We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small price-TINY room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Eh, you get what you pay for here. Overall good location, but when the reviews say small room, they mean it! (We were in a standard.)

Pros: location, somewhat comfy bed, good water pressure and temperature, in-room safe, good wi-fi, fast elevators

Cons: TINY room-difficult to maneuver in with 2 people, no hand towels in the bathroom, no fridge, loud/heavy doors (I'm not a light sleeper and even I was woken once or twice by doors/kids.) Computer kiosk was out of order all 3 nights we were there.

First night called for extra pillows and were told they ran out, tried again second night and they brought some. Some of the front desk staff was helpful, others not as much.

If you're looking for a quick stay over not too bad, but 3 nights was a bit long for us to be so cramped.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ourdogrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

I thought this hotel was great for the price I booked with Agoda. It looks and feel brand new. It is very small as the other reviewers wrote, but that really did not bother me too much. The free wifi was fast and the hotel comes with free drinking water which is in the hallways. Also, the location was close to the night market. The mall is about a 15 minute walk away. The only negative is that yes, they could use mini fridges in the room. But, they also let me stay past the check-out time without charging. I would recommend this hotel without any doubts!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank TravelingDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel itself ok for the price, KK hotels full so company booked me in here! For £20 a night don't expect much. Rooms are tiny but clean, although bathroom smelt of bad drains, staff lovely and helpful though.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnCliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Even though I have been to Kota Kinabalu many times before, I have never stayed here. It was due to my last minute hotel booking and luckily I found out Cititel Express still has available rooms and straight away made an online booking.

Staff at front desk were friendly, helpful and efficient. Checked-in without any hassle and I got my room key in a matter of minutes, that was really fast! The room I booked (Standard Single) was rather small but I liked how neat and tidy it is. The bed is super comfy, I love it! I was staying on the 11th floor of the hotel and the water pressure was surprisingly strong.

Now comes the not-so-good part. Firstly, the hotel needs to fix the some of the doors as they need to be pushed or pulled really hard to close/lock resulting in a door slamming sound. I don't think the guest staying next door would appreciate that as the sound proof in each room is very poor. Please fix the sound proof problem as well, yes?

As for improvement, maybe the hotel can provide mini fridge in all rooms in the future?

I would definitely stay here again next time, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harris1675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Having a vocation as the purpose to go to Sabra, the quality of hotel was not really important. Under this circumstance, living in Cititel was a surprise to me by its comfort and good service. The price is extremely fair, which should be no doubt. The location, although may not be close to the busiest area in KK, Cititel gets its credit of it through surrounding by mall, food shops and local tour shops. The food booth and shops are much cheaper and a thousand times more delicious than those near the busy area. Cititel is also near waterfront and other bars, which could offer an extraordinary experience for those who like to play at night. Cititel itself is well-known by local guides and thus they could pick you up right at the front of the door. Cititel has no way to be a brother to any morning activities. The room may not be big enough to some guys but I think its size serves well as a place to package storage and sleeping. The bed is big and soft that make my company sleep to death! Besides that, demanding so much by this price make no sense in my opinion. The service of front deck was remarkable. I didn't hear any negative reply for all my questions and problems. In conclusion, if you want a comfortable place to sleep and rest throughout your travelling in KK, choose this. If you want to taste delicious local food with reasonable price, choose this. If you want exciting lives in KK, choose this. If you cannot tolerate any bad service, Cititel will never let you down. Feeling like writing an advertisement at this end, I insist to write down what I experienced.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front side would have nice night view. Very good for talking and drinking. Rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willc6262362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Rooms are small but functional. Bath room is also small. However it's surprisingly comfortable and I enjoyed my stay there. It's a clean hotel and very near to many eating places nearby. Lots of good seafood restaurants nearby and lots of street food as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a north or south facing room to avoid direct sunset or sunrise. Sunset rooms are hot. Sunris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KualaLumpurTerence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed in room 1010 for 6 days. The rooms is very small. Clean. Parking is free. On the downside, the sound proofing is extremely poor. The hotel seems to be jam packed with China mainland tourist & they can be extremely noisy a lot of times. I feel like i am the only Malaysian staying there throughout my 6 days of stay.
The door lock system has a flaw which you need to tap the card once again to close the door when you leave your room. My neighbours did not realised this and kept slamming their doors throughout the day/night of my 6 days stay. Thus sleep quality is poor. Well, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: The door lock system has a flaw which you need to tap the card once again to close the door when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiatus4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#15 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
489 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,210 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#64 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu

Address: No. 1 Jalan Singgah Mata | Asia City, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £26 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu, a 100% Smoke-Free Hotel since 1 November 2017, offering 275 guestrooms with all the essential amenities for a refreshing experience with great value. Guestrooms are cosy with eclectic mix of stylish feature wall, anchored along efficiency with essential amenities such as Wi-Fi (inclusive of all public areas), LCD TV with satellite channels, electronic safe and power shower. Each guest floor from Level 1 to Level 11 offers common ironing room and hot & cold water dispenser. Located strategically in the heart of the city within Asia City complex, a mere 10-minute drive from the airport and walking distance to several local shopping centres, the hotel operates on the philosophy of “Smart, Clean, Simple”, offering a different dimension of accommodation to the business and leisure travelers – simplicity with a value-focus experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing