We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RE: Simple & Clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #19 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“RE: Simple & Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

I had stayed in this hotel before. It has always been the same. It is simple and clean. However, it is compact, so you cant run around the room. The plus points are they have a lot of eateries nearby, walking distance. Shopping complex are also a few minutes away.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    239
    164
    30
    18
See reviews for
71
125
79
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Was staying in KK one night for business purpose. Choose the single room with queen bed. It is clean and tidy. However, the room is small. There are hardly any space between the wall and the side of the bed. One small table and small cupboard. The toilet is clean and well maintained.
Even though the room is small, I have to say that it provide you with good clean environment, clean towel, working LCD TV, working lights as well as a good cupboard for a good night stay.

It is really a budget hotel with a complete and clean environment.
Staff is friendly enough to answer my inquiries. There are few restaurant nearby that provide good food. Seafood restaurant also available at walking distance.

Room Tip: If you have more budget, stay in deluxe room, which might be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithGoh1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stopping short of calling this hotel "very good", I must say that it catered to my needs. In search of a clean, well maintained and professional hotel, I recieved my wishes. The room was large enough to not feel closed in and quality of the room was okay, if not in need of a freshening up. Location was excellent in being within a couple of hundred metres of the waterfront and the staff were helpful. All in all a good hotel, I just think that for the quality of room, they should be charging slightly less.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theStranded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Quite a descent hotel since it is quite new. Rooms are priced affordably and they have single rooms as well. A good rest stop for climbers after their Mount Kinabalu trek. Quite a variety of food nearby, all within the town centre. Only thing wasn't up to standard was the breakfast. You will be better off getting better quality breakfast around the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woodstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

The hotel location is excellent. It is located in the middle of Asia City Complex in the middle of Kota Kinabalu city. Centrepoint Mall is located just across the road, the Philipines market and the waterfront is within a short walk from the hotel. Travel agents, banks, money changer, convenient store, massage centres, spa, saloon... you name it; all within 5-15 minute walk from the hotel. If you stayed at higher floors, the view is absolutely beautiful. You can watch the famous Kota Kinabalu Sunset from your room. There are many good restaurant and eating outlet within a short walk from the hotel.

However, the room was very small. Very very small! The hotel is fairly new. The check in and check out processes were a breeze, the staff were friendly and speak good English, the hotel is clean, and the room was cleaned daily. The bathroom was pretty standard, its size was half the room size (thats how small the room is!) The AC is working well. There was a blow dryer, a safe, an LCD TV, although there are limited channel available for viewing. The bathroom supplies were replenished daily. Water pressure was very good, so you get good showers. There was also a water dispenser for hot, cold and warm water at every floor, which was very helpful. There was also a common ironing area, located near the lift lobby. The Wifi is not reliable though. Speed fluctuates and not consistent.

Overall, it is a good hotel. For RM135 a night, it was worth it. I would recommend this hotel for those who just need to stay in the room for the night or for business traveler who spend most of their time outside at meetings or exploring the vibrant city. Not for those who plan to stay in the hotel for the rest of their holidays here in Kota Kinabalu.

Room Tip: Always choose the seaview on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muhibbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I made a last minute booking and got a reasonably good deal at the hotel. The location is good. Check in was fast. The room was very small, but not cramped. Good enough for a single person. All in-room amenities were stocked. A 7-eleven store next door and a few malls behind the hotel. The shower/toilet wasn't a separate room.

Every time I had a shower, the steam would enter the fire-alarm and the staff would call me. This happened every time I showered and it got very irritating. I wonder if the hotel can do anything to fix this.

Overall, it is a very good choice if you're on a tight budget and need a place to sleep in the night. Not a hotel I'd choose for a long holiday or a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yofobubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

The hotel location is excellent. The area around it is not so cramped up with a lot of people or night markets, so it’s definitely peaceful and safe. But if you need supplies or food, there are a lot of nearby restaurants, malls and a pharmacy. It is located in the middle of a commercial place called Asia City Complex. A big mall called the Centrepoint Sabah Mall is located just across a main road. We did most of our grocery shopping for snacks there at a supermarket on its lower ground floor. We stayed on the seventh floor and had a deluxe double room with the Seaview. The view was absolutely beautiful. Although the room was a bit small we still decided to choose this hotel for a lot of good reasons. The hotel is new, we did an offline booking just by e-mailing them, then we paid for our entire four nights of stay in full when we got there, the check in and check out processes were a breeze, the staff were friendly and can speak fairly good English, the hotel is really clean, our room was clean and was cleaned daily, the bathroom was big, its size was half our room space, the AC can be controlled, there was a blow dryer, the room also had a safe, there was an LCD TV, although there weren’t a lot of satellite TV channel choices, it was fine, since we were out often anyways, the bathroom supplies were replenished daily, the bathroom was cleaned daily too, the shower stall was huge, water pressure was very good, there was also a water dispenser for hot, cold and warm water at every floor, which was very helpful since we drink a lot of water because of the activities that we did there and because KK has a hot weather too, we brought in our own Nalgene plastic bottles for that. There was also a common ironing area, located near the lift, as what they call it over there. Overall, we had a great stay. For RM135 a night, it was worth it. The only bad thing we’ve noticed though is that there wifi signal in our room was poor. I hope the hotel can improve on that. Since we stayed four nights, I asked to get free daily wifi. They provided a username and password for it and it’s only good on one device at a time. The hotel’s lift was also very secure, our room key card had to be swiped over a sensor to activate it. We felt very safe at this hotel and overall had a great stay. We didn’t try the Express Diner located at the lobby though, so we don’t know how their food taste but with a lot of good points we would definitely recommend this hotel and would choose it again if we come back to KK in the future.

Room Tip: Always ask for a Seaview room so when you wake up in the morning, you'll get a beautiful view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radius023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu

Property: Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Address: No. 1 Jalan Singgah Mata, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing