We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for the claustrophobic” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #20 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Henty Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not for the claustrophobic”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here for four nights in August this year and would have to be the worst four nights i have spent anywhere. Firstly,the staff were great, they could only work with what they have got.
Couldn't believe it when we went into the room which was a twin, i was sharing with a family member and the beds were only about 30cm apart, no window, no fridge and claustrophobic.
Tried to upgrade but found that none of the rooms had a fridge, and we would have had to pay heaps more just for a window, so we decided to stick it out. The noise was horrendous, (earplugs did not even work) most of the doors in the place needed to be slammed to shut properly so that noise was constant,you could hear the people in the next rooms and we suffered listening to arguments and kids screaming and noise from the floor above. It gets worse, every time someone flushed their toilet, you could hear it in our one, obviously all the drainage runs down through all the rooms above and below to floor level, there are 11 levels!
Would have to say the only plus, was location as the food markets are directly behind the hotel, and the room was made up regularly. The rooms without windows were quite cool and rarely used the A/Con. Could not recommend to anyone and i am pretty easily pleased.

Room Tip: No good rooms, just some not quite as bad as others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    239
    164
    30
    18
See reviews for
71
125
79
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Booked two rooms and when I arrived at 15.00 pm (check in time from 14.00 pm) one room was not ready. No apology or compensation offered. Rather shocking, since there is an unmissable sign at the reception which states the penalty to be paid when you check out too late. Rooms are small, ours had no windows. The rooms are cvery lean, TV, good beds, good wifi. Location is good, close to centre, food courts and malls. Lacks atmosphere but a practical option and good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Good location walkable to all downtown sights and restaurants. Clean rooms, good shower, efficient and good value. Rooms are very small. Good for an overnight or short stay if you do not plan tp spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank international100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed in Cititel just few days back. The rooms and lobby overall was clean but here are some areas that need improvement:

1) Toilet sliding door was spoiled, and the latch couldn't lock
2) The rooms keys are old and dirty
3) Breakfast. The worst I ever had! Just plain tasteless and the variety was so limited! Coffee cups were out and I and ask the guy in charging of washing the cups for one. It was so disappointing that my friends and I opted for breakfast outside the hotel, which was a zillion times better!

I highly recommend the Taiwanese cafe next door or the small coffee shop behind for way better food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huieye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kalimantan,indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

It was my first visit to Kota Kinabalu. I was recommended by local resident to stay at this hotel for July 14 until 17,2013. My first impression this hotel had small but compact and clean room. room rate was reasonable. I took the rate without breakfast,since many coffee shops and foods you can find nearby hotel,it was not a problem at all. when I was there it was ramadhan month/fasting month for moslem people,so afternoon there were so many food stalls sell many local foods, it was amazing and just on the hotel back side. There were WiFi in room and safety box in room, secure entrance to room because you have to touch the lift button with your room card. next visit I would stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: I recommend the non smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed here twice on a recent holiday, pre-booked by a Travel Agent. Tiny room, but once you get past that it's fine. Room was clean but very basic, a couple of Foxtel channels, filtered water on each floor which was handy for filling up water bottles, etc. Hotel is in a good location, close to a chemist and various places to eat, and maybe a 10 minute walk to the waterfront, with its' Markets and restaurants. Reasonable value and quality breakfast at the hotel. Some staff are less than enthusiastic, but will get you what you need. I shared my floor with what must have been an extended family with several rooms who treated the place like their lounge room, but that's what you get in budget hotels I guess. Fine as a base for travels, but don't expect too much.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VintageWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

this is the second time i am staying at Cititel express .Kota Kinabalu. Since last visit nothing has changed much .the front desk people are always with very serious look. The bath rooms started showing stain marks though the hotel is only 3 yrs old .the location is the plus point. many food stalls & night market are near by .transport is easy.just with in few yards we have the city bus stop.the water in shower is some times not hot enough. they have water dispenser in all floors & also ironing board.Except the dull reception at front desk it is ok for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trpsamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu

Property: Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Address: No. 1 Jalan Singgah Mata, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing