carry) & share with your love one:) (p/s-buy one day earlier, frozen the fish & pack before leaving. I heard from the local: some frozen seafood shop can help to pack at RM5 per box or airport at RM10 per box).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weiwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one night as a stopover between flights.

The room is small and double bed pretty much takes up the space of the room. The remaining space is taken up with clothing storage and a safe but that's it. There was a flat  screen tv to make efficient use of the space.

There were two mugs but no tea /coffee nor kettle to boil the water. Instead drinking water is available in the communal utility room outside, which also has the ironing facility.

The bathroom is small but functional and clean. The only linen was  body towels and toiletries were a shower cap and cotton buds.

The hotel did the job fine as we were only staying overnight. It is 15 minutes from the airport so that made it convenient for us. We left too early to try their breakfast but as we knew we wouldn't be staying that long we opted to take the room only rate. If we were staying longer in KK and wanted to enjoy ourselves more it's unlikely we will stay here again, though.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerlau77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
455 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#15 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
456 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu

Property: Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Address: No. 1 Jalan Singgah Mata, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing