We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 3* HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We booked only 3 nights initially as we wanted to explore Borneo (Sabah) a bit more. Hotel was so nice and lovely (regardless of small room size), idealy located right in the middle of the town, close to all important food places, shopping centers, city bus, evening walks and entertainment area. What to say more than that we booked another 3 nights, than another 3 nights before moving to Java and Bali.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CititelExpressKK, Manager at Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu!

We are glad to know that we had exceeded your expectation. The philosophy of our Express hotel is smart, clean and simple. We aim to provide value for money accomdation in the strategic location so as to pass on more value and convenience to our guests. We hope that you enjoyed the trip to Sabah and tried all the good food in the eateries nearby our hotel.

Hope to see your return to Sabah in the near future and do feel free to contact us should you need any assistance.

Sherry Yee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel for few hours because I need to catch a flight at 7am the next day after I landed in KK at 11pm.

This hotel is worth the money! Paying only like 20bucks (Sterling), you can have a clean and modern room with LCD TV and nice shower, despite the size is small.

Right in the middle of the city centre and there is a very nice seafood market nearby. Don't forget to try the white pepper crab or fresh seafood from that market!

I would stay in this hotel again if I need to do a morning flight transit in the future ;)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ccesther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The room is pretty small but still I find it convenient. The place is clean and it is ideally located.

Room Tip: choose room with windows
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chin Hooi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is the 4th time I stayed in Cititel Express KK. The room is pretty small but still I find it convenient. The place is clean and it is ideally located. It is a 10 minutes walk to KK seafood centre and 15 minutes walk to Centre Point Shopping Complex. It is easy to get public transport too.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyceB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Waking up at Celyn Resort Kinabalu in Ranau early, I managed to catch the sunset in stills again. Then we had our breakfast at the resort's cafe buffet style. An hour early as scheduled, we checked-out then descended by car to Kota Kinabalu. On our way, we stopped in one outskirt town to take a last glimpse and picture of Mt. Kinabalu. Then Roy, our driver/guide, drove us down through the scenic mountainous countryside. Around 11 AM, we reached Kota Kinabalu and checked-in at Cititel Express Hotel.

Cititel is a relatively new hotel and it is obvious from all its facilities and amenities. The location of the hotel is good also. On both sides of the hotel are stalls of store and behind, the market and several bars. Our room was smaller than what we had in Celyn. We can barely walk around the room and my partner and I shared a big bed. We did not mind the size of the room and the bed as we were out on tour anyway most of the day. However, when I called for room service, the sandwich and coffee were delivered at our doorstep in styrofoams, something that I never expected from a 3-star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The standard room was very small, as small as those that you can easily find in Hong Kong. I didn't expect to have such small room in Malaysia =S There are free wifi and free car park for guests. The famous seafood restaurant "Welcome Seafood" is just located within 3 minutes walking distance. Also, you can enjoy a cup of coffee and a set of roti kahwin at the famous coffee house "Fook Yuen" located next to the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HooiTeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

It is clean and modern, but walls are thin and the rooms are rather small. Not recommended for large groups or families, but check with hotel if they have larger rooms. Central location and walking distance to many eateries.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
466 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#15 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
687 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu

Address: No. 1 Jalan Singgah Mata, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £23 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing