We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price, comfortable but the room is quite small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Good location because located nearby the Philippines market and malls (walking distance). Easy to find food / convenience stores. Good staff as well. I stayed there only for one night and i am satisfied with the room. It is very clean, new bed, comfortable toilet. The hotel also provide parking area which is free and FREE WIFI!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaimChello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed here for three nights because of the great location. A lot of famous restaurants were just located nearby the hotel. the room is quite small but still it is very comfortable. however , the water pressure was low when you lived in a higher floor. the price is relatively low and suitable for the budget saver!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylviasze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The hotel is easy to locate and most of the taxi driver all knew the place. the location of the hotel is very center which made all restaurant, local shops and international departmental store walking distance away. If you wish you could even walk to the ferry terminal which is around 25 min of normal speed walking.

The room is decently clean, not very clean compare to so many other hostel and cheaper hotel that i have stay in, but its not terrible around 7/10 from my count.

The room is small, very small. How small is it? well i cant even open my luggage and I'm only carrying a 21" luggage. There is no dresser table or even a work desk in the room, totally no place for me to use my laptop to surf the net.

The wall and the windows are also not very sound prove. At night all the sound from the corridor or even the guest from next door can be heard from my room totally.

Water pressure is somewhat low from time to time, I even encounter twice that there is totally no hot water or dripping hot water when i was taking a shower in the afternoon.

The internet however is very good, most of the time i was able to surf the net with ease and the speed was ok. was able to watch video and even post video there, hope this can be maintain.

Overall the hotel is located in a very good location, but the room is not as great. will advice for a short trip like 2 nights, but for long stay you better find some other hotel which has better rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yeakemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed there for four nights. It is very clean and reasonably priced hotel. The location is pretty good as it is surrounded by retail stores and restaurants. There is also a free wifi provided, with complimentary amenities (e.g. tea, coffee). Although the room is pretty small for three of us, we are happy with our stay, apart from the fact that our sleep is interrupted due to the noisiness caused by the next door Chinese tourists.

Room Tip: the top floor (12th floor) is the only floor with small fridge in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merrypippin1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

got ourself a standard room. expected the size of the room but most important the room is clean. good for sleeping only. no space to hangout. walls are quite thin, you can hear other doors closed, and people talking outside. no bell

Room Tip: try to get those end room, should be more quiet and for claustrophobic, make sure your room have win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MellYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

good location but the room is too small. No space & even difficult for muslim to pray in the room. No pipe in the toilet for cleaning . The only thing that will convince us to come again is the location & easy parking. Overall is ok.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The room at Cititel Express is very small. It is as small as Tune Hotel.
There is no space to put the luggage, and it only can accomodate 1 small sized luggage only. There is no corridor to walk around.
But the bed is very comfortable to sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsiawching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#15 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu

Address: No. 1 Jalan Singgah Mata, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £25 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing